We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walker Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherrabah Homestead Resort

Save Saved
You added Cherrabah Homestead Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherrabah Homestead Resort
PO Box 304, Elbow Valley, Queensland 4370, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Elbow Valley
Gayndah, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Walker Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We attended a lovely wedding at the end of September at Cherrabah.....a totally fantastic time was had by all. The staff were lovely and friendly and always there if you needed anything. You couldnt fault it. Food was fantastic and plentiful...definitly not frozen meals!!! Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fran E, Manager at Cherrabah Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed yourselves. It was our pleasure to host the Paul & Tamara’s wedding. We look forward to seeing you back at Cherrabah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    5
    7
    14
See reviews for
19
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thank you to Fran , Eileen and Staff for a wonderful day. Nearly all the guests stayed for two days. The accommodation , meals , wedding and wedding reception was fantastic. You could not ask for better quality meals and quanity. The assistance that was provided for the wedding was tremendous. Staff were dressed formally. The reception room was devine. The activities that were available were plentiful.
Highly recommend it, for weddings or somewhere to relax and be greeted by friendly and helpful staff.
Cant wait to go back.
Chris & Lorretta

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fran E, Manager at Cherrabah Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Its recommendations, like yours that makes all the hard work worth it. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Look forward to seeing you back at Cherrabah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had my wedding there on the 28 th. I could not ask for more friendly and helpful staff than the ones at Cherabah. They made the place look beautiful, they help us out in so many ways and just made my wedding a day to remember. If there was any dramas it was sorted straight away, the food was yummy as, the rooms are real country style. All my guest commented on how much they loved the resort and enjoyed there time out there. Thank you to all the staff for making my wedding a day to remember.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fran E, Manager at Cherrabah Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Big thank you to both of you. Congratulations on your wedding ,we look forward to welcoming you back to Cherrabah Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this location as it was for a family wedding, there was supposed to be quite a few things happening on the friday night before the wedding on the saturday, however with the new management, plans had changed but it was still rather enjoyable. More needed to be done to inform guests of what was happening over the 2 days so people knew what was going on.

The good bits - bathroom had been updated, the sheets and towels were wonderfully fresh and soft, and the room was reasonably spacious. Breakfast was hot buffet and had good variety. The wedding event was lovely and the reception area decked out well, food was nice, but more was needed.

The bad bits - didnt have our booking properly when we first arrived, but it was sorted out quickly. times and locations for breakfast changed daily, and everything was word of mouth, not signed or announced at all, friday night activities felt rushed and most people werent interested when you couldnt even hear what was being said over the microphone. walking trail maps were not in any way to scale or signed properly a short mornings walk to the caves was a 7km round trip hike via the balancing rock meeting area. Hot water ran out on the very last morning there, before checking out, so it wasnt worth trying to get it fixed prior to leaving, we just informed reception that there wasnt any upon check out.

General comments - the place has such potential, the views are wonderful, the outdoor hot tubs either need refurbishing or removing, the pool was being filled the day after we all left so we couldnt make use of that, but it would have been good if we could have. once the new management have been there a while and are able to get into a routine I think it would be a great place to spend a weekend. But a bit far to travel unless you have an event to attend.

Room Tip: some rooms have better views than others, and better access to parking, make sure request parking ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Just had a weekend at the resort , well driving in beautiful,arriving great,friendly reception. Rooms old but clean our fridge did not work let reception know and 15 min later it was fixed. The pool and spa had no water I could see repairs and Reno going on,bad luck it was on our weekend.the staff were fabulous and friendly had fun with them in the homestead.the food was awesome breaky,lunch and dinner honestly I could not fault it.I read the reviews before we went and was apprehensive ,but for the money it was real value,would I return?absolutely I know when the resort is restored it may be more expensive but I will pay...sue

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just had a wedding at Cherrabah the past weekend and absolutely loved our experience. The location was absolutely perfect for what we were looking for, the staff were friendly, helpful and catered to all our requests. Our weekend was relaxed and stress free which is exactly what we wanted! It was great to be able to have a weekend experience with all our closest family and friends at affordable prices. The accommodation is outdated but we knew when booking it wasn't rated as 5 star. We had 120 guests and we wouldn't of been able to afford a weekend wedding like this anywhere else. We had so many comments on how much the guests loved the location and rustic feel of the place. Huge thanks to all the staff at Cherrabah :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

There are a few positives like the view and the open spaces, however this place needs some serious TLC. The rooms are so dated and not welcoming or comfortable. If I wasn't here right now for a family wedding I would leave. The TV doesn't work, there is no shampoo etc in the bathrooms and the bed is as hard as rocks. The pool and hot spas don't have any water in them and you can't get a cup of tea to save your life. I know the place has new owners, so hopefully they refurbish the whole place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elbow Valley hotels

Been to Cherrabah Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrabah Homestead Resort

Address: PO Box 304, Elbow Valley, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Elbow Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Elbow Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cherrabah Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherrabah Homestead Hotel Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherrabah Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.