We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine. Better value in the winter.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grouse Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Grouse Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grouse Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Fairway Drive, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Whitefish
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was fine. Better value in the winter.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Grouse Mountain Lodge for a couple days over Labour Day weekend. The service was great and our room was definitely more than comfortable for two people. The lodge is a touch far to walk anywhere unless you're golfing at the local course but the downtown shuttle service is an excellent service that they provide at no charge. The price for the two night stay was a little much but it was a holiday weekend at the end of summer so somewhat expected. I've stayed in the winter at less than half the cost per night. Biggest complaint is the soap/shampoo/body wash dispensers in the washroom. This gave the room an extremely tacky feel (think "public bathroom") and we resorted to buying our own shampoo/conditioner at the drug store as the shampoo in the dispenser seemed of low quality.

Sleep quality was average. While we couldn't exactly hear anything outside our room, our last morning there our neighbour had a young child who had a complete breakdown at 7am. No walls could filter this out. But once the child quieted down after 30+ minutes of screaming, things went quiet again. These things happen. I wouldn't expect noise to be a general issue at Grouse Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Itb81,

Thank you for leaving us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Grouse Mountain Lodge. At Grouse Mountain Lodge, and all of our properties, we strive to leave a smaller environmental impact by using more environmentally friendly practices. We use the soap and shampoo dispensers in our showers because the small bottles of soaps and shampoos use more plastic and create more waste. The shampoos and soaps are by BeeKind, who uses organic products in their shampoos and soaps, and a portion of the net profits of this product supports honey bee and sustainable pollination research. He hope you enjoyed your trip overall and will stay with us again.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    108
    58
    38
    17
See reviews for
89
117
14
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
palm harbor fl
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The lodge is nicely decorated with an upscale western vibe and a view of the golf course. The beds are comfortable, the linens are nice and everything is very clean. The town of Whitefish is about a mile away (the lodge provided a shuttle) and the west entrance to Glacier National park is 35 minutes away.The Lodge is a great place to stay when visiting the park. We started the day outdoors at Logan's restaurant and we were served great coffee and food. Terrific and helpful staff! Enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Nice to have a room with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's a good site to have a business meeting because it's outside view is so relaxing and the decor is so elegant. Just think of having to sit through lecture after lecture and although you are loving the content you are experiencing brain overload and need to process and unwind. Here, you can just step outside and enjoy the very picturesque area. You can literally forget that you are at a business meeting because the setting they have chosen and he atmosphere they have created deeply relaxes you whether you are in the Meeting Room or you have stepped outside on the expansive porch. The only improvement I would suggest is more organization amongst the dining crew so thy can seamlessly handle large crowds. Really, I think the whole operation is better accommodated for small to medium groups, keeping that "retreat" feel.

Room Tip: Make sure to book your business meetings in their Meeting Room. It is exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twisp, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After our GPS took us to a dead-end in cul-de-sac, a loop around the neighborhood with the back up unit got us to Grouse Mountain. The Lodge is a very nice place. We only stayed 1 night after going to Glacier NP. We would have stayed longer if work didn't interrupt.

We were able to check in a bit early which was nice. We had a king bed room overlooking the golf course. The only negative was the noise from the adjoining room. It felt like they were in our room! Running the fan at night helped to drown out their noise. Otherwise, it was comfortable lodgings. With a bit of rearranging, the desk was large enough for two to use.

We ate dinner and breakfast in Logan's. Dinner was delicious although our server failed to mention the dinner special. Wouldn't have ordered it but would have been nice to have that additional choice. We enjoyed the outdoor firepit after dinner with fellow guests. That was a nice touch. Breakfast was good. My eggs were perfectly cooked and I enjoyed the fresh fruit cup instead of potatoes. Our server was extremely personable and friendly; she is a real asset to the hotel.

We'd love to come back and enjoy a round or two of golf.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

All of the staff members were very friendly and accommodating. We loved that they had the free shuttle that operated until 2am so we could go downtown and not have to worry about getting a cab on the way back. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Recommend paying the $10 extra for a room with a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable but not worth the price. The pool was very small and hottub looked uninviting. The spa needed to have new carpet but massage was great. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. No view except the golf course.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Neverstsathome,

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We thought you would be glad to learn that we have been undergoing a refurbishment process over the last two years and the hot tub and pool are in the next processes of being updated. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and enjoy the further updates.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Guest Relations Manager
Glacier Park Inc.
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

First, the Lodge is really a nice place. The rooms are nice, we had a Nordic view of the golf course. Beds were very comfortable. Only negative about the room is that you can really hear your neighbors. We could hear the people next door, and above us. Wouldn't have been that bad except the people above us got up at 4 AM. After the first night, we turned the fan on high in the air unit, and that helped drown out the noise. The front desk staff and concierge were very nice and helpful. The restaurant was good, and the waitress was very friendly. Shuttle bus was great for going downtown. There is some construction going on between the lodge and downtown Whitefish. A couple of times, we had to wait 15 minutes on the road to get downtown. All said, I would stay here again. Just wish they had soundproofed the rooms a little better.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the golf course, otherwise you will be facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Hotel
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana
Address: 2 Fairway Drive, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grouse Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.