We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great "must see" museum on the prairie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of the Fur Trade

Museum of the Fur Trade
6321 Hwy 20, Chadron, NE 69337
308-432-3843
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Chadron
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A great "must see" museum on the prairie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This museum far exceeded our expectations. The collection, which is nicely displayed, covers an important part of American AND Canadian history. Great exhibits on fur trading, Native American regalia, the American Fur Company, the Hudson Bay Company, and more. Worth visiting more than once. Plan on spending at least two hours here. One caution, the museum is open for about six months a year, from roughly May through October. Check out the dates before you go. Bottom line: worth at least a couple of hour side trip. Plenty of food and accommodation in nearby Chadron.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Learned a lot that I didn't know. Very educational, fun and cool staff. Great location and a lot of artefacts. Would go again if it was not that far from were I live.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“It's worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

For years, people said we had to visit this museum. We finally did, and have been back twice since. There is so much to experience, inside and out, that any less than 3 hours is rushing things. The museum puts so much of North American history into tangible perspective. You don't know how much you didn't know until you go there. The museum shop has wonderful books and collectibles, and is worth the trip just for that. Their video is superb. Entry fee is modest and supports the museum, which will be undergoing renovations from 1 Noember to 30 April. We'll find an excuse to come back next Spring.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend this museum if you are traveling near Chadron, Nebraska. It is on the site of a main trading post, which trade route is now US Highway 20! The collections of textiles, beads and French traders' artifacts is awesome, if a bit out dated in presentation. I wanted to volunteer to help re-type the text cards and change the lightbulbs in the exhibit cases! This collection is a treasure. Don't miss the outside exhibits which have reconstructed the ruins of the trading post...nothing like the movies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was curious as to what it had and was really amazed at how well it told the story of the fur trade, not only in North America, but in Europe and Asia, too. I learned a lot from the video and really enjoyed the exhibits. A truly great collection of Native American beadwork. The room on the voyageurs filled in a lot of gaps and I was amazed at the size of the one canoe. The buildings reflecting the original trading post are less impressive. An excellent gift shop, especially the selection of books.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum of the Fur Trade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of the Fur Trade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.