We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO WATERSLIDE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Big Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Big Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Big Mountain Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6390 Hwy 93 S., Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Whitefish
Kimberley, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NO WATERSLIDE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked this hotel so my son could play on the waterslide....the front desk guy said it hasn't been there in his 5 years of working there. The pool was disgusting with mold and paint peeling up. the breakfast wasn't bad.....but we wanted the waterslide. UP[DATE YOUR WEBSITE...YA CROOKS!!

Room Tip: 20 miles from big mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    26
    15
    8
See reviews for
30
26
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Willow, Alaska
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having never stayed here before we were pleasantly surprised. The price was reasonable and the room was clean and comfortable. The mini frig was nice to have in the room. Being the first time for us in Whitefish the staff was very helpful and friendly with getting us to the restaurants and shops downtown. The motel has both an inside and outside entrance to the room which is nice for bringing in your luggage. Finally, we travel with our dogs and these guys are pet friendly, plus they have a wonderful area to walk the dogs right behind the motel. We would definitely stay here again. Probably the only complaint I could think of was that it was not very visible from the highway, but not ever being in Whitefish before we were still able to find it so it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cut Bank, MT
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First off the room was nice and clean, newly painted and fresh with a mini fridge that makes the visit very convenient. The staff was pleasant and friendly and the breakfast has expanded some. However, the water slide that has been there for 10+ years is gone. When we made the reservation we were told it was running (as were others there that night we were there). Without the waterslide in the pool, the pool is way too small. Without the water slide, we won't stay there again.

Room Tip: you will want a main floor room so that you can have an outside door and parking place right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H, General Manager at Big Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I wanted to thank you personally for filling out the TripAdvisor survey and for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not find everything to your satisfaction. It is my goal to exceed our customer’s expectation and it seems we did not meet yours. I understand that when you booked your reservation we weren't sure when the water slide would be removed, and I apologize that we didn't inform you of that. I hope that the next time your travels bring you to Whitefish you consider staying with us again, and give us a call to see if we've gotten a new slide yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband attended an avalanche conference in Whitefish most of the attendees stayed at the Big Mountain Lodge.
The staff was very friendly check in was no hassle it was done within 5 minutes, our room was on the second floor or should I say our apartment was on the second floor. The living area was huge nice television, couch, huge rocker/recliner, nice desk, two lamps and a nice coffee table. It also had had to AC/Heaters. The bedroom was huge as well plenty of room to walk around, the television in there was nice as well. The bathroom was spacious the counter space was more than enough.
The bed and pillows were very comfortable.
The breakfast was the ususal fare, cereal hot and cold, juices, milk, bagles, bread for toasting, waffles, eggs and sausage, on Sunday biscuts and gravy were added.
The only drawback our room was close to the stairway which meant we could hear the kids in the pool which was downstairs across from where our room was upstairs. Other than that we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nothing fancy. Provides the basic necessities to have a great weekend. The rooms are older and could use a facelift, but we were not looking for fancy. If you need luxury this is not for you, if you plan on spending as much time as possible outdoors in MT this can be your place. Staff very friendly and quite helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

In assessing this hotel, please recognize that we paid a very reasonable price on an internet discount site. This is not a new hotel and looks somewhat tired but staff was helpful and location was good for shopping and golf at the Whitefish Lake Golf and Country Club.

We stayed the nights for the 21 and 22 September 2012. The room we were in was 108, a double bed room with direct access to the parking lot.

To start,our tub was not clean, we requested they clean it and it was done promptly and by a friendly staff member. The window to the parking area did not lock, when we requested a lock on the way out of the hotel, again it was done promptly - we saw the maintenance guy putting it on as we got into our car. Another issue is that the floor was also not clean in the bathroom - and we left a message in the morning letting the maid know that the dirt on the floor was not ours. It was cleaned when we got back from golf. We reported the toilet that kept running on our departure.

The room had a fridge and coffee maker (Mountain Mud espresso) - which my husband used after the weak coffee he couldn't drink in the breakfast area. It was fine.

The room had a console TV, table and chair (though the chair was stained),

Bed was uncomfortable - we couldn't figure out why the first night. The part of us in contact with the bed was always sweaty? Well it turns out that the mattress pad is predominately plastic/rubber and although it feels like fabric, it clearly doesn't breath. Rather uncomfortable. The pillows were to our liking with not too high a loft.

We were told on Saturday that we couldn't park in front of our room because the parking lot would be paved the next morning - Sunday morning at 8 am? Turns out it would be repaved Monday morning. The parking lot seemed to be in reasonable shape. If I were to spend money on the hotel I would give a thorough cleaning and replace the carpet and tub surrounds before I repaved the parking lot.

Breakfast is included with the room - they provide: gravy, cooked circles of egg, sausage, english muffins, yogurt, bananas, toast, hard boiled eggs, juice (apple and orange), luke warm water for the tea and very weak coffee.

Internet was reasonable.

The pool no longer has a slide - the pump didn't work and it was easier to take the whole thing out. Sad for families - my husband has taken the kids to this place specifically for the slide and pool.

We would stay again, because the price is good, but the hotel definitely needs some tender loving care.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here one night after a long day at Glacier. The hotel is a 3 star at best. Clean, big rooms, although we were annoyed that we booked a "one bedroom suite" with 2 queen beds and a pull out couch and it was only one big room without any type of divider. The couch was right in front of the TV too so it made it hard for the kids to sleep and watch TV at the same time. (We asked about the 1-bedroom suite and the front desk said that was only for the king bed and sofa sleeper so I guess their website is a bit misleading?). The pool has a waterslide but it dumps into 5 feet of water so unless your kid can swim or you have a very tall adult to catch them, it it unusable for littler kids. The pool is also 3.5 feet deep at the shallowest end. The hot tub is actually outside so we didn't use that since it was pretty chilly in the morning. Breakfast was the run-of-the-mill continental breakfast w/ some hot items available. Decent hotel but I would probably find a place with a more kid-friendly pool when we return next summer.

Room Tip: The "Queen Family Rooms" are actually one big room, not a "one bedroom suite" as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mountain Lodge

Address: 6390 Hwy 93 S., Whitefish, MT 59937
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Mountain Express Whitefish Hotel is a 100% non-smoking hotel. Whitefish, Montana is the perfect vacation destination for your visit to Glacier National Park or Big Mountain Ski Resort. For the family, we have our indoor pool with a 90 ft. water slide, two outdoor hot tubs, and a variety of restaurants within walking distance. To make sure that the whole family is complete, don t forget a loved one; be sure to bring the family pet along as we are a pet friendly hotel. Free high-speed internet access in all guest rooms (DSL and wireless internet access). Also, a business computer in the lobby with access to printers, copier, and fax. Generous breakfast bar with, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurt and lots more!**Water Slide will be removed as of September 15, 2012*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Big Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Holiday Inn Whitefish
Whitefish Holiday Inn Express
Big Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.