We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and area, easy access to Glacier Park.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge at Whitefish Lake to your Saves list
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1380 Wisconsin Avenue, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Whitefish
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel and area, easy access to Glacier Park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a standard king suite in the lodge on 3rd floor. It overlooked the entrance and forest. No lake views available. Bed was great and service superb. Food at hotel excellent. We will return! Waiter in dining ro very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words Carol; we can't wait to have you back as our guest again for more Montana fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    124
    35
    22
    11
See reviews for
126
228
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leavenworth, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at the Lodge. We enjoyed the view from the deck and had wonderful service and the food was EXCELLENT!! We rented a boat the following day and took it out on the lake. The kids had a wonderful time swimming and enjoying the water.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Montana vacation and hope the amenities of the Lodge made it a relaxing experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed four nights in a Viking Queen Suite on the land side of the resort - across the sky bridge from the main lodge. We had a large, beautiful , and well appointed room with a gorgeous view of the forest. My sons loved the pool and the pool-side service was outstanding. Extremely friendly and prompt staff. We also rented a jet ski and ski boat and had a blast on the lake. Highly recommend the Lodge at Whitefish Lake. Comfortable place that isn't outrageously expensive. Also, close to Glacier National Park and the town of Whitefish. Stayed late Juuly 2014. However, do not expect a Ritz stay. TLWL isn't in that family of resorts.

Room Tip: If you're staying on the Viking side of the resort, be sure to ask for a room that faces the for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Unimpressed with this hotel. The lakeside setting is lovely, and the access to Glacier National Park is wonderful, but the hotel could use some improvement. Poor service in the restaurant, confusing check-in process, and only okay accommodations. The location is the only reason to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
I am glad to hear you appreciated the location of the Lodge directly on Whitefish Lake while I am sorry to hear you did not appreciate the Lodge's accommodations or some of the services. I would love to speak with you so as to better understand your comments and be able to follow up on them with our staff. Please phone me directly at 406-863-4047 to discuss your experience in more detail.

Thank you,
Monteen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We loved the Lodge at Whitefish lake. The rooms were lovely and spacious (we stayed in a studio partial lakeview) and it was more than ample. A huge kitchen with a microwave and bar fridge but not a single bowl, plate or cutlery??? Just a few basics which would have made it perfect. We went down to the restaurant and they happily supplied them, but I would have expected them in the room already. A toaster would have been great also. The room we had was also on the side of the building above the exhaust fan, which made it very noisy. So much so that the door rattled at night. When we explained this to the front desk, they happily moved us. We ate at the Boat Club 3 of our 7 nights. Great food, great drinks, and a great atmosphere with live music and fire. The staff in this hotel were excellent. Every single one of them friendly, helpful and welcoming. The setting on the lakefront was spectacular. Deer strolling on the lake etc. Even the train whistle off in the distance on the far side of the lake added to the charm. We loved the Lodge at Whitefish so much we have rebooked for another week in January 2015 and this time we're bringing our 2 grown sons and their girlfriends we were so impressed.

Room Tip: Choose a lakefront room. They're worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am glad to hear that the lack of dishes and noise you experienced were dealt with promptly and to your satisfaction. We can't wait to have you and your family as our guests this next January for another peaceful Montana winter vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently spent 4 nights at the Lodge at Whitefish Lake. Beautiful resort right on the lake. The rooms were really nice - comfortable bed, kitchenette, huge bathroom with walk-in shower and separate soaker tub, beautiful fireplace, nice deck with view of the lake. The 2 restaurants both face the water and the food is good. The front desk staff is very friendly, as is the concierge, and the valets were really nice and remembered our cars every time.

However, the food service staff needed additional training. Room service orders were really late, food was forgotten, silverware wasn't included, things like that. We were there right in mid-June and I have a feeling it was their new summer staff who hadn't all be trained properly.

I have no experience with the spa, fitness center, or marina services. But, the pool and hot tub were really nice - also right on the water.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Lodge at Whitefish Lake! We have followed up on the room service issue during your stay and appreciate your comment as it helps us in providing a better experience for our guests. We hope to have you as our guest again for another lakeside vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 days at the Lodge at Whitefish Lake to begin our 2 week vacation in Montana. To visit Glacier and Waterton National Parks we chose to stay in three different locations in and around the parks for different perspectives of NW Montana/Canada. Our first week in Whitefish was undoubtedly the best part of our vacation largely due to the hospitality we found from the staff at The Lodge at Whitefish Lake. We had a phenomenal time; our room, dining experience, service, location and amenities were, in our opinion, all top notch. We checked in on Tuesday July 8 and checked out on a Saturday July 12.

Hotel Location: The Lodge is located about 15-20 mins from Kalispell Airport which made it ideal to get to after a long day of travel. The distance to Whitefish Center was within a couple miles of the Lodge and while I suppose you could walk, we drove or took their shuttle into town for dinner, drinking and/or shopping. I loved that the sun didn't set until quite late so if we were driving....we knew where we were going till we felt comfortable with the area. The hotel is conveniently located about 30 minutes from the West Entrance to GNP. It was also easy to get to everything else we needed to during our stay in the West Glacier area, including Whitefish Mountain(barely a mile down the road) and Whitefish Golf Course (a few miles away). One of our sightseeing days from the Whitefish area took us to Browning, passed East Glacier(via route f2) and it took us about 1.5-2 hours to do so. So there is a lot of driving if your not careful in your planning. The Lodge is also very close to a Safeway, which is where we went for a disposable cooler, ice, and snacks on days were were going to be out and about for the entire day.

Room: We had a Standard King Studio Suite on the third floor of the main building, booked through our travel agent in March. Our room had a small comfortable balcony that, while overlooking the parking area in the front of the building above valet/registration, was rarely noisy and provided us sufficient outdoor views. We tried to upgrade our room to a lakefront view upon checkin, but there were no rooms to be had. While room tips mention splurging for a lakefront room, one runs the chance of the area being noisy and at an additional cost. We spent enough time in the restaurant, lounge and outdoor areas that paying 50-100 dollars more for a "view" (327 vs 400+) did not seem worth it in our opinion. The room and views were lovely where we were. Our room was very spacious; comfortable king size bed and pillows, sitting area with fireplace, wet bar area with refrigerator and microwave, extremely large bathroom with a sunken tub, double sinks and a walk-in shower with great water pressure and full amenities. If I were to make any comments on the room itself it would be to mention that the air conditioning was not strong and took a good deal of time to get somewhat cool. We also found that one of the vents was closed so we opened it and while it got a bit cooler, I would not say that the ac worked wonderfully. Also, free access to wifi is great, however we had issues in our room, so much so that IT came up to check it out and apologized but said that in some rooms, wifi had not been working all that well, despite having a company in a couple weeks prior to work on the wireless connections. Ours was just one of those rooms. However, I simply went outside my door and sat on a nearby couch or chair and had wifi connection without incident. Inconvenient...not really. There was also a business area with computers and wireless access on our floor to use at will if needed.

Dining:
Coffee Kiosk: My husband got coffee at this little shop in the main lobby early in the mornings and while the coffee was adequate, it was definitely not as nice as the coffee served for breakfast in the dining room. While only slightly disappointing, maybe its something to look into for improvement.

Dining Room-Breakfast: We ate breakfast in the dining room on several occasions; price was reasonable for hotel prices and the quality was very good. I highly recommend an egg white omelet and the banana french toast. Both very yummy and substantial.

Dining Room-Dinner: We ate dinner one night in the restaurant and made a reservation(though it did not appear busy or needed, but was encouraged). Food was very good. No need to dress up.....very comfortable setting with a great view. In all honesty, my husband and I have simple tastes in food, so it doesn't take too much to impress us. The menu had fine dining dishes and while I'd have liked a few other choices on the menu, I found the Waygu meatloaf to be extremely tasty along with a creamy side of mashed potatoes. My husband had the salmon and was pleased. Service in the dining room was friendly and professional and attention to detail was seen. Prices were within reason and we would have eaten there again had we had the opportunity.

Tiki Bar-Grille: The Tiki bartenders made a great margarita and the choices of local beers on tap were satisfactory. Going to the Sun IPA and others were great for local flavor. We had lunch outside as well and while the menu is limited; the burger and chicken sandwiches and fries hit the spot on a hot sunny day on the lake. A great vibe!

Services
Front Desk- Friendly. More than adequate. Somewhat inconsistent with knowledge and suggestions for the local area but I just went to the concierge for local information. Good, just not outstanding....and for our needs, we did not require anything more than to check in and check out and make a few shuttle requests.

Concierge- Shining Stars of the property!! Kudos go to Mandi, Samantha and most of all Amanda. From beginning to end all of these ladies were consummate professionals. I reached out to Amanda via email a month or so prior to our arrival to get an idea of what should be planned before our visit and what could be left to chance. She was spot on with her suggestions and we felt like we did not miss out on anything during our visit. She organized our sunset cruise(more on that later), recommended and booked our Blackfeet Reservation Jeep Tour with Blackfeet Outfitters, put us in touch with the Marina to book our boat rental(more later), made our dinner reservations at the Lodge, Tupelo Grille, and Whitefish Golf Course and provided us with maps and directions to the West Entrance to Glacier National Park and around Whitefish in general. All three women were engaging and interested in our stay and were always helpful whenever we stopped by. What was most impressive is that they were honest!!!! If they didn't think we should spend our time in a particular place after getting to know what we wanted for our days of sightseeing, they would tell us. We were appreciative of this since we did not want to spend our time needlessly. I cannot say enough about these three ladies. I would not hesitate to return because of the service provided by this concierge staff.

Valet- All of these gentleman were funny, helpful, interested and absolutely adorable!!! Valet is complimentary but you are free to self park. We self parked at times but mostly we valeted our SUV and every day we were asked about our plans, where we had lunch, where we were going for dinner, if we were enjoying ourselves and did we need directions. Everything was always "so easy to get to" according to the guys. They also had their own suggestions on what to order at area restaurants. They were ALWAYS right on target!! Their interest was genuine. In other places we have stayed that have had shuttles, we have never really utilized them, but here it was so easy, that we used the shuttle almost every night to get into town and it was a treat not having to drive after long days of hiking and driving. They have a brand new suburban and a large passenger van. Each time we took the shuttle, we were in the suburban and we were the only ones being dropped off or picked up. The driver was always pleasant and wasn't put out in the least. It was wonderful!!! It is definitely something to take advantage of if you want to go into town. I wish I remembered the young man's name, but on one occasion, one of the valet offered to empty out our cooler of melted ice from our day and take it apart to dry before he parked our car. I thought that he went above and beyond with a smile. Their service went a long way in making a good impression and I felt welcomed at every turn. Each day we would give them our extra cold waters as the days were quite hot and they seemed to be on their toes all the time!!

Housekeeping- There were a couple of days that we were out of our rooms very early and returned around 4pm and our room was just being serviced. Im not sure if its customary to leave certain things in their place in a guests hotel room, so i will give the benefit of the doubt here. But I am ok, if housekeeping staff, empties what looks like a glass of water, throws out empty plastic cups and replenishes, empties melted ice in the ice bucket from the night before and generally tidies up. These things were not done in our room and I wondered if it was policy. Never followed up because it wasnt a huge issue, but except for replenishing shampoo, towels, and making the bed, other details werent tended to. I think perhaps that our person was not sure of what to leave and what to throw away...so I'll leave it at that. The young lady who serviced our room was pleasant, smiled but little verbal interaction.

Pool- The pool area was lovely and well kept. Sadly, we swam only once because of our busy schedule and were disappointed we couldn't have spent more time relaxing. I did not have a chance to enjoy the hot tub much either but both were just wonderful areas to spend some time. Pool hours were generous and towels and chairs were plentiful when we wanted them. Drink delivery was quick and efficient. It was getting very hot the week we were there; high 90s and I could see that the area could get very busy on weekend days but during the week we were there, there was plenty of room for everyone. I saw no evidence of "locals" as suggested in a prior post so perhaps the issue has been dealt with.

Marina- All of the staff at the Marina including Heath were very helpful and very accommodating. Prior to our arrival I had scheduled a sunset cruise on the Lady of the Lake, their 31 ft wooden cruise boat, manned by "Captain Skip". We decided that seeing the lake at 9 o'clock at night viewing multiple sunsets while a captain manned the boat would be romantic and a lovely way to spend an evening. It was definitely pricey and in retrospect, perhaps sitting on the dock watching the sunset over the lake would have been good enough, since we were renting a boat the next day for a few hours on our own. Ultimately, it was a memory and a wonderful experience. Captain Skip was a lovely retired gentleman who had many stories throughout our one hour spin around the lake with a bottle of champagne. We also scheduled to rent a power/ski boat on another day for a few hours (with no prior boating experience) to explore the lake by ourselves. Heath communicated with me on several occasions so that we booked the most appropriate boat for my husband and I and at a time that fit our schedule. We thought that our boat rental for a couple hours was reasonably priced (85/hr + fuel) and it did not require anything more than a quick tutorial on how to drive the boat and we were off. We had a blast and our day on the boat ranked right up there as one of our best vacation days!!! Boat rental....a must!!!!

Spa- Viking Lodge
I did not experience the spa nor see the Viking Lodge Building across the street, but both were well attended during our stay.

Area Restaurants and Attractions- Loved Whitefish Mountain; Alpine Slide and Gondola Ride to the top of Big Mtn. Whitefish Golf Course; 2-18 hole public courses well manicured. Farmers Market on Tuesday evenings in the center of Whitefish; get your fill of local music, huckleberry pie and jam, crafts, and a crepe from the Crepe Truck. Northern Brewing Co for local beers- gotta try "Going to the Sun IPA. Tupelo Grille-Shrimp and Grits, Fried Green Tomatoes, Bread Pudding with Brandied Whipped Cream Outstanding. Whitefish Golf Course Restaurant- Ribs and Truffled Mac and Cheese Outstanding. Safeway Grocery Store-money saver for water, snacks, beer/wine and a great sandwich bar for a day of sightseeing. Huckleberry Patch to get all things Huckleberry ...and they have the best darn fudge I've ever tasted!! UPS store-Columbia Falls and Whitefish locations to ship souvenirs home that wont fit in your suitcase!!!

If I could make only one suggestion that bothered me, it is this. The boutique in the main lobby seemed ill placed and not a store everyone would find useful. We wanted a few souvenirs of the hotel/area and really had to hunt for a mug, tshirt, hat. The boutique had none of that. The spa is an odd place to stock souveneirs and made us feel like we were intruding into the spa area(although the spa ladies were simply delightful) in the small space the items were located. Buying a stuffed bear from behind the front desk seemed a bit out of place as well. I would have liked to have seen a shop with a different variety of items. Though saying that, perhaps it is a very profitable shop and fills a need. I can usually find something ANYWHERE to purchase. I was hard pressed in that shop, if truth be told. A deal breaker....not a chance. Its the only thing I can find fault with and it is purely a preference issue. A marvelous time, so much so, that this is such a detailed review to give credit where credit is due and suggestions to make the place even better.

All in all, we could not have been happier with our choice for our first hotel on our two week adventure to NW Montana. We did not want to leave Whitefish and travel on to Waterton and East Glacier to our other two hotels if that is any indication. Whitefish was by FAR our most favorite place to stay while away. Clean, inviting and money well spent. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of, not only the Lodge, but Whitefish and Glacier National Park as well. From the sounds of it, you had the complete NW Montana experience that we hope all of our guests will have! We have shared your review with all of our departments and want to give special thanks from our concierge and valet staff. We can't wait to have you as our guests again - perhaps for a more R&R centered trip including more pool and spa time!

Happy Travels from the Lodge Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Address: 1380 Wisconsin Avenue, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Whitefish Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.