We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Trip From Kansas City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Inn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brownville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Inn Resort
Save
You added River Inn Resort to your Saves list
72898 648 A Avenue, Brownville, NE 68321   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brownville
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Overnight Trip From Kansas City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The package we bought included a dinner cruise, 1 night on the "hotel" and a concert by a group called the Ladybugs. The food is decent but not exceptional. You have a selection of a meat and ham entree and cheesy potatoes. The spinach strawberry salad was very good and the hotel itself is extremely clean and the concert was also very good. Highly recommended experience for people from either Kansas City or Omaha.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, Nebraska
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We traveled to Brownville on New Year's Eve with another couple for their year-end party and to stay overnight on the boat. What a great time we had!! The rooms are very well appointed and clean and the bed was really comfy. Roomy bathroom and lovely decor, but the tile floor was kind of cold -- but it was the middle of winter so that was not much of a surprise. I think this would be an awesome summer trip when you could sit outside and watch the river lazily flow by. Might have to try that. Now the party. It was wonderful. There was wine tasting in the lounge area serving wines from the local Whiskey Run Winery. Quite good. And the hors'dourves were plentiful and top class. Good thing we saved room for the dinner in the lovely dining room. Prime rib, chicken cordon bleu, and pork loins were the entrees and you could have each one. Plenty of side dishes and topped off with either cheesecake or carrot cake. Delicious! There was champagne and a few fireworks outside to ring in the New Year and a really great 7 piece blue grass band. If I recall, I believe they were called "Some Guys". Lots of fun! The next morning we enjoyed a great breakfast of quiche, fresh fruit, muffins, and fried potatoes along with either orange juice or mimosas if you opted for that. The wait staff was super -- very efficient and friendly, and Captain Randal is the perfect host. Did not get a chance to meet his wife but we have heard compimentary things about her as well. This was a really great way to celebrate the New Year and we would not hesitate to do it again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing toward land. We were not in the room that much so it did not matter but if I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Inn in July and really enjoyed out time there. The Inn is very nicely furnished and the rooms are very modern and clean. Randall and Jane are great hosts and the breakfasts are excellent. The only negative to our stay was the strong AC unit positioned right next to our bed which blew cold blasts onto the person on that side of the bed. Had to keep the AC going otherwise the room got hot and stuffy. However, the beds were high quality and very comfortable.

Brownville is a great place to come stay for the weekend. We went to the Whiskey Creek Run winery for wine tasting and music while sitting out on the patio, and did a riverboat dinner cruise on the Spirit of Browneville, ate dinner at the Lyceum, spent a day at Indian Cave State Park horseback riding and walking around viewing the sites and demonstrations, and visited the downtown shops in Browneville. It was a great way to spend the weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was along the river and we had great views. I would ask Randall to see if he can adjust th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed June of 2012. The Riverboat was freshly painted and recently redecorated. Our room was tastefully decorated and had plenty of room. The bath was amazing with a rainforest effect in the shower and also music in the shower. the bed was very comfortable. there was a sink/fridge combo area.The patio off our room was right on the water. It was very peaceful with beautiful views to take in. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was nice. The price was right. The people in the town(Brownvile) are an extension of hospitality that we received at the River Inn. Everyone makes you feel welcome. Overall experience excellent!

Room Tip: The rooms on the riverside are worth spending a little extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed there in November for our 2nd anniversary. We were the only ones booked for that particular night. Randol was very sweet and welcoming upon arrival. We had access to the entire boat! It was so beautiful spending the evening on the top deck under the stars and listening to the river flow. The rooms were very modern with flat screen TVs, an amazing top of the line shower system, and the bed was so so comfortable!!! In the morning we woke up and Randol greeted us and walked down stairs for breakfast with us. Randol and his staff had placed a table and two chairs right next to the door just for us so we could have a river front view! It was extremely sweet of them to take time to make our morning so special and memorable. Definitively an experience to remember!! The whole stay was very personal and they made sure we felt very comfortable. I can not say enough good things. If you want a unique get away, and want to feel like VIP, then this is a must stay. A huge thank you again to Randol, his wife, and staff for creating such a wonderful experience for my husband and I!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn Resort

Address: 72898 648 A Avenue, Brownville, NE 68321
Location: United States > Nebraska > Brownville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brownville
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.