We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Whitefish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grouse Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Grouse Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Fairway Drive, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Whitefish
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at Whitefish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Grouse Mountain lodge is located just outside of Whitefish Montana. The lodge has many amenities including a great indoor pool, hot tubs on the deck, free parking, and coffee barista in the expansive lobby. Our room overlooked the Whitefish golf course. Beds are big and comfy (if you like your mattress on the softer side) with a variety of pillows to choose from. The shuttle in to town was a great bonus and comes when called - not on a schedule. Downtown Whitefish has numerous little shops and great restaurants and bars to check out. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golfcourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Carol2210,

Thank you so much for leaving us your wonderful words on Trip Advisor. We appreciate hearing our efforts are meeting the quality and value you expect. We hope you will stay with us again in your next trip to Whitefish, and that the remainder of your trip was excellent.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    122
    70
    43
    19
See reviews for
100
133
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We only spent one night here at the end of our trip through Glacier. We absolutely loved the rustic lodges in the Park (Many Glacier,and Lake McDonald), but the rooms there were basic. So here, we had a very nice king size bed, and giant bathroom with separate shower area. First thing we did was clean up, and check out the pool and hot tub. They both did a great job relaxing those hiking muscles we had been pounding on for a week. There was a wedding staying at the resort the night we were there, and I was wondering if we'd be hearing those folks partying it up all night. We didn't hear a peep.

The folks at the front desk were very nice, and gave us the skinny on where to park and eat downtown. They offered to drive us down there as well (free shuttle service), but we were fine just taking the rental car. Check in was fast (even though we were a little early), as was checking out (at 5:30 AM).

We were really only here briefly, but it was a very comfortable way to wind down our vacation before heading home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Grouse Mountain Lodge for a couple days over Labour Day weekend. The service was great and our room was definitely more than comfortable for two people. The lodge is a touch far to walk anywhere unless you're golfing at the local course but the downtown shuttle service is an excellent service that they provide at no charge. The price for the two night stay was a little much but it was a holiday weekend at the end of summer so somewhat expected. I've stayed in the winter at less than half the cost per night. Biggest complaint is the soap/shampoo/body wash dispensers in the washroom. This gave the room an extremely tacky feel (think "public bathroom") and we resorted to buying our own shampoo/conditioner at the drug store as the shampoo in the dispenser seemed of low quality.

Sleep quality was average. While we couldn't exactly hear anything outside our room, our last morning there our neighbour had a young child who had a complete breakdown at 7am. No walls could filter this out. But once the child quieted down after 30+ minutes of screaming, things went quiet again. These things happen. I wouldn't expect noise to be a general issue at Grouse Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Itb81,

Thank you for leaving us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Grouse Mountain Lodge. At Grouse Mountain Lodge, and all of our properties, we strive to leave a smaller environmental impact by using more environmentally friendly practices. We use the soap and shampoo dispensers in our showers because the small bottles of soaps and shampoos use more plastic and create more waste. The shampoos and soaps are by BeeKind, who uses organic products in their shampoos and soaps, and a portion of the net profits of this product supports honey bee and sustainable pollination research. He hope you enjoyed your trip overall and will stay with us again.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm harbor fl
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The lodge is nicely decorated with an upscale western vibe and a view of the golf course. The beds are comfortable, the linens are nice and everything is very clean. The town of Whitefish is about a mile away (the lodge provided a shuttle) and the west entrance to Glacier National park is 35 minutes away.The Lodge is a great place to stay when visiting the park. We started the day outdoors at Logan's restaurant and we were served great coffee and food. Terrific and helpful staff! Enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Nice to have a room with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's a good site to have a business meeting because it's outside view is so relaxing and the decor is so elegant. Just think of having to sit through lecture after lecture and although you are loving the content you are experiencing brain overload and need to process and unwind. Here, you can just step outside and enjoy the very picturesque area. You can literally forget that you are at a business meeting because the setting they have chosen and he atmosphere they have created deeply relaxes you whether you are in the Meeting Room or you have stepped outside on the expansive porch. The only improvement I would suggest is more organization amongst the dining crew so thy can seamlessly handle large crowds. Really, I think the whole operation is better accommodated for small to medium groups, keeping that "retreat" feel.

Room Tip: Make sure to book your business meetings in their Meeting Room. It is exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twisp, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After our GPS took us to a dead-end in cul-de-sac, a loop around the neighborhood with the back up unit got us to Grouse Mountain. The Lodge is a very nice place. We only stayed 1 night after going to Glacier NP. We would have stayed longer if work didn't interrupt.

We were able to check in a bit early which was nice. We had a king bed room overlooking the golf course. The only negative was the noise from the adjoining room. It felt like they were in our room! Running the fan at night helped to drown out their noise. Otherwise, it was comfortable lodgings. With a bit of rearranging, the desk was large enough for two to use.

We ate dinner and breakfast in Logan's. Dinner was delicious although our server failed to mention the dinner special. Wouldn't have ordered it but would have been nice to have that additional choice. We enjoyed the outdoor firepit after dinner with fellow guests. That was a nice touch. Breakfast was good. My eggs were perfectly cooked and I enjoyed the fresh fruit cup instead of potatoes. Our server was extremely personable and friendly; she is a real asset to the hotel.

We'd love to come back and enjoy a round or two of golf.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

All of the staff members were very friendly and accommodating. We loved that they had the free shuttle that operated until 2am so we could go downtown and not have to worry about getting a cab on the way back. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Recommend paying the $10 extra for a room with a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Address: 2 Fairway Drive, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grouse Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.