We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fond memory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontenelle Forest Nature Center

Fontenelle Forest Nature Center
1111 North Bellevue Boulevard, Bellevue, NE 68005
402 731 3140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Bellevue
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than 1,000 acres of forested hardwoods and wildlife-filled wetlands include a nature center with animal exhibits and children's programs.
Gulfport, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fond memory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Though the temps were rather high and humidity as well, we enjoyed a short hike through this wilderness area. The wooden walkway is convenient for handicapped and families with children, but we prefered the rugged pathways of which there are still aplenty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I bought my husband and myself hydration packs for his birthday knowing that I wanted to visit Fontenelle for a hike. This place is amazing, not only does it offer a beautiful and natural look at nature but the trails are a nice challenge. We spent about 4 hours hiking and ran into one trail that was a pain but other than that it was a great experience. We were warned about the marsh area being rough and the front desk associate was not kidding, we left a little beaten up but I'd do it all over again. If you plan on visiting Fontenelle for a hike on their rough trails I would recommend a hydration pack since carrying a water bottle around can be a pain and wear some light weight pants or shorts you can turn into pants to avoid getting cut up in the marsh area (near the train tracks).

I can't wait to visit Fontenelle again, it was just great!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for hiking and bird watching, fun for kids too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have a pass to Fontenelle Nature Center for our family of four. We visit at least once a month, even in the winter. They have a wide variety of trails, so you can choose your level of difficulty. Wildlife is abundant, and it's an especially great place to bird watch.

One of the highlights of Fontenelle is the boardwalk, which is over a mile long and offers a view of the Missouri River. It's perfect for kids and those that are unable or don't feel like trail hiking that day.

Since we have kids, we also visit the activity center on the lower level. It has an area for smaller children, a few animals in aquariums. They have been doing renovations to this area for a few months, and it is the one place that could use some improvement. Lots of potential in that space, it just needs to be filled. They do have books and costumes and blocks.

They also offer classes throughout the year, usually for ages 3+, and various camps and attractions.

It's definitely worth the money for a day pass if you are a nature lover visiting the area. If you are local, I highly recommend a membership.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice City Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice walk for active people. Small area behind visitors center for small children and teenagers who refuse to disconnect from social media long enough to absorb something natural. Saw lots of birds and some deer. Some trails are not clearly marked so stay sharp. Visitor center staff look the part of naturalists but in the reality know little of the park or the animals and wildlife in it. Twice I was refered to the parks web site, for the answer for my questions. Nice handicapped walk ways and lots of shade even on the hottest days.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,IL
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Fun in the Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great place to take the kids- They have the trails set up for easy walk and the fun place to hike. Put on the bug spray if you plan on being off the trail.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontenelle Forest Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Fontenelle Forest Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontenelle Forest Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.