We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't be back!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Palms Caravan Park

Pacific Palms Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pacific Palms Caravan Park
Mariana Avenue, Elizabeth Beach, New South Wales 2428, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle, NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We won't be back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Granted our kids (2 & 4) woke a number of times through the night so our sleep was disturbed, however we were looking forward to checking out the place for a potential longer stay later in the year and were extremely disappointed. To quote my Husband "There were no redeeming features".
We stayed in an on-site van which is owned by friends who offered us the van FOC for the night. There are only 4 powered sites and their aspect was not desirable.
There was only a slippery dip and two swings, so not much for kids our age.
I second an earlier review titled 'Sad & Tired'. Although amenities were a long way from our van they were clean. I couldn't imagine there would be enough facilities when the park is full.
We have stayed at much nicer locations, with friendlier Managers who welcomed you at the gate/reception, rather than quizzed you about how you were 'connected' to the van owners and charging $23 for the night for it's 'Use'???
Needless to say enquiries have begun with other locations for our next trip away. Wont miss driving on The Lakes Way either.
The nearby Recreation club had nice food, but was also tired looking & the 20 x 12 Cafe at Boomerang had great coffee, but food was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Sorry but I don't have any tips other than BYO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

How do you rate a caravan park and its cabins? We rented an ultra cabin for two (one bedroom) for the week ending on Boxing Day. This was part of an extended family holiday, with most time spent at the 'big house' with other family members. So, we mainly slept and breakfasted here. The cabin was clean and the bedroom particularly well appointed (for a caravan park cabin). Although located near the entrance to the park we did not particularly notice vehicle noise. The ultra cabins are set so that each one's covered veranda faces in a different direction. Ours (P) faced the tropical bush between the park and the main road, a very pleasant outlook and one that diminished the feeling of being in, well, a caravan park. Elizabeth Beach is about a 5 minute walk away (nice beach, good for families). Most breakfasts a bush turkey came around to see if we would give it anything. I agree with other reviewers about the surprise absence of a shop in the park. It is necessary to drive (or bicycle if you are so equipped) to get to any shops.

Room Tip: As noted, P has the veranda facing the bush,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very disappointing. Only stayed one night. It appears clean on arrival. Cabin was dirty, cobwebs - porch area not brushed etc. With a bit more effort and care this could be a good location. Seems like people book for proximity to beach. Reception staff made no effort either - we won't be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elizabeth Beach hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Found this Park to be sad and tired, no shop. took the kids to the shower block to clean off sand no hot water .. no grouting in the shower tiles so who knows what dwells there.... cabin very cold no A/C found the small heater when leaving, the beach is the only recommendation for this caravan park. owners now overly pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I was disgusted to find only two toilets available to well over 120 women and young children the other toilet block was locked. There were two toilet cubicles for the men. The showers/toilet floors were always wet, and there were many people commenting about the lineup to use these toilet amenities and the continual running out of toilet paper. Why were the other amenities locked? I am not camping in the outback (I would expect a bit less) I was in a lovely beachside caravan park. With nothing to offer!!!! not even a clean toilet when I wanted one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our terrible experience with another local resort lead us to the Pacific Palms Caravan Park, and it was a blessing. Very friendly owner, great room for the price. Had everything we needed. Perfect location, very close to the beach. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Palms Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Palms Caravan Park

Address: Mariana Avenue, Elizabeth Beach, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Elizabeth Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Elizabeth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Palms Caravan Park is a traditional family caravan park located on the mid north coast of new south wales, 150kms north of Newcastle and 20kms south of Forster. The park nestles in a bushland setting adjacent to Elizabeth Beach, one of the east coasts most popular ocean beaches and quite close to Shelly Beach where clothing is optional. The park sits amidst three coastal lakes and three national parks where you will find quite large stands of the native cabbage palms from which the area gets its name. The area offers all surfing and water activities of which fishing is quite a popular one. Bushwalking and birdwatching are also popular activities of the area. Accommodation is available in modern en-suite cabins at quite competitive rates or in standard cabins for the budget conscious. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Palms Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pacific Palms Caravan Park to your Saves list