We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean & very nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Motel to your Saves list
Chalet Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6430 Highway 93, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Whitefish
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean & very nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just stayed the one night in this very clean, older motel. The rooms were really big and had a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The TV had a very good picture quality. The beds were comfortable. We were given a number of suggestions for dinner and enjoyed Cooper's (the beef stroganoff was excellent and the jaeger schnitzel huge) - it was quiet and cozy with a lovely fireplace. We forgot our credit card there (at Cooper's) and the front desk person at the motel (sorry didn't get her name) was so helpful and kind about it. Oh and it has an indoor pool! (We didn't try it out though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Overnighted at the Chalet Motel in Whitefish and after finding no vacancies at better know chain motels we checked at the Chalet and found a room w/ two queen beds for $90. We were pleasantly surprised w/ how clean (spotless) our room was. It was obvious the owner and his manager took a lot of pride in their property. The room had been recently remodeled w/ what looked like a total make over from the carpet to the ceiling. Everything worked fine and looked good. The motel sets back off the main road so traffic noise is not a problem. The have a heated indoor pool and the manager, Dale, will give you all the tips you need to make your stay in Whitefish the best it can be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan,England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed three nights in September as a base for Glacier National Park.Checked in and receptionist gave us a second floor room but changed it without fuss when we asked for a ground floor room.Room was large clean and comfortable with all the necessary facilities.Met Dale,the owner, who was also very helpful and proud of his work which he has put in to acheive the standard of exellence that he has attained.Would definately recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, UT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here with some friends on a trip to Glacier National Park. We used the Chalet Motel as our base and stayed for several days, visiting the National Park, Hungry Horse Dam, Lethbridge, AL and Cranbrook, B.C. (all separate day trips)
The hotel staff was very friendly and very accommodating - we were on motorcycles, and they provided us with wash rags to clean the bikes every day!
The rooms are pleasant and quiet. The motel is back far enough from the main road that traffic noise isn't an issue, even when sitting out front in the evening. There is a campground directly behind the motel, and it was quiet as well during the time we were there.
The motel is just a minute or two from downtown Whitefish where there are some great choices for meals.
The pool is nice, and well kept, although a little on the cold side for my tastes.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed our time relaxing after each day's ride.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor rooms at the farthest end from the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Check in was so friendly. Staff quickly showed us the room she had. When she couldn't get AC working she upgraded us. Lovely. We had too many uber budget days on the road.....loads of info available what to do i the area.

Clean, quiet comfy and nice plush towels, and AC works fine. Very convenient for our morning drive

If we are ever back this way, I would book the chalet. Happy holidaying!

Room Tip: If it is time to pamper yourself, spend the extra for the king suite. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

clean quiet and comfortable.. would definately recommend ... its not the Hilton but was half the price of comparable hotels we have used .it is located just a minute from downtown. staff was friendly and has all kinds of personal recommendations for day trips and eating in town!

Room Tip: get the second floor so your off parking lot level .. has a decent view (no elevator )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed two nights while visiting Glacier National Park. We were concerned since we were traveling up from Yellowstone and knew we'd be a late arrival. I called and was told we have a reservation, they would wait for us. With Fourth of July fireworks traffic we got there at 12:05 a.m. and the desk clerk was so friendly and inviting, the last few frantic hours melted away. Whitefish is located just 30 minutes away from the entrance to Glacier. A perfect distance if you don't want or can't get into the limited Park lodging.The room was very comfortable and clean. You can tell they take pride in keeping it 'quaint' without it becoming rundown. We will definitely stay here again the next trip to Glacier!

Room Tip: Request a second story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Motel

Address: 6430 Highway 93, Whitefish, MT 59937
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Whitefish
Chalet Motel Whitefish, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.