We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, newer hotel in small town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Columbus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Columbus to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Columbus
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   524 East 23rd Street, Columbus, NE 68601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice, newer hotel in small town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a large, attractive, well maintained room. Hotel personnel were helpful and eager to make us comfortable. At our request switched us from the room we had been assigned (a connecting-type room) to one that was non-connecting. Our room was very quiet, and we slept well.

At close to $100 this hotel was not a bargain. Considering that it was a Saturday night, non peak season, senior rate, and a small town, we were surprised at the cost

Room Tip: Use trip advisor and Consumer Reports. Ask for top floor, room away from road and elevator and drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
7
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This relatively new, relatively large (4 story) Holiday Inn Express is a good example of a less
expensive hotel with very good accomodations. The rooms are very large, even larger than some deluxe hotels that I've stated in recently. The beds are not "custom," but are extremely comfortable. The rooms are tastefully designed, with a microwave and mini-refrigerator, nice
flat screen TV and a coffee/tea set up. Besides the newer construction, the great "amenity"
is the free breakfast buffet. The mini egg and cheese omeletes were great. If you haven't used the "Pancake Machine," they have one and its amazing. Two perfect pancakes in 1 minute. You must push a button on something that looks like a small copy machine. You place your plate at the end, and out they come. Nothing like the mess with the waffle makers. Also a friendly staff. Like many hotels in this class, there was some noise from the hallways and other rooms, but it was not too intrusive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights. Good value hotel. Stayed in suite. Very clean rooms, very clean hotel. Staff excellent when I had a problem and were fantastic when I needed book onward hotel in Omaha.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColumbus, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your stay when in Columbus, NE. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites certainly values you as our customer and we realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging. Our staff strives to give excellent service and provide the finest of facilities to your guests.

Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites and we trust you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future when returning to Columbus, NE.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Columbus NE a few times now, always to break up the long drive between Denver and points further East. The clincher is a happy hour with beer, wine and snacks. Hits the spot after a long day of driving. It's a clean spot and we find it's great to get off I-80.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, SD
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed for 4 nights and wanted a larger room, and it was wonderful! The small kitchen was put to use! The cookies and breakfast were delicious and there were plenty of choices. The only negative was the first day, we weren't in any hurry to leave the room and told the first maid to come back at a certain time. The second maid handed us a pile of towels and took the dirty ones, even after we told her to come back later. Then a third one knocked and asked if everything was okay. By the time we left, the maids were gone and the beds never got made nor the bathroom freshened. For the rest of our stay, they did wait until we were out of the room. Then there were the noisy guests but the hotel staff took care of that with little disruption to other guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The hotel is the best available in the area. It is located in a commercial area, on the state highway. The cleanliness of the room was top class. The hotel staff was quite courteous & helpful. The hotel provides a good breakfast in the morning. It also provides free WiFi round the clock.
There are 2 Walmart stores in its proximity at a walking distance. Also, there are other utility shops around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Great front desk service; a nice cocktail hour or mixer for guests from five to seven in the lobby\breakfast area (wine, beer, light snacks); better than average breakfast with eggs and breakfast meat each morning along with the standard breakfast assortment. Located between a nice bbq restaurant on one side and a Walmart on the other. Property is well maintained, a pleasant stop.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Columbus

Address: 524 East 23rd Street, Columbus, NE 68601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Columbus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus, a Quality Excellence Award-winning hotel, offers 88 smoke free, guest rooms including 19 suites of which 3 are whirlpool suites. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus guest rooms feature the following: free high-speed wireless Internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemakers, large work desks, desk lamps, and 32' HD flat screen TVs with HBO. We have a heated indoor pool and whirlpool. We also offer our guests a free hot breakfast every day with eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage or bacon and fruit as well as many other items! If you re staying during the week make sure to enjoy our Manager's Reception (Monday - Thursday 5:30 PM to 7 PM) which includes free beer, wine, snacks and a Priority Club point drawing! Don t forget! Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus is the closet hotel to Becton Dickenson and Cargill that offers a Manager's Reception and Priority Club points! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Columbus Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.