We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kandahar Lodge to your Saves list
Kandahar Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Whitefish
indianapolis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in February, 2013. The lodge is located very close to the 'village' and is an easy walk for dinner. I never ate in the restaurant but had few drinks in the bar and found that to be very enjoyable. (Dillon is one of the most knowledgeable bartenders I have ever met) Everyone at the resort was very friendly and exceedingly helpful.
You can buy your ski passes at the front desk and the morning shuttle is very easy to use. No problem with the hotel being situated a little off the slopes. The hotel can be reached from the slopes on skis at the end of the day, so it is more convenient than I expected.
i would definitely stay here again, if I return to Whitefish.

Room Tip: The hot tub and gym are on the East side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    52
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
48
62
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are very pleased with our well-equipped suite and helpful staff, BUT the room is sooooooo noisy. The first night young men were on the front porch (directly under our window) smoking cigars and having a very loud conversation, both of which drifted through the window air conditioner as though the window were wide open, until my husband spoke with them. Again two extremely loud groups hung out on the front porch at 12:30 am and again at 3:00 am. Around 6:00 am the staff use a service garage door several times. Maybe the lodge needs to issue ear plugs to guests.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my second stay at the Fabulous Kandahar Lodge. Loved the room, the slope side accommodation (ski in/ski out) and the oversized hot tub. This year and last the staff was so low key, so helpful and accommodating, that My ski buddy and I will come back again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

5 of us stayed for 4 nights at the end of January 2013. The hotel is in a good location, you can ski to the door & has a shuttle van that will take you & pick you up from pretty much anywhere at the resort. Everyone at the hotel was super friendly & helpful - this applies to everywhere we went in Whitefish - & couldn't do enough to help.
The complimentary breakfast was very good, the muffins & cakes were really fresh & delicious - even for breakfast!
The lobby has a roaring log fire to relax in front of after a day on the slopes & there is a small bar.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & were sad to leave

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

No elevators so after a long day of skiing four floors of stairs is not great. The router is at the beginning of the hallway so if you are at the far end you have no Internet access. The showers heads are clogged and barely spray water. The breakfast is ok with bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, apples and bananas. There is a nice communal fireplace but often smokey. Short walk to Homerun run and ski to base camp and lifts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitefishHobo, General Manager at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments, CJ. The hotel has two wings and three floors and the first floor rooms are up one level so if you stay in one of the 16 rooms on the third floor, as you did, and you count the stairs to the loft in your room there are four levels. Kandahar was built before elevators were required and the couple who built the lodge never considered needing an elevator for a ski lodge. We wouldn't mind having one now! We have tried to provide free WIFI throughout the Lodge - it is a work in progress to get to those far corners. Some people are able to get the signal in the corner rooms, obviously some are not. Thanks to your comment on the shower we have changed out the shower head in that room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This lodge was almost perfect for a ski vacation in an out of the way place at fairly low altitude. A large wood burning fireplace in the comfortably furnished lobby along with a small bar with food service made it a very welcoming place to return to after skiing down a narrow path behind the hotel. People at the desk were very helpful. Expanded cont. breakfast offered with the room was very convenient. Our small room was cosy though I could hear lobby music early in the morning. Access to base lifts was by walking across a small parking lot to trail or by short ride on shuttle bus. Excellent, interesting gourmet restaurant on site. Hot tub very comfortable. All in all a very nice place to stay at a friendly mountain to ski.

Room Tip: Rooms with a common wall with lobby will allow piped music to come in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, Usa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were very disappointed with the Kandahar Lodge. Our room was very small, the continental breakfast was below average and the staff ok, but nothing special. They do not offer airport transportation but upon request offer a van (limited hours) to other areas of the Big Mountain resort. We did not eat in their restaurant. The dining and entertainment options on the Mountain are limited. I suggest staying in town and taking the Snow bus up the hill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandahar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.