We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stop in Whitefish during Empire Builder Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge at Whitefish Lake to your Saves list
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1380 Wisconsin Avenue, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Golf Packages Available!
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Short stop in Whitefish during Empire Builder Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My family stopped for an overnight stay in Whitefish during our Amtrak Empire Builder trip this summer. We rented a car at the Amtrak station and spent the day hiking at Glacier National park. We then drove back to Whitefish and spent the evening at the lodge. What a fantastic way to end the day. The Lodge is located on the banks of Whitefish lake. Our lodge room was huge, clean, and well decorated. I watched the kids to swim at the pool, while doing a load of laundry at the guest laundry (short walk from the pool), and then we ordered a fantastic dinner (smoked trout pizza, ribs, pita and hummus, and a refreshing garden salad) and ate it on the deck overlooking the pool, marina, and the lake. I wish we had booked another night in Whitefish,but no worries. Because Whitefish is also a ski resort, we'll need to return for spring break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    132
    37
    24
    11
See reviews for
134
249
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This has a nice mix of a traditional lodge feel yet feels fresh and modern. The only reason I have 4 stars and not 5 is that our room was in the "Viking lodge" side, which is across the street from the main hotel and feels very disconnected. I wouldn't feel comfortable walking up and down flights of stairs and across the sky bridge in a towel coming from the pool. We felt like we were missing out on the "lodge experience.". I also thought it was a little expensive. We paid $50 in the bar for 2 appetizers and 2 drinks!

Otherwise the room was great. Amazing bathroom and very comfy bed. I would recommend if you can afford it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great service from start to finish. From the moment I was picked up at the airport by there shuttle service to the time we were dropped off at 04:30 the staff were always happy to help. No request was too big. The concierges had answers for every question from dinning to fishing.

When we arrived at our room I was surprised to see how large it was. A large kitchenette with refrierator that WAS NOT stocked with expensive beverages you were electronicly charged for should you bump or move them. In fact, the shuttle driver allowed me the opportunity to stop off at a market, prior to our arrival, and purchase my own beverages. The beds were comfortable and included turn down service with a fresh bucket of ice to boot. The two chairs in front of our fireplace were a little small but still comfortable.

I don't know how old this property is but it looks brand new. The owner was alway present seeing first hand his guests were taken care of. The only criticisim I could give was that our banquet tables did not have bread plates or wine glasses and the food in the resturant was better than the banquet meal.

As for location, you could not ask for more. It was close to everything; Whitefish, the airport, Glacier NP. It was our first time to the area but not the last.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a great stay at the Lodge. Food was very good. Service was always prompt and gracious. The location was amazing. Our room (lakefront) was very clean and spacious with a spectacular view of Whitefish Lake. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Whitefish and the surrounding area.....in particular Glacier National Park.......SPECTACULAR!

At the risk of sounding a little too particular I have to offer a few comments.......the Lodge can be a bit dark due to the extensive alder wood paneling, moldings and dark furnishings. A lighting upgrade would be a great improvement. Also, it is a shame that all of the lakefront rooms do not have balconies. Last, it would have been wise to have both decks connected in some fashion as it seemed odd in design and function.

These are all minor details that would improve an already great hotel. Our sincerest thanks for a great vacation experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Make no mistake...this place is gorgeous,clean...has a great pool and rooms! Service was top notch and our room...what they called "a standard room" was much nicer than any standard room I have stayed in. The pool and bar were really nice and offered a beautiful view of the lake.Staff were top notch!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel seems like a great place for destination weddings and honeymoons to make your friends jealous. It was indeed beautiful. However for a couple of roadtrippers who were really just interested in a fireplace, comfy chairs and a room with a view, this hotel was way too much. It was a huge facility with mandatory valet and bellman services. Losing easy access to our car (in which we had traveled 2500 miles to get there) did not feel like a luxury.

Like many resorts, there was no complementary breakfast, no free coffee in the lobby. The coffee stand in the lobby ($4 for a plain old cup o' joe) didn't open till after 7 AM. The meals in the restaurant were good but expensive; the bar/grill was better. There was a nice dining deck outdoors, as well as a bar down by the pool and boat docks.

All the staff were very cheerful. We really appreciated the concierge who arranged Glacier NP tours for us.

The room was fine, though the kitchenette was stocked with nothing but glassware. The two club chairs in front of the gas fireplace were cozy, but there was no reading lamp to go with them. Our "partial lake view" was very partial. The door to our porch had a broken lock. Altho we were on the 3rd floor, people from the neighboring room could have easily gotten in. The front desk people only responded with a shrug when we told them.

This was not quite the $300/night experience I was looking for. My recommendation: fewer bellman; more attention to comforts in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Traveling from Florida to Alaska and staying at as many places as we did, this was hands down the best hotel of all of them. For the same price maybe $20 more than all the rest we stayed at we experienced luxury with the enormous room, jacuzzi tub, fireplace and balcony all inside the room. Then the pool and lake behind the hotel with the bar..This was a great experience and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Address: 1380 Wisconsin Avenue, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Whitefish Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.