We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the Fish...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Lodge to your Saves list
Pine Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   920 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Whitefish
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great place in the Fish...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Stayed 2 nights on the weekend. Had everything a hotel should have. Good free breakfast in the morning. The ladies at the front desk always helped us out for places to eat / drink.. great service..

Get a room with a balcony in the back so u get the sun, view of pool, view of the river/creek and yes the rusty steel building.. :)..

Also got a 10% coupon from google.. price was 90$ a night

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
56
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We made spur of the moment plans to ski at big mountain. All the on mountain condo's were booked for a group our size (we only have 3 and didn't want to pay for a condo for 8). So we selected the Pine lodge which is down in Whitefish. To splurge we upgraded to the "suite" that has a separate room and fireplace and jacuzzi for only about $20 more.
Well first they messed up and when we arrived they didn't have our reservation, but luckily they had a room available and the person who had taken the phone call owned up and fixed everything, including making our first night free before moving us to our desired "suite".
The suite is significantly larger than the regular rooms, and indeed has a jacuzzi and a separate living room from the bedroom. There was also a very small "kichenette" with mircrowave, sink and mini frig. The fireplace is sorta a faux fireplace with more of an image of a fire. Its a new style I guess. We didn't care cuz the room was heated fine and the faux fire had all the ambiance without the CO2 footprint. If we return, I will definitely get the suite everytime. Its not that the other rooms aren't satisfactory, its that you get so much more for just $20.
The hotel has an indoor/outdoor pool and shared jacuzzi as well as an exercise room. The pool was plenty warm, my husband, son (10) and I all threw snowballs at each other from opposite ends of the pool while it was snowing on us . . . and we were still warm.
This place is an amazing value compared to the on mountain condo's. It was only a short drive up the mountain, and we saved about 350 per night (remember we were trying to get a last minute condo).
Another advantage is that there are some nice restaurants in town which you'd need to drive down the mountain to get to. So, it was easier to drive about 5 blocks on a full stomach back to our hotel than back up the mountain after eating.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time.
Also see my reviews of the three restaurants we ate at Latitude 48 (yum), McGarrys (also good), Tupelo (not so much)
Whitefish is a great place to visit -- highly recommended.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

It's always a pleasure to stay at the Pine Lodge.

A "Mini-Suite" is worth the extra $20 or $30. There is extra room, a microwave and a fridge, a private balcony or patio overlooking the river. The indoor/outdoor pool is as nice in the winter as the summer and the outdoor hot-tub during a winter blizzard is a real treat. The Pine Lodge is also a great place for pets with grounds for walking the dog. A lobby computer is available for those wanting to remain connected (such as checking the winter road reports!). And french toast and waffles have been added to the fruit, bagels and creal breakfast in the lobby.

We look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

The pictures of the rooms on their website show the upstairs suites, which have vaulted ceilings and a jacuzzi. However most of the rooms are simple, but clean.

This hotel, and it most certainly is a hotel, not a lodge, is very average for a resort town like Whitefish, BUT for a few key things. The most important is that they allow pets at no additional cost and in any room. Good luck finding another place like that. And for a family like mine, who never travels without our precious pup this is a must. Also we stayed in the jacuzzi room on the top floor for 120/night. Very, very reasonable for a place like Whitefish.

It was quiet, even with a hotel full of doggies. Everyone was polite and I was very satisfied overall.

  • Liked — Great Value!
  • Disliked — So, so beds and tiny TV's
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

Our family group of 9 people, ranging in age from 6 to 82, stayed here for a week mid-August 2008 and everyone was very pleased. The rooms were spacious, with comfortable seating, kept very clean, and the staff were most helpful and kind.

There are small indoor and outdoor pools, linked to 'swim through' which were very much enjoyed by the kids and adults alike. A reasonable breakfast is free in the lobby every morning and includes cereals, juices, coffee and tea, donuts, danish, bagels, and fruit.

There is a convenient guest laundry (about 1.50 per wash load) and a very small exercise room (about 4 machines, tiny space, but workable).

Our train arrived very early, but the staff managed to make our rooms up as quickly as possible and let us eat breakfast and use the pool during the waiting time, graciously and without any charge. Similarly they helped post letters and postcards, gave directions and driving times to nearby attractions, and generally couldn't have been nicer.

Our rooms included 2 suites and 1 standard bedroom. The suites were genuine suites, by which I mean they had locking doors between the bathroom, main bedroom, and living room with sofa bed, making them a good choice for parents with kids who may need access to different rooms at different times. The only wacky thing about them was that the jetted tub was *in* the bedroom near the bed. I guess it's not a problem if the area isn't humid, but it does look bizarre! Both suites had pleasant little balconies with seating (and a good place to dry your swimsuit).

Contrary to the impression given by several earlier reviews, we found the place much better than we expected, a great convenient location for Glacier Park, and very family-friendly. Not the least problem with cleanliness or service; good beds; large rooms. All ijn all a good family place to stay.

  • Liked — clean, convenient to Whitefish town and Glacier Park
  • Disliked — would have preferred cooked breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly Suburbs
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Stayed at the Pine Lodge during a recent visit to Glacier National Park. Found the hotel to be clean, front desk staff willing to assist with requests (happily received a fax for me at no cost) and an overall nice place to stay. If I had to say anything about the property all I could say is that the furnishings in the roon seem dated a bit and could use an upgrade, otherwise it was a nice place to stay 35 minutes fron Glacier National Park.

  • Liked — clean rooms friendly front desk staff
  • Disliked — bathroom furnishings could use an upgrade
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Enjoyed our stay at Pine Lodge. We traveled around Glacier and up to Banff, staying in Whitefish at The Pine Lodge on arrival, between park visits and at the end of our vacation before catching our flight back home. It was a good 'home' base for us during our vacation. It was attractive, clean and very accommodating. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — comfortable and convenient
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge

Address: 920 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pine Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Lodge offers close access to Glacier National Park and is located in the charming town of Whitefish, MT. Year-round recreation abounds with hiking in and around Glacier National Park, golfing, boating, fishing, skiing (snow and water) and kayaking. There are frequent festivals and events in Whitefish as well as an abundance of boutique shops, bars and elegantly-rustic dining all within walking distance of the Lodge. Conveniently located on Spokane Avenue (Highway 93), the Lodge combines the best location and amenities to base a Whitefish area vacation with warm hospitality and competitive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Whitefish
Pine Motel Whitefish
Pine Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.