We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge at Whitefish Lake to your Saves list
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1380 Wisconsin Avenue, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Whitefish
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge at Whitefish Lake for 4 nights this past July and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Viking Lodge that seemed brand new - in fact they were still working on the indoor pool (sadly we didn't get to use it) and it smelled a little like fresh paint. Our room was huge, the beds were super comfortable, and the layout of the room and bathroom was unlike any hotel I have ever stayed at. My only complaint is that the bathroom floors were really cold - it would have been awesome if the floors were heated! Oh, and don't park in the garage...it was really creepy.

We look forward to staying here again! This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Glacier National Park!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    122
    35
    22
    11
See reviews for
125
227
13
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here one night before a group trip. It was a great location and very beautiful. We had a lakeview room which was fabulous. They advertise complimentary rides to/from the airport. We contacted them two weeks in advance for our flights. they were on time picking us up at the airport. The next day we were scheduled to go back to the airport to meet our tour group. We were told to meet in the lobby at 1 pm for our ride to the airport. they were very disorganized for this trip back to the airport - they couldn't decide who from the hotel should drive the van; what van to take; how many needed a ride, etc. We ended up late meeting our group. Also, they guarantee rooms will be ready by 4 pm - promising to text us when the room was ready. 4 pm came and went - no text, no room. Had to ask at the front desk. Also, holding luggage seems to be an issue - not enough staff to even get your luggage (we stood in the lobby for 45 minutes before the "found" someone to help us. Would not consider this 5-star service especially for the price we paid (in advance).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize for the confusion surrounding your shuttle to the airport and for the tardiness caused by our staff. I have reviewed your comment with our Resort Manager whom is working to ensure these issues do not arise for future guests. Thank you again for your comments as we utilize our guest feedback to improve upon future guests experiences. We hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a standard king suite in the lodge on 3rd floor. It overlooked the entrance and forest. No lake views available. Bed was great and service superb. Food at hotel excellent. We will return! Waiter in dining ro very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words Carol; we can't wait to have you back as our guest again for more Montana fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at the Lodge. We enjoyed the view from the deck and had wonderful service and the food was EXCELLENT!! We rented a boat the following day and took it out on the lake. The kids had a wonderful time swimming and enjoying the water.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Montana vacation and hope the amenities of the Lodge made it a relaxing experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed four nights in a Viking Queen Suite on the land side of the resort - across the sky bridge from the main lodge. We had a large, beautiful , and well appointed room with a gorgeous view of the forest. My sons loved the pool and the pool-side service was outstanding. Extremely friendly and prompt staff. We also rented a jet ski and ski boat and had a blast on the lake. Highly recommend the Lodge at Whitefish Lake. Comfortable place that isn't outrageously expensive. Also, close to Glacier National Park and the town of Whitefish. Stayed late Juuly 2014. However, do not expect a Ritz stay. TLWL isn't in that family of resorts.

Room Tip: If you're staying on the Viking side of the resort, be sure to ask for a room that faces the for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Unimpressed with this hotel. The lakeside setting is lovely, and the access to Glacier National Park is wonderful, but the hotel could use some improvement. Poor service in the restaurant, confusing check-in process, and only okay accommodations. The location is the only reason to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
I am glad to hear you appreciated the location of the Lodge directly on Whitefish Lake while I am sorry to hear you did not appreciate the Lodge's accommodations or some of the services. I would love to speak with you so as to better understand your comments and be able to follow up on them with our staff. Please phone me directly at 406-863-4047 to discuss your experience in more detail.

Thank you,
Monteen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We loved the Lodge at Whitefish lake. The rooms were lovely and spacious (we stayed in a studio partial lakeview) and it was more than ample. A huge kitchen with a microwave and bar fridge but not a single bowl, plate or cutlery??? Just a few basics which would have made it perfect. We went down to the restaurant and they happily supplied them, but I would have expected them in the room already. A toaster would have been great also. The room we had was also on the side of the building above the exhaust fan, which made it very noisy. So much so that the door rattled at night. When we explained this to the front desk, they happily moved us. We ate at the Boat Club 3 of our 7 nights. Great food, great drinks, and a great atmosphere with live music and fire. The staff in this hotel were excellent. Every single one of them friendly, helpful and welcoming. The setting on the lakefront was spectacular. Deer strolling on the lake etc. Even the train whistle off in the distance on the far side of the lake added to the charm. We loved the Lodge at Whitefish so much we have rebooked for another week in January 2015 and this time we're bringing our 2 grown sons and their girlfriends we were so impressed.

Room Tip: Choose a lakefront room. They're worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am glad to hear that the lack of dishes and noise you experienced were dealt with promptly and to your satisfaction. We can't wait to have you and your family as our guests this next January for another peaceful Montana winter vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Address: 1380 Wisconsin Avenue, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Whitefish Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.