We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid their breakfasts!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Helen's Pancake & Steak House

Helen's Pancake & Steak House
950 W Highway 20, Chadron, NE 69337-2263
308-432-9958
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Chadron
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Challis, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Avoid their breakfasts!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We picked Helen's as we wanted to have breakfast. I ordered their bacon and eggs with a pancake. The bacon was greasy. So much that I used my one napkin to blot the grease off. The pancake was heavy. My husband ordered the ham and eggs with toast and hash browns. $2.00 extra for the hash browns. The piece of ham was thick but very small and one end was so dried out that he was unable to eat all of it. It was 11:00 a.m. when we arrived and there were quite a few customers; however, they were all having lunch. Maybe their lunches are better or maybe breakfast would have been better earlier.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branchville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Quaint Little Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast after staying at the Bunkhouse Motel. We like to eat local rather than go to a big chain. Glad we did in this case. This is an old diner with great food and very friendly staff. The service was a bit slow but it looked like one waitress was taking care of everyone. Definitely worth going here over any of the chains in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryton, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Varied menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Ate lunch here, it was a nice place. I had ham and eggs for lunch and hubby had salad bar and hamburger. Both were fine and brought right out to us.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We got to know the staff and owner as we returned several times. It was a great place to have a meal when away from home!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast, perfectly prepared. Our waitress was so friendly and joked around with us, which we loved. Great place to eat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helen's Pancake & Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Helen's Pancake & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helen's Pancake & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.