We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to ride horses in MT.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar W Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitefish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar W Guest Ranch
Save
You added Bar W Guest Ranch to your Saves list
2875 Highway 93 West, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Munising
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to ride horses in MT.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The very best people and place to go horse back riding in Montana. Took my grandsons to the BarW horseback riding and they treated us like family. We had a great time and my grandsons loved it. Everyone was so nice and friendly. Thank you, G. Leanes

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
24
35
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was a little hesitant when we initially decided on a one-week vacation at BarW based on the fact that I was only an “occasional trail rider” (every 10 years or so) but wanted to see this part of the country.

The wranglers provided the instruction and coaching to have me riding with confidence in a couple of days and looking forward to the all-day ride on the Canadian border (not to be missed) by Day 4 of our stay.

The food comes in a close second, as they have two full-time chefs’ that had me showing up early to the kitchen to see what they would be serving for the upcoming meal.

I was most impressed with the staff, who went all-out to accommodate every request to make our stay a memory we won’t soon forget. We came home with hundreds of photos, several new friends and a plan to spend more time in this part of the country.

I highly recommend that Bar W Ranch if you are considering a vacation near Glacier National Park/Whitefish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was our second time returning to The Bar W guest ranch. Once again, it did not disappoint. We were uncertain if we had built our first experience up in our minds, but the second time around was even better than the first! The outings are outstanding; the staff friendly and fun; the scenery breathtaking. Everyone goes out of their way to make your stay memorable and entertaining. It is also nice to meet others from around the country and around the world; to hear their experiences and share in the joy they are also having during their stay at the Bar W. We have stayed in contact with some of our fellow ranchmates - there is definitely a shared bond after our ranch experience. Don't miss out on this trip - you'll want to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Bar W experience has been one of the most memorable vacations our family has taken. Our original attraction to the Bar W was demographics (close to Glacier National Park, airports, and community activities since we were traveling over July 4th holiday). This Dude Ranch experience exceeded our expectations, so it was no surprise to us when we met returning guests during our stay.

We stayed in the Bear Den cabin and were impressed with the cleanliness of the cabins, lodge, and the grounds. The meals are family style, the food is exceptional and the culinary team is beyond accommodating (needless to say they only had to ring the dinner bell once). The wranglers and staff join the guests at mealtime and gave us the opportunity to meet and interact with everyone during our stay. My only suggestion is to share those amazing recipies in a Bar W Cookbook!

We had no trouble sleeping in comfortable beds after our day was filled with trail rides, roping, wagon rides, skeet shooting, rodeo competition, fishing, square dancing, and dinners in the meadow. The memorable trail rides would not have been possible without the experienced (and accommodating) ranch wranglers (Thank you to Andrew Weaver – GM, Scott Hoover – Head Wrangler, Dave, Lindsey, Allen, Griff, Katie, & Joe). Don’t miss the day ride along the Canadian border, the ride was available on two separate days and I regret not going both days. Last but not least, a salute to our trail ride companions ~ Hawkeye, Piuot, and Wimpy.

There are outside packages that include white water rafting and rock climbing and the staff is helpful in providing transportation to Whitefish if you want to shop. We were content and cozy during our visit to the ranch and chose wisely in scheduling sightseeing in surrounding area prior to our arrival (we had no desire to leave the Bar W once we arrived). There is truly something for everyone, including peace and quiet – the hammock is ready if you need to relax and decompress. Miss Julia, the Youth Activity Director was on sight and kept the little wranglers busy with age appropriate trail rides, swimming, arts, crafts, and games.

If you desire fresh air, watching the white tail deer walk outside your door, starry nights, early bedtimes, good food, western comradery and a unique family experience you won’t forget – look no further!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband & I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary by starting our 2 week adventure here. We were pleasantly welcomed by the knowledgable staff & also the owner, Jan, who excitedly showed us our 'tent' we would be lodging in. This tent is extraordinary in its rich decor of natural woods & comfortable linens on a 4 posted log bed, complete with a mattress & box spring. Hence, we were 'glamping'! Oh, did I mention the heated mattress pad for the 40degree night? That, a space heater and an evening glass of wine on the wooden porch attached to this tent, made for a cozy night under the stars. And no worry about having a hot shower after a full day of horseback riding in the most beautiful countryside, because we were appointed our own bathroom right next to this 'tent'. We did mingle with others at the guest ranch, where Dave made us feel right at home at the dinner table. It was great to meet others on this experience & share in this beautifully appointed & well managed guest ranch. There are so many people to thank for such a great glamping visit; Carrie for her description for this experience; Dave & Jan for their hospitality; the gentleman who called the square dance steps & encouraged us to be good dancers; Lindsey, the wrangler along with Jason, showed us a beautiful Montana landscape while riding on horseback all day; Scott & his team for showing us safety tips on the ranch & enriching our vacation by their friendliness & inclusiveness; Andrew for his smile & exceptional branding skills; Chef & all of his kitchen helpers for their delicious meals & hard work; & the guests we met for sharing this incredible space.....Susan & John, The Weisler family, Debra, Christine, & all the children who made playing in the horsefield look so enticing.
Lynn & John Casale

Room Tip: Glamping is such a unique experience and very comfortable if you really want to be part of the adven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I couldn't begin to say enough about our family experience at the Bar W Guest Ranch. It was so far above and beyond any Disney style or resort based vacation we our family of 7 has ever before experienced. The daily rides, the optional programs for young children, the fantastic ranch house meals and western styled accomadations were wonderful. BUT MORE THAN THAT.. the staff responding to our family members with a bit of on the fly customization for riding levels and desires made for some very special memories. The relationship that the Bar W has with other local services made river rafting, rock climbing and sight seeing seem like a seemless part of the experience. Square dancing, the cook out, the egg toss, and the Bar W rodeo that the guests were able to participate in were very special memories for us. It's been 3 weeks now since our visit and our whole family still is talking about it... with all of us wanting another week...and at least one (Little Ashlyn still daily requesting that we move to the ranch permantly) Thank you Bar W... we now proudly wear your Brand on heals..and our hearts.
The Weislers

Room Tip: Our large family required us to choose the Eagles Nest cabin which is away from the main lodge. Sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faifax, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Location was amazing, staff was very accommodating, personable, & bent over backwards to make sure we were happy. I am a vegetarian, & Terry the cook made me special meals. Andrew the General Manager couldn't have been more knowledgeable, and was always ready to help. Scott the head Wrangler let us take several special rides when we asked. Joe was the epitome of professionalism. And Carrie always responded quickly to my multiple questions prior to our stay. Our cabin was right next to pasture & opened to a gorgeous view. The horses were well trained-my sister is looking to buy one of them. The fruit served at every meal was very fresh, and the huckleberry vinaigrette was delicious. Don't consider staying anywhere else. A great family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar W Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar W Guest Ranch

Address: 2875 Highway 93 West, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our meadow cabin was designed by the Amish here in Montana. The cabin with two suites, over looks the South pasture and surrounding forest full of wildlife, our outdoor arena with lots of activities and our herd of horses. These are beautiful suits that together could sleep up to 16 utilizing the common areas! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar w Guest Ranch Hotel Whitefish
Bar W Guest Ranch Whitefish, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar W Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.