We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitefish Depot

Whitefish Depot
500 Depot Street, Whitefish, MT 59937
406-862-0067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Attractions in Whitefish
Type: Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very very small museum area. But really interesting stuff inside. And the attendant that was on staff when we visited was incredibly friendly and had some of her own stories to share. I was really glad we stopped in.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wrong Time to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The location and grounds are very pretty. The park across the street, beautiful. However, the station itself was not open during the time we visited, which was early afternoon. Opens at 5pm - 7am .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“an old -fashioned museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

By modern standards the Whitefish Depot Museum is a bit of a jumble . I think everything the cutators have been given that refers to the community's past is on display ! However it is testimony to a community that wanted to preserve its past for posterity and the building in which it is has been restored with loving care by voluntary effort , Much of the contents refer to the town's railway past : it's an important station on the route of the Amtrak Empire Builder that travels between Chicogo and Seattle . However there is much to remind the visitor of Whitefish formerly Stumpstown , which began its existence as a logging centre . The volunteer guide was on hand to answer questions and fill in the gaps . We are glad we took the advice of the Art Gallery owner / tourist adviser who suggested we visit .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“A small station building with so much history and character! A must-see even if you're not a railway fan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Find a reason to visit The Great Northern Railway Whitefish Depot/ Amtrak station even if you're not a rail fanatic or traveling via train. The Depot is historic and filled with character inside and out.

Apparently, Whitefish Depot is the busiest Amtrak stop between Seattle and Minneapolis!
It houses the Whitefish Museum which is small but contains a treasure-trove of information on the town.

Inside the station you will find the oldest Hertz car rental licensee in the country run by the Duff family for more than 60 years! Who knew!

You’ll find visitors admiring and standing on the large old-fashioned floor scale that still works.
And if you go out the front doors and walk along the platform, the view of the station building itself is lovely from that perspective. Built in the 1920’s, the timber building resembles a traditional Swiss Chalet. Best photos are taken in the morning!
There are public washrooms inside which are clean and well-kept.

To end your visit, there's a little green park right next door to the Station building with a large Mountain goat sculpture enclosure - nice for grabbing a bite while soaking up the sun, especially in the colder months while awaiting your train and that perfect morning photo!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitefish Depot also viewed

 

Been to Whitefish Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitefish Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.