We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful Experience!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6510 Highway 93 South, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Whitefish
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Aweful Experience!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

After planning ski weekends to Whitefish for our small ski club for almost ten consecutive years, I have never been so disappointed in my lodging. The management of this hotel is unbelievable and way out of line. The very unprofessional and unfriendly Security guards were roaming the halls and knocking on doors at 2am because tv's were on or people were talking quietly in their rooms. On the second night, the security guards & management threatened to evict us because we were simply talking in our rooms at 2am. They said we "had to go to sleep or they were charging our cards for another night and forcing us to leave". The response was totally overblown and unneccessary. In addition, the staff repeatedly went into our rooms while we were out skiing despite the "do not disturb" sign on the door.

This hotel is not for anyone who stays awake after 10pm or wants a friendly, respectful experience while visiting whitefish. I will never be staying at the Best Western in Whitefish again and highly advise anyone else visiting Whitefish for a fun weekend away to avoid it as well. Whitefish is a great town, so sad this hotel isn't in line with the rest of the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in this hotel are not worth staying at. Avoid them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishreddog, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Pete K,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the our hotel on February 1 & 2. I'm disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay. It is our goal to see that all of our guests have a great experience with us. Unfortunately, because of complaints by other guests of excessive noise coming from your room security was asked to go to your room and warn you 3 times to lower the noise. The last time was at 2:40 am. I apologize if you feel that we were out of line in attempting to assure that all of our guests were able to enjoy a quiet night's sleep so that they would feel rested to get up early, go to the slopes and have an enjoyable day of skiing.
We want everyone to have a fun weekend in Whitefish, and I believe that all of our guests expect that management of the hotel is responsible to take steps to provide them with a good, quiet night's sleep without interruption from other guests.
Thanks again for your comments.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    112
    38
    11
    11
See reviews for
72
130
22
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our room was ready when we arrived and check in was quick and easy. Room keys were already in an envelope for us with our name on it. Our room was spacious and well laid out. We had trouble sleeping because of noisy guests close to our room for the first couple of nights but that is not the fault of the hotel. Our room was cleaned and made up every day. Complementary breakfast has diminished somewhat over the last 4 years but is still adequate. There is lots of available parking which is nice because we were pulling a snowmobile trailer. Front desk staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishreddog, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please let me know of any ideas you may have to improve our breakfast. Some of our best positive changes have come from suggestions by our guests!

Dennis Drumheller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lovely little town near Glacier Park. A 30 minute drive to Glacier every day, but who's counting in this scenery!

Our room was clean and well appointed. Ask for the room next to the laundry. You won't hear a sound from there but it's very convenient to have it right there so that you don't mind leaving it for a bit. Laundry room was very clean too. Lobby was a bit more grand than you would usually see in a Best Western. Fireplace made for cozy reading. Desk staff was friendly. Breakfast was nice. All in all a good hotel experience.

Room Tip: Get a room next to the laundry room. You won't hear a sound but will appreciate the convenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The front desk staff was very friendly and attentive. I had to call down twice and they were very speedy in responding. The breakfast was just OK. It is a deluxe continental....so, it is a bit on the sad side. It covers all the bases though. I was just disappointed in the choices and quality of the food. The person in charge of the food prep was also cleaning the bathroom and stairs...that was a bit off putting. The last thing you want to see is your food prep person scrubbing the bathroom. We stayed in a suite. It was a spacious room. It did not, however, have a separate room for the bed. The room and hotel were very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were going through Whitefish on our way home from Glacier National Park and need a place to stay. Found this Best Western on the main drag in town and got a room. The lodge (it was super nice) was obviously designed for winter and skiers/boarders so I could imagine it would be a great place in the winter too. The rates were a great deal and the staff was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for a week while I was in State of Montana for work purpose at the end of September 2012.
The room cost a bit more than what it should be, but did not worry me since it was paid for.

Pro:
1. Very clean room / bathrooms.
2. Staff were very helpful and kind.
3. Close to shops / restaurant / coffee (5 mins of slow stroll).
4. Most people will drive if you travel to Montana. But if you decide to walk, it talks 20 mins to town centre, which has gift shops / more coffee and cafes.
5. Free shuttle service to Kalispell International Airport with small tip to the driver of course.

Cons:
1. Breakfast was disappointing. No offence to the kitchen staff because they were very kind, but it was very basic.
2. Nothing particularly bad about this place.

Overall, it was very pleasant stay. Particularly all the staff were helpful and available to very early morning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a very attractive Best Western with a large open lobby with a fireplace and couches if you want to get out of your room and relax. The front desk staff was very friendly and made a fuss over our 2 dogs. The breakfast offering was one of the best I have experienced: spacious room with lots of tables, real plates and tableware, nice selection of fresh fruit. The room was large and very clean. All this at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge

Address: 6510 Highway 93 South, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this comfortable and convenient hotel in Whitefish near many of northern Montana's great outdoor attractions.For travelers looking for quality hotel lodging accommodations near Whitefish Mountain (formerly Big Mountain) Ski and Summer Resort, Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, and Glacier International Airport, the BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge offers the ideal lodging location and experience. Guests can enjoy mountain views and the hotel's pleasant and relaxing mountain lodge atmosphere. Located in beautiful Whitefish in Montana's Flathead Valley the BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge also gives guests convenient access to outdoor sports and activities year-round, including: skiing, golfing, fishing, hiking, boating, whitewater rafting, kayaking, hunting and biking.The BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge offers guestrooms with king or queen size beds. Suites, featuring a fire place, hot tub, and wet bar, are also available. This pet-friendly hotel has specially designated rooms available for guests who wish to travel with their dogs and/or cats. All rooms come fully equipped with cable satellite television and high speed Internet access. A deluxe, complimentary continental breakfast is served daily. Additional hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center, and a business center.Meeting rooms, banquet space, and conference services make this Montana retreat the perfect location for business activities and other small group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rocky Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Best Western Whitefish
Whitefish Best Western
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.