We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time or money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Coffee Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Downtown Coffee Shop
119 W Mission Ave, Bellevue, NE 68005-5290
402-292-7100
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 107 Restaurants in Bellevue
Restaurant details
Papillion, Nebraska
1 review
“Don't waste your time or money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Two of us went out for breakfast. I had steak/eggs, which is only on for the weekends but she found a steak and served it, for which I was thankful. Walmart steaksauce. Daughter had omelette, which was OK., plain. They do NOT use real fat, or butter, real cream, real lemon juice and the LaRue coffee looked as weak as tea. They charged for hot water. Though the service was friendly, I won't go back. True foodies stay away. The food was unimpressive at best. We were looking for real food, which tastes excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
1 review
“Best Burgers in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Yes, even better than Stella's (though Stella's is a close 2nd). Their Jumbo Cheeseburger is fantastic! They butter and grill the bun to make it taste extra good. Pancakes are fantastic as well. It is a hole in the wall type place, but like many diner/dive/drive-ins.... it has excellent food. Open for Breakfast and Lunch!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, NE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is an old fashioned diner that serves up delicious breakfast and lunch food. Their servings are big and the price is low. The SOS on biscuits and pancakes are the best! Definitely a great spot for a family breakfast on the weekends!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
“Do not stop, keep driving!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Customer care is not in their vocabulary. The prices may seem comparable to normal restaurants but the food is not. My soup was inedible, my burger was tired and my kids high chair was in disrepair. I saw the waitress's smiling but not at the customers. No one called anyone sweetie yesterday.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cafe for the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

This is like one of those old diners where all the locals gather for breakfast and lunch. The servers call you "Sweety" and the food is American and greasy, which I love. The only issue I have with the Downtown Coffee Shop is that their hamburger patties are tiny. Other than that, it's great. Right on the main street of Olde Towne Bellevue. Been around for decadeds. Prices are right and the fries are crinkle cut. What could be better?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.