We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Beer in the State!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Northern Brewing Company

Great Northern Brewing Company
Whitefish, MT
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Activities in Whitefish
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Activities: Beertasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A local brewery.
Helena, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Beer in the State!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

If you get to enjoy a day in Whitefish whether it's summer or winter, you have to stop by this brewery. The TPA may be one of the best beers I've ever had. The place has many choices on tap and even some food available, but really the TPA is what stands out the most. With countless outdoor activities near Whitefish, I am sure you can find an excuse to visit Great Northern Brewery Company.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fun "Flight" at the Great Northern Brewing Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Just stopped in to sample the Great Northern Brewing Company beers and was surprised to find a "fruit" beer that I actually liked...a "first". (The Wild Huckleberry Wheat lager was very subtle/"not" sweet/refreshing and a nice surprise.) The IPA (Going to the Sun) and the red lager (Good Medicine) were also amongst our faves in the 6-sample flight that we enjoyed one late afternoon.

The downstairs area was comfortable and friendly and we enjoyed visiting with other patrons and with the server, who also provided a great pizza recommendation.

Highly recommend to the beer enthusiasts!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockmart, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved the atmosphere and beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We enjoyed a flight of beers upstairs! The price was $7 for seven 6 oz pours this was a great bargain! Sadly we cannot buy Great Northern in Georgia so I fully appreciated these great brews and will be looking for someone to ship them to Georgia if not more incentive to move to Montana!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches - Fast Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick lunch on a weekday (was heading to airport). Service was fast - food was hot and fresh. Had the BLT on toasted bread with homemade root beer - very good. View of the mountains could not be beat. Hope to pass this way again and stop in for dinner and sample some beers. Menu looked great.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Neat brewery - ok beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The draught house is located right downtown on central avenue in a beautiful building. You can order beer on the first or second floor. The second floor quasi-pub was being renovated when we visited but looked like a great spot overlooking the brewery. We ordered a sampler of all of their beers on offer (6). Of the six, I thought three had merit to my taste but well worth the try. I would recommend you try if you have time while visiting Whitefish.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Northern Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Great Northern Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Northern Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.