We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History never gets old here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stuhr Museum of the Prairie Pioneer

Stuhr Museum of the Prairie Pioneer
3133 West US Highway 34, Grand Island, NE 68801
308-385-5316
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Grand Island
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
York, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“History never gets old here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

It truly is a step back in time. The village of the pairie pioneer is great. The collections in the main building are well displayed and the staff are more than willing to answer questions. Nice family place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I used to go here all the time as a kid. It is a fun place to learn and spend a summer day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have been here many many times but still go back ever so often. I take pics also everytime I go. I love old towns like this & old houses. You'll love this place. I would recommend that you set aside about 4 hrs to look everything over good. You won't regret coming here.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Awesome museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a terrific museum! We went in March before all the exhibits are open to the public and it was still well worth the trip. I'd like to go again in summer when they have character dress and demonstrations. Beautiful outdoor museum. LOTS of walking. Wear cool clothing, plan to walk a lot, have a drink bottle with you. We concluded our museum visit with a trip to Fuji Japanese Steakhouse which was scrumptious.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visit the past in real time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

If Railroad Town is open (spring-fall) it is GREAT for all age kids, even teenagers. The museum has "child actors" out in the town doing tasks that would be normal in the 1890's. If you ask them questions, they answer! They won't know what an Ipod or cell phone is! It is cool. Visit on a holiday if you can, they host events traditional to the 1890's era. A real treat for older people as well. The have a store and a salon in town where you can buy a bottled Sasparilla. Really fun!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stuhr Museum of the Prairie Pioneer also viewed

 

Been to Stuhr Museum of the Prairie Pioneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stuhr Museum of the Prairie Pioneer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.