We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable place to stay for Yellowstone visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Gray Wolf Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable place to stay for Yellowstone visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had an unpleasant experience on the way up at another place we stayed, so Gray Wolf Inn was a breath of fresh air! Hotel staff was very nice. The room comfortable, accommodated 3 adults, with 2 Queen beds, and enough room for our luggage and stuff besides that! We had a problem with the phone and cable on tv not working initially. They promptly came and fixed it. Beds were comfortable, not rock hard. Had a vanity with sink outside the bathroom, a small dorm size fridge, and air conditioning. It was located one block from the street that enters Yellowstone... also a plus! Walking distance from several dining options. This is not a 5 star hotel...but we knew that when we booked it, and it was exactly what we expected! We were definitely pleased with our stay at Gray Wolf Inn and will return in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Greetings Careqt,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We aim to offer a high level of service for a good price and we are thrilled to hear that you felt we hit the mark. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for noting the details of your experience. We truly hope you can come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    90
    50
    32
    23
See reviews for
86
84
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel! Clean comfortable rooms. Beds and sheets very comfortable. Staff was friendly and accommodating..nice pool and hot tub. Good parking outside and close to restaurants. My son loved the ice cream cooler next to the front desk and the stuffed wolf in the room. Would definitely stay again!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello Angie,
We truly appreciate your review and choice to stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We love to hear that guests found our staff to be friendly and accommodating, and also to hear that guests enjoyed their rooms. The ice cream cooler and wolf are things all of us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites enjoy as well; glad to hear your son also appreciated them. Please do come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a bad experience at the hotel the night before so when we arrived at Gray Wolf we were ecstatic that it was as nice as advertised. We felt at home right away. There is a large vanity on the opposite side of the room from the bathroom with lots of room for 2 people to get ready in the morning. The beds were great. The decor was nice. The A/C was much needed after a 38 degree Celsius day. We took a dip and soak in the pool and spa--also refreshing. We were only here for one night so did not have negative experiences that others had.
The hotel seems new and well-appointed. There was ample parking. It is within walking distance of the adorable little town (touristy and full of lots of treasures). Across the street is the Grizzly & Wolf Discovery Centre--convenient.
I would recommend this hotel. Yes, it is on the pricey side but then all of the hotels in this lovely town have a high price-tag.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Greetings MomDtr, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. Your thoughtful review and detailed comments will help us increase the level of service and comfort for all future guests. Our proximity to West Yellowstone’s attractions is a perk that we appreciate you mentioning. Thank you again for your time and for choosing to stay at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'll start with the positives - bed was clean & comfortable, location was great, no problem parking.

Now the down side. The room needs a facelift - carpet was old, bathroom was OK. We had to prepay one of the nights and with a 3 day cancellation policy, we were stuck staying here 2 nights, unfortunately. I had requested top floor, checked with frontdesk before we went into the park - way too early to check in, but wanted them to know my preference. Of course, when I came back at 4:30 there were no top floor rooms available so we had to hear stomping over our heads for 2 days. The water pressure in the shower was super low so showering took forever. Seems this place attracts bus loads, so both mornings we skipped the crowded breakfast area (looked like basic continental breakfast anyway) and went to McDonalds.

Another weird thing to me was there was a small stuffed wolf on the bed when we checked in. I thought that was a nice touch until I found out they expected you to pay the $12.99 price that was on the tag. Then I thought it was a terrible idea - what if we were a family with more than one child? You know the kids would want to keep the wolf, then you'd probably need to buy one for each kid - or worse tell them no. Then I thought about how many people had left that same stuffed wolf that was now on my bed - gross.

So overall, the room was like a cheap room but it wasn't cheap - my suggestion would be to either get a cheap room or pay to upgrade to somewhere else. And if you do stay here, insist on top floor and beware the stuffed wolf!

Room Tip: Insist on top floor - noise is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren P, General Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Karen R.,
I am saddened to hear of your recent issues during your stay at The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. I apologize that your request was not met for a third floor room and for the low water pressure. Yes, our breakfast is a traditional complimentary continental breakfast with hours of operation from 6am-9:30am.
Our stuffed plush wolf program has been a huge success and very popular with our guests with partial proceeds supplied to The Grizzly Wolf & Discovery Center our neighboring non-profit. I can assure you with the volume we sell the wolves move fast and guests do buy multiple amounts.
The Gray Wolf Inn & Suites is with-in a ten dollar range of all hotels with similar amenities offered in West Yellowstone, Mt.
We appreciate comments such as yours and take them very seriously, these comments let us better serve our future guests.
Thank you,
Darren P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while on a tour. The rooms were clean and comfy, easily walkable distance to all the shops and restaurants nearby and near the entrance to Yellowstone. Nice indoor swimming pool and all the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Carol, Thanks for your review of your stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. We are very glad you enjoyed the location and walkability of West Yellowstone while you were with us. We appreciate your choice to stay with us and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Fl
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

It was nice and clean. Nothing special. Its at the end of the main strip and you can easily walk everywhere. Service not the best- mostly dealing with the lady working the front desk during the day (possibly her name was Jean but I have forgotten) who was very unhelpful. For example we did not get a wake up call the day of an excursion and without asking our room number said "its not my fault what do you want me to do?". An apology to start would have been nice! no harm we were still on east coast time... but to anything Her response was basically to make the guest feel it was their fault. (We heard her every morning treat guests that way - people with concerns about housekeeping not servicing the room, wifi issues, coffee being out etc). Breakfast area too small for the size especially if a tour bus was scheduled to leave- but we were late risers getting there 8:30 ish in the morning. We booked the king "suite" which was basically an oversized end room. We did have a vanity area outside the regular bathroom which was nice. The curtains were a disgrace- worn thin which in the summer when the sun is up early till almost 10pm is annoying. I wouldn't not stay again but would look elsewhere first. For winter stays there is some covered parking under the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Greetings Shellsmall,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. And for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us. The less than positive service you received is inexcusable. We will implement changes to improve our level of service for all future guests. Your comments and the details you mentioned are also appreciated, we are currently working to improve breakfast service and room quality. Please come back our way again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very nice experience. Clean, comfortable room. Easy check in. Highly recommended. This was our first hotel of our trip, and only stayed one night. Would have stayed longer. This was in walking distance of the Grizzly and Wolf center, and several restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello, Meredith
Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Gray Wolf Inn & Suites. Your thoughts and comments help us know what we are doing right and doing wrong. We are thrilled that to hear that you had a very nice experience overall. We truly hope you come back and visit us again in West Yellowstone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.