We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like old friends.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westerner Motel

Westerner Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chadron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westerner Motel
Save
You added Westerner Motel to your Saves list
300 Oak Street, Chadron, NE 69337   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Single Special $45.00!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chadron
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Feels like old friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Recently on a road trip with my wife from NYC to L.A., we stayed here. Booked over the phone the night before and was very friendly. Arrived the next day and was as welcoming as they could be.
Room was clean & fairly large, AC worked well, fridge a m/wave, shower was good and the WiFi worked fine. The bed was super comfy.
I would defiantly stay here again. The owners felt like old friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We rode motorcycles from Dubois, WY to Chadron NE. We had booked rooms at the Grand Westerner in Chadron. We were greeted like old friends!! Our room was large, the air was on and we were very happy with our room. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We had dinner next door at the Grove Bar and Grill. The food was awesome and the price was very, very reasonable! The next morning we had breakfast at Helens Restaurant and the service was fantastic, the food delicious! and the coffee was plentiful. It's a hidden gem!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We drove into Chadron with no reservation, and once again on this trip we got lucky. The exterior of this traditional, courtyard-style motel was immediately appealing, with its bright blue doors and tidy appearance. Each door has a knocker made of a Western spur - clever touch. The friendly husband-and-wife proprietors greeted us at their outdoor gazebo, and showed us a room before we committed. The room was clean, all was in good repair, and the price was very reasonable. Not luxurious, but towels were good and beds were comfortable - no king size, so we had a double queen room. WiFi worked well in our room. No breakfast is included and coffee is available at the office rather than in each room, but that was fine with us for the price. Mardi offered to make us a fresh pot that evening when I asked about it! There seem to be a lot of these older-style, mom-and-pop motels across Nebraska and South Dakota that have been refurbished. Parking in front of the room and not having to climb stairs is a definite plus for us, as we are "older." They also have some 2nd floor rooms with balconies for watching the sunset. Very homey, would stay there again.

Room Tip: The proprietors will gladly show you a room before you rent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Westerner (closest to Walmart). The first room the lady tried to give us was VERY small, it had a full size bed and it was for my daughter and i. We decided that a small bed was just not going to cut it. We go moved to a different room with at least a queen size bed. Cable tv, comfortable chair, minimal electrical outlets. The bed was actually quite comfortable. It was a bit warm in the room and wanted to turn on the AC... after looking and looking for a thermostat, I thought, THIS is odd! There are NO thermostats, you have to climb on a chair in the middle of the room and twist the little white plastic nob for the vent to open and allow a little air to come thru the duct work. If you want a sudden blast or cool down or heat up of the room, it won't happen here. I've stayed and hundreds of motels, but never one with out a thermostat.
The customer service IS GREAT though. The price is right, the wi-fi did not work on my black berry, but DID work on my lap top. If you are on AT&T for your cell phone, there is no AT&T in Chadron, you'll be on "EDGE" (whatever company that is) and they are not 4G, or let alone even 3G. There is no continental breakfast, no business center, no fitness area. Pretty plain Jane. It is easy to find though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalia, co.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I've stayed here many times while going to college football games. owners are great people, very helpful. rooms are nice , good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferintosh, Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The rooms are small but well-appointed. The owners were very friendly and helpful, provided a map and directions to hiking trails and a recommendation for supper. It took a while to get hot water to our bathroom but that's the only negative. Great value. Nice little place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The owners of the motel were charming, welcoming and helpful: they directed us to a terrific local restaurant. The rooms are fairly small and straightforward, but everything looked new, the bed was new and comfortable, everything worked and was spotlessly clean. Can't beat it, and as others mentioned, we were pleased to support a locally-owned small business.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westerner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westerner Motel

Address: 300 Oak Street, Chadron, NE 69337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Chadron
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chadron
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Westerner Hotel Chadron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westerner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.