We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, best value, look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Motel

Save Saved
You added Chalet Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6430 Highway 93, Whitefish, MT 59937   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Whitefish
Mich
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Wonderful, best value, look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Front desk manager extremely helpful, clean comfortable rooms, bkfst, menus of all local restaurants, warm pool , very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is not a fancy place nor is its decor memorable or luxurious.But it is exceptionally clean, well located, comfortable and quiet. The staff really try to answer all questions and meet your needs. We stayed here 4 nights while exploring Glacier and it really grew on me. Eat breakfast elsewhere....all you get is a muffin or bagel and no place to sit down or eat it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this roadside motel. It has some Montana charm in the furnishings, and the room itself was HUGE. There are nice touches like flat-screen TVs and really comfortable, big beds. Lots of space and a good location.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG RAPIDS
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I made our reservation in March, asked for and received an email confirmation. Wanting to avoid any glitches and knowing that AMTRAK would likely be late, I called three weeks before our trip to confirm this reservation. When we arrived with our two young grandsons, it was 11:30, they had lost the reservation and were full. These folks were unpleasant at best and I would never recommend this motel to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We arrived at the Chalet late on a weeknight, starting our four day stay in the Glaicier National Park area. After booking the room with hotels.com, we were surprised to find that our confirmation never made it. After speaking with Dale, the owner, he had told the internet website that there were no rooms available, which was never relayed to us. Despite the mix up by hotels.com, Dale was willig and able to somehow accomodate us despite the no vacancy. Without his kindness, we would have not been able to find a place to stay in the vicinity of the park. The hotel itself is a perfect picture of the Whitefish landscape, clean, modern rooms, flat screen tvs and perfectly quiet. We were also lucky enough to be directly across from the Cowgirl Coffee hut. Great coffee with exceptionally friendly service. We would recommend both these places to anyone traveling out to Glacier and can't thank Dale enough for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had to overlook Dale being brusque, he seemed a little surly when we called to make reservations and were told to call back later because he was too busy. He had the same attitude when we checked in, it seems he is overwhelmed with being busy and not having help, but aside from that the motel was great.

The rooms were clean and in good repair, the bedding and towels appeared new. The bed and pillows were fresh and very comfortable. You can walk to a couple restaurants or across the street to a 24 hour super-market that sells cold beer/wine.

We thought $110 is on the high end for a motel like this, but overall no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The rooms are nice and had just been remodeled so it was very clean and comfortable. He could not offer laundry facilities yet so we had to walk to the nearby laundry mat. The continental breakfast is not inviting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Motel

Address: 6430 Highway 93, Whitefish, MT 59937
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Chalet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Whitefish
Chalet Motel Whitefish, Montana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.