We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling facilities...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort to your Saves list
BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort
71 Owen Creek Road, Forest Glen, Queensland 4556, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Imbil, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Appalling facilities...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Where do I start...with the word disappointment will do.
We booked in for 7 nights between boxing day and 2nd Jan in a powered tent site. For $100/night camping in a tent, no ensuite and situated right next to 4 wheelie bins.
To be there in such a busy time, pay top dollar and it be so packed, it was so poorly serviced. One lady working reception, phones and the kiosk.
Pool was not maintained and was disgusting (so gross I have pelicans rash, thanks to the bird feeding close by). Spa was green.
Putt putt golf was overgrown and looked like it hadn't been maintained for some time. They had the sprinklers on so you got wet nearly every hole and it wasn't refreshing by any means.
Toilets were serviced peak hours of a night when most are going to bed. The only other amenities are right on the other side near the entrance and the pool.
As for their advertisement of 'outdoor and indoor movies'. Hahaha what a joke. The first night we went, the guy showed up an hour late, then had the nerve to ask the crowd if anyone new how to work the machine (outdoor movie). Next time it was on, he was late again. When we complained, he said that you can't play movies in the daytime. When we suggested they change their program, his excuse was that they were already printed....poor excuse.
Indoor movie had very very very dated movies. Same deal, they were late. I complained once, she said she would be on her way. Complained again as we waited and she told me off as she was busy. We waited a half hour...I consider that being patient on our behalf.
Plus the indoor movie area had not been cleaned the whole time were there. It stunk of urine. Seats were dated old motel style crappy things. They wouldn't put the fan on in there as it was too loud so it was stinking hot.
Then there is the promise of the pancake breakfast on Sundays......waiting, waiting, waiting....non existent!
Kids club was a joke. Bless Gale, she did her best but with one staff member to a heap of kids. Plus she told kids not to rush to the main activity table as there was plenty more supplies. My kids did the right thing and didnt' rush and she ran out with still over an hour to go. Supplies were also very dated and limited.
There was no bread to be bought on site. When we asked about this, we were told that the bakery wouldn't deliver for their order. They are literally 1 minute around the corner, get some on your way in to work staff!!!!
It's one of those places with great potential, just very badly run on a small budget which does not equate to the big dollars they took in over that week. I and every camper we spoke to (at least around 20 odd) said that we would never return, nor recommend it to anyone.
Oh and another camper said that she paid $1000 for 3 nights accom in a cabin to find the tiles were broken on the floor and it was so unsafe for their 4 year old.
No idea how they can carry the Big 4 name. I'd be embarrassed if I was them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestGlenHR, Manager at BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, as we pride ourselves on providing excellent service. Due to the Christmas holidays we were heavily booked and as a result, we were unable to allocate you to a camp site you desired. Resort staff twice daily monitor and service the pool and spa to ensure the water quality remains correct. In order to maintain the highest standards of cleaning our amenities block is cleaned once a day, then again during peak times at 9.00 pm each evening and as required at other times. During the summer months the outdoor movie was shown an hour later at dusk. The free vault cinema is a very popular attraction amongst the kids and receives considerable usage, three times a day. This facility is cleaned regularly and new releases are purchased monthly. During the winter months we offer a free pancake breakfast every Sunday for all our guests, which is extremely popular. Unfortunately this is not offered during our summer holiday period. Our free Kid’s Club is well resourced, managed by highly qualified, capable staff and is a source of praise within our resort. While our resort is not brand new, we pride ourselves on it being clean and well maintained. Our professional staff takes great pride and care to ensure our guests are comfortable and happy as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
42
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 between Christmas 2012 & New year 2013 for 7 nights in a powered site for our camper trailer. We were lucky to have a good pitch next to the outdoor cinema however the staff did not show us our pitch boundary and our neighbors advised us the rule of thumb is to pitch between the numbers which we did. Our neighbors left the day before us and when new people came in we were advised we had pitched half into our pitch and half into another pitch causing others to not being to fit their tent up! The pool was not clean to our standards and a unsual colour. Our children saw a toddler poo in the pool where the parent just scooped it up and left the pool but it was not reported or closed for detamination. The site is abit dated with powerless showers. The main benefits to this site is the jumping pillow, mini-golf and tennis and the staffs 'cant be bothered' attitude means it is relaxing and peaceful. We hope to return when the site has received some modernisation of its facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestGlenHR, Manager at BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments, as we strive to provide excellent customer service. During the busy summer holidays our staff sighted many of our guests to their allocated camp sites however as it was a busy period some campers may have encroached on their neighbouring sites. The maintenance and servicing of our pool water quality is of high importance to our resort staff. The water reflects the pebble surfacing and surrounding rainforest vegetation. We rely on our guests to advise us of any poor behaviour. If there is an incident as you described in the pool, it is closed immediately for cleaning. We hope you make the decision to return to the resort in the near future as we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Big 4 Forest Glen with another family. We were put on an unpowered campsite. The campsite is close to the Highway and is surrounded by houses which are not part of the Big 4 complex. The noise was unbearable. We booked a 3 day stay and left after 1 night. The facilities were good but the location would stop us returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestGlenHR, Manager at BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, as we strive for excellence in our customer service. Due to the school holidays we have been heavily booked and as a result, we were unable to allocate you to a camp site you desired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights when we came to Queensland for a wedding. The accommodation was beautiful, clean and better quality than most similar accommodation I have stayed in. The grounds were well maintained with plenty of fun things to do (big bouncy mound!), and the staff were very helpful. I am definitely planning to return for another weekend away there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestGlenHR, Manager at BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are so glad you had a wonderful stay, thank you for your lovely review.

P.S: Our 25 meter Jumping Pillow is a hit with Kids and Kids at heart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a basic cabin which was very nice. Plenty to keep the kids busy incl. outdoor night cinema, jumping pillow, and large heated pool with water slide. Staff very welcoming after a long drive which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you're looking for a great place for a short getaway with young kids this 'resort' offers lots of things to keep the kids amused as well as an opportunity for parents to unwind in a relaxed bushland setting. Its not a theme park, but it's set up so a young family can find lots to do and it's a good base to visit the many attractions of the Sunshine Coast.
I've stayed there a couple of times now on business trips, and while it's not really set up for this purpose, it's been a reasonable place to stay in an area with few options, but keep in mind the cabins are unserviced and self catering which may not suit a business traveller.
It's an expensive option for a single but I can see it offers value for families, particularly family groups. While the cabins are certainly not in the luxury class they're reasonably well set up and robust enough to cope with a troop of kids on a wet day.
This is NOT the place to spend a romantic weekend, it's definitely family oriented.

Room Tip: The cheaper cabins have tiny bedrooms and bathrooms. If you have a family I'd suggest you stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestGlenHR, Manager at BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank You very much for your lovely comments , We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in a cabin with our 4 children (aged 3-9) over the September school holidays. The accommodation was excellent - very clean, well maintained and very comfortably set out. The park itself has a lovely family atmosphere, with lots of trees and green lawns. Our children enjoyed the heated pool with the waterslide and the spa, they played mini-golf and tennis, and enjoyed the jumping pillow. On the Saturday night we all watched a movie on the outdoor cinema. On the weekday mornings, the children went to the kids club which gave the kids something different to do for the morning and on the Friday night our 6 & 7 year olds enjoyed the disco. We will be re-booking to go back at Christmas time. I would heartily recommend it for a family holiday with kids.

Room Tip: The deluxe room with the washing machine / dryer was very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort

Address: 71 Owen Creek Road, Forest Glen, Queensland 4556, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Forest Glen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Forest Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort is located only 12 minutes drive west of Maroochydore surrounded by soaring virgin rainforest it attracts an abundant collection of wildlife.Set within 48 acres of lush green parklands, enjoy our facilities and select from a range of accommodation that include villas, cabins, caravan and camping sites.Our extensive resort facilities include a huge Bouncing Cushion, heated Swimming Pool with Waterslide, Indoor Cinema, Outdoor Movies, Putt Putt Golf, Outdoor Chess, Camp Kitchen, Resort Kiosk, Kid's Playground, grassed picnic areas, environmental lake, daily Bird Feeding, BBQ's, Games and Recreation Room and two full sized Tennis Courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.