We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone to your Saves list
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3333 Ramada Road, Grand Island, NE 68801 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Grand Island
Smelterville, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stopped in on our way back to Idaho. We received a very fair priced room on Thanksgiving afternoon. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable to sleep in. PET FRIENDLY. Stay here again. would recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Being a GI native I was so very blessed to stay at Boarders in Grand Island, formally know as the Howard Johnson Hotel. This place has really turned into a hot spot with Loads to do!! Located just south on the south Locust strip I was able to enjoy Live music at the Full Circle Venue at night, Denny's Breakfast in the morning, and a heavy handed bar in the evening. All of this was conveniently located inside the new Boarders Hotel. Not to mention the Super Wal-Mart just across the street within walking distance. The rooms are being renovated at the moment but still rate super affordable with a comfortable feel and a great cleaning crew! the housekeepers are so sweet and kind! I haven't mentioned the indoor pool, hot tub and automated atrium! This Hotel is a Historical gem of Grand Island and I'm very impressed with what they have done to make it a Home away from home when I travel back home ;) I will surly be staying here in the near future!

Jacob Hamilton

P.s. I also learned that the Hotel owners also own TOMMY'S restraunt (just north on south locust about 1 mile on the right hand side).
This is a MUST! Hands down one of the best breakfasts iv ever had! Thanks again!

Room Tip: I cannot remember the # but my favorite room is the southeast corner on the 2nd floor. 1 King Non-sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, Nebraska
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

For the 3rd (or4th) year in a row 5 of us have stayed here. This year September 28th we were booked to stay here for a Food Show that is held in Grand Island. Motel has gotten better! No real complaints with that...But Denny's SERIOUSLY??? I have eaten at different locations and have NEVER had experiences like this location!!! I had to get our own menus, place mats and silverware. The Motel was full and the restaurant only staff 1 waitress and 1 cook? The waitress seemed to be doing the best of her ability but what about the cook? Granted it was between 1230 am to 1 am but when the bar closes at 1 hmmm (?) what happens? If I had investment in the Denny's chain I would be TOTALLY embarrassed !!! Not really sure if it is the restaurant dropping the ball or the motel but obviously there is a miscommunication somewhere.....

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We were here last year for the stae fair and had a pleasurable experience. This year the staff, under new management, has done a complete 360 and does not seem to care about their guests at all. They declined to use a corporate lodging card because the management said, "corporate lodging thinks they rule the world" and they wanted to maximize their rates during a busy time. However their contract with corporate lodging states they are required to honor the travel club discount at all times. I have a service animal and the girl at the front desk lied to myself and the general manager about me presenting my ADA card upon checkin. We were forced to move rooms TWICE with no freed assistance from the staff. We are now in a dirty disgusting room that smells like urine is being covered up with dryer sheets. Definitely not worth the money and have never been treated more poorly at any other hotel (and I live in hotels 7 months out of the year for work). Definitely not worth the money and I suggest you find one of the many other more customer-friendly properties in Grand Island. Plenty more to choose from!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Director of Sales at Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Jason on the contrary we definitely appreciate all of our Corporate Lodging customers however, we were unaware when you made your reservation in September of 2013 that you belonged to Corporate Lodging. We had no notice of the service animal until we found the dog unattended in the room by our housekeeping. We are a pet friendly hotel and love to meet the K-9 kids. We apologize if you found your accommodations unsatisfactory as the rooms will not be renovated until this fall. We certainly understand your concerns and feel that we have been more than accommodating during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Bow, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Boarders in Grand Island during the State Fair. The hotel was very clean, staff was friendly and helpful, and the price was great considering most places are raising their rates really high for the fair.

Room Tip: They do have rooms that have a window in to the pool area, and I would not recommend these, but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Director of Sales at Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Craig, Boarders Inn & Suites is pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our new management and staff take pride in guest satisfaction. We hope that you will come see the changes after the renovation is complete. Again we appreciate your honest feedback on your stay at Boarders Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I stayed here for work. All the staff was very polite and personable. Pam S. was especially helpful and courteous during my stay. The onsite computer room was very nice to have access to. I also enjoyed not having to leave the hotel to eat. Denny's staff, food and service was excellent. My location is currently under renovations though its still easy to move freely and safely thru the building. I will definitely be staying here again in the future when passing thru Grand Island.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Director of Sales at Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Justin we appreciate the comments on the new Boarders Inn & Suites. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay even with the construction going on. There is never really a perfect time to do renovations when your business is 24/7. Please make sure and see us on your next passing thru Grand Island to see the progress. Again, we appreciate you taking time our of your busy day to review Boarders Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I stayed here last week. It was the quietest room I have ever had. There was absolutely
No outside sounds. You didn't hear people in the halls or upstairs. It made for a wonderful nights sleep. The room was spacious
And comfotable, it even had a big recliner! It was clean and the staff was friendly. My only
Complaint , the lighting was not the best. All the lamps had low watt bulbs, I love to read
And it was hard to do in that light. It was a great place to get a good nights sleep after a long day of driving.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Director of Sales at Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Jan thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments on the Boarders Inn & Suites. With our renovation we will be changing ALL the rooms this fall, that includes the lighting in the room as well as all common areas. We would love for you to come back after to see all the upgrades the new owner is doing. Thanks again for reviewing Boarders Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone

Address: 3333 Ramada Road, Grand Island, NE 68801 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Grand Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone 2*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Hotels Grand Island NE near Stuhr Museum is located off Highway 2 and Route 34. Whether you are visiting with your family or on business, you will enjoy reliable accommodations and easy access to the Heartland Event Center, Central Community College, Doane College, New Holland, JBS Swift, American Eagle (R) Airlines, Saint Francis Memorial Hospital and much more. The Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone, you can enjoy breakfast at Denny's, working out in the fitness center, swimming in the indoor pool, and afterward unwind in the whirlpool. Play billiards in the Lounge, or check your email using free Wi-Fi Internet access. Take advantage of other conveniences like a free daily newspaper, free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our Grand Island, NE, hotel features an on-site restaurant and business facilities. Book a spacious suite, or handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available and don't forget to join Cobblestone Rewards! Spend a fun-filled day at Island Oasis Water Park, where the kids can ride water slides and splash around the wave pool. Learn about local pioneer history and view the railroad exhibit at Stuhr Museum, walk around historic downtown Grand Island for antique shopping, and stop by The Grand Theatre to watch movies or live performances. Play a round of golf at Indianhead Golf Club, or bowl at Westside Bowling Lanes. Enjoy everything that Grand Island has to offer and enjoy "Big City Quality, Small Town Values." At the Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Hotels in Grand Island, Nebraska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Grand Island
Grand Island Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.