We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Gothenburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Gothenburg to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Gothenburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   401 Platte River Drive, I-80 Exit 211, Gothenburg, NE 69138-2707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gothenburg
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
9
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galva, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a welcome stop for us as it is halfway between our home in Illinois to Denver Colorado. It is dated in some ways, but it is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The price is reasonable when all we want is a nights sleep. The breakfast is ok. Nothing fancy, but gets us on the road. Quiet on weekends as it one a lot of contractors stay at during the week.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macy F, Manager at Howard Johnson Gothenburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at the Howard Johnson in Gothenburg, Nebraska. We are always so pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and that they were able to get a good nights' rest before continuing on their journeys. We hope to see you again soon, and look forward to it!! Go Happy, Go Hojo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was friendly and the room was clean. It was nice having a hot tub and a heated indoor pool to go along with the reasonable room rate. No one bothered us the entire stay as far as knocking on the door or anything. My hunting partner and I will be back in the future!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macy F, Manager at Howard Johnson Gothenburg, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Howard Johnson in Gothenburg Nebraska. We try to make everyone feel at home when they stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This hotel is bare bones, supposedly bult in 2010 but u can tell it is a construction, road crew hotel. The night gal that checked us in was great as were the gals the following morning. Breakfast decent - remember it is a hotel.... It was decent for the price and got us by on a travel stop...

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macy F, Manager at Howard Johnson Gothenburg, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
We are so appreciative that you took the time to write a review about our hotel. However, this building was built in the 90's. The next door hotel was built more recent so thank you for bringing that point up. I hope that clarifies for other future guests. We are excited to say that we are undergoing some major changes and hope to see you again soon. Go Happy, Go Hojo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The front desk person was very personable and accommodating . He was helpful in suggesting places to eat ( after checking in ). Came back from dinner and spoke with the owner for a couple of moments - she was just as friendly . The room was very clean and tidy and the bed was very comfy !!! All in all I had a great experience and will return if I am ever thru there again .

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macy F, Manager at Howard Johnson Gothenburg, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
I am so elated to know you enjoyed your experience while staying with us at the Howard Johnson. Also, that you got the chance to meet and converse with the owner. It is so pleasing to know that the staff is making our guests feel welcome and that people appreciate that. I am grateful that you took the time to write such a fantastic review of us online. We appreciate all our guests and hope to see you and your family stop by again. Go Happy, Go Hojo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Gothenburg

Address: 401 Platte River Drive, I-80 Exit 211, Gothenburg, NE 69138-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Gothenburg 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gothenburg
Super Eight Gothenburg
Gothenburg Super 8
Gothenburg Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Gothenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.