We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2503 S. Locust, Grand Island, NE 68801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Grand Island
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Denver. The check in was very quick and the front desk personnel was friendly. Our room was clean and the double beds were very comfortable. Great pillows. The room was very quiet, and the location was nice--close to other town ammenities. We did not take advantage of the pool, restaurant or fun zone but this would be a great place to keep the kids occupied for a while. If you're near Grand Island and don't want to drive another couple of hours to the next major city, this is the perfect stop to make.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
8
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weeping Water, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a great 3 night stay! The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in, the ac worked great and the room had everything we needed. The breakfast buffet was great and the gals working in the restaurant were super nice! My daughter had tons of fun in the pool/rec area and we really enjoyed the whirlpool. The whole area was kept clean and well stocked with towels. I don't know what the reviews about the place being out-dated are about... I thought the place was very up to to date and modern. It was a bit of a maze, but we found our way around with no problems. The only issue we had was on the last morning, the person in the adjoining started blaring the TV at 5am, but we can't expect the hotel to control the rudeness of some people. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, away from the pool overlooking the north parking area. It was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and help full people to solve all. Sometimes slow service at breakfast but good choice of healthy food! Rooms are great with wide choice of non payable movie channels. In 10 minutes down down or where ever you need to be in GI.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I attended a meeting my company was holding. A call the week of the meeting revealed they had our meeting on the wrong date. The morning of the meeting, they failed to have our registration desk set up, the ballroom was lacking AC and the speakers' mic kept malfunctioning. Response time was not rapid. Worse, i was assigned a room that was literally right outside the pool. There were about 30 teenagers having a great time in the (indoor)not what I wanted after a long drive and at about 8:30 p.m. I headed straight back to the desk to be told, sorry no, we can't move your room -- don't worry the pool closes at 10. So I cooled my heels in the bar drinking really bad coffee and working on my computer. I do credit the waitress, who was very attentive and pleasant. The room was a little shoddy but clean.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 120-128 if you want peace and quiet. If you want close proximity to the pool and its sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuelleA0, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Linda,

It is so unfortunate that your experience at Midtown Holiday Inn did not meet the standards you expect nor what we set for ourselves. Midtown Holiday Inn hosts meetings here daily and seamless perform to the satisfaction of the client. When we make an error we do what ever possible to correct it and take steps to not let it happen again.
As a business traveler I can appreciate your desire to not be located by our family friendly pool. Being part of a rooming list from your meeting planner we were not made aware of any special request so I am sorry that we could not accommodate you upon arrival. If you can find time to email (midtown@gimidtown.com) regarding your coffee and unsatisfactory room comment it would benefit our ability to make necessary improvements for future guests.

Thank you again for taking your valuable time to share your experience so that we may improve our overall guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was recently in Grand Island for a wedding and was put up at the Holiday Inn Midtown. It was clean and had nice amenities in the room such as a microwave and fridge. It also had two sinks which was a plus. It seemed to be fairly quiet. I always pack a little fan to help with noise anyway. The beds and pillows were comfortable.

There was not anything fancy or special about this hotel that would draw me to it, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Of course, I didn't have to pay for it this time so maybe my view is skewed a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuelleA0, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Midtown Holiday Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our sleeping rooms and noticed the extra amenities we have as a standard in every room of our hotel.

We would love the opportunity to have you as our guest the next time you're passing through Grand Island Nebraska.

Thanks again for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Traveled here for work although my company says I have to stay here as long as they are paying I will pay out of my own pocket to stay somewhere else.The lobby is about the only thing nice with this hotel the rooms are small and dark small bathrooms it had snowed while I was there had to wrap curtain around door knob just to stop the cold air from coming in.Still did not help.Had to have heat on 79 just to get it half way comfortable. Didn't try the food at bar.Although if you are priority club member you do get 3 free drinks a night Mon - Thurs.This place needs to freshen up. Will not stay here again.By the way the beds are terrible had a back ache for the 4 days I was there pillows are god awful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuelleA0, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

I know you've been contacted by our General Manager regarding your stay and I hope you find that we genuinely care about the quality of stay all our guests have. To reiterate the message from our General Manager will will be replacing the mattress in the room you were in the night of your stay as it must have been missed when we put new mattresses in the hotel. Our pillow standard is scheduled to change within the next year so we are excited for that new technology of comfort!

Please feel free to contact the hotel if you have any further questions regarding your stay, we will be glad to accommodate you. Safe travels and I would appreciate the opportunity to earn back your loyalty the next time you travel to Grand Island, Nebraska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

As a Holiday Inn Priority Club Platnium member and 50+ stays annually I've become quite familiar with the chain, and regrettably I don't give enough love to the majority of locations I've stayed that have been excellent. Unfortunately this place is no where near excellent, and I don't want previous reviews to fool the typical traveler, this place is circa 1970 with poor attempt at covering up it's age with cheap corner cutting updates. The ammeneties are horendous, with dark dirty dingy hallways and rooms, ceilings in the room are 8', beds are the worst I've ever had in any motel chain, the bathrooms are small and extremely dated, the gaps in the doors make even the slightest hallway noise loud, you'll no every time the neighbor gets up to use the water, I really can't find a good thing to say about this place, don't let the lobby vibes fool you, avoid at all costs. The HIE in town offers much better accommodations!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuelleA0, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It is unfortunate you were not happy with your stay at our property. Yes, we are an older property but we proudly are ranked 2nd in the state of Nebraska among all full service Holiday Inns. I am sorry you did not experience the quality we are known for with your stay. I understand that everyone has a bed type they prefer and it is unfortunate that you found our beds uncomfortable. It is such an important part of your stay that we intentionally rotate our mattress inventory regularly and far exceed the minimum requirements for the Holiday Inn brand when purchasing mattresses. This past year we have extended the courtesy of allowing two guests to purchase mattresses from us because they liked them so much. Your bathroom is not one of our newest remodels and our owners invest in our property yearly for improvements and most recently have remodeled 30 of our bathrooms. When reviewing our hotels photos online, I see we have not posted a photo of our newly renovated bathrooms so potential guests can see the improvements made, this will be corrected immediately. Our hallways are all lit with florescent lighting so I appreciate you sharing the deficiency in that area. I will definitely meet with our engineering staff so they can correct any areas not well lit. I am glad to see that you enjoy staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Grand Island, our owners also own the Holiday Inn Express you speak well of in our review. Thank you for your time to rate our property it is important that we are made aware of concerns that the fresh eyes of a guest see so they can be corrected and improved on. I hope the next time you travel your experience is of excellent quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown

Address: 2503 S. Locust, Grand Island, NE 68801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concerts, sporting events, water parks, shopping, and 200 years of history are within 10 minutes of a great hotel guests love in Grand Island, NE. Midtown Holiday Inn Hotel places you minutes from area attractions including Island Oasis Water Park, Stuhr Museum, and the Nebraska Bird Observatory at Crane Meadows. Our hotel is also the central location for guests visiting our local businesses such as Case IH, Chief Industries and Swift. If shopping is what you are looking for Grand Island is Nebraska's third largest retail center. Grand Island is home to Conestoga Mall, as well as many specialty stores and several large national chain stores.Our hotel has 197 beautifully decorated guestrooms, which include 6 suites, each of which is equipped with free high-speed Internet capabilities. 125 Rooms come with microwave/refrigerator units. The hotel has more than 13,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, which can serve groups from 10-500 people in size. For your enjoyment we have an indoor pool, whirlpool, 5 hole mini-golf course, and pool table. Stop by our Terrace Restaurant, where kids 12 and under eat free for breakfast or dinner. Unwind at Images Lounge, located inside the hotel, with one of their nightly specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown Hotel Grand Island
Grand Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.