We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family suite is good when traveling with children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Gray Wolf Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Porterville, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family suite is good when traveling with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We had the two bedroom family suite, and it was a good place to be after a day of exploring. The children had room to play games, watch TV, and have a snack. There is a fully equipped kitc hen, another good reason to stay here. The breakfast was minimal, but that wasn't a problem since had a kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    90
    50
    32
    23
See reviews for
86
84
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here during the off season ...reasonably priced rooms clean...microwave and refrigerator ...pretty much all I need in a room considering im spending my time on the park

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We really chose this hotel because it was the pickup point for the Yellowstone snowcoach, but were very pleasantly surprised at the services and amenities. The room was comfortable and the free heated garage where we left our car during a 3 day winter stay in Yellowstone was a godsend. Last but not least, the staff could not have been nicer or more professional. The airline delayed our luggage and all staff members were very understanding and efficient in helping to coordinate its delivery to us inside the Park. We will definitely stay here again when we pass through West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here in February so the rates were more reasonable than the appear to be in the summer months. Our room was large, clean, and beautifully furnished. The pool and hot tub area was very nice, well-kept, and clean. The underground parking was a wonderful surprise that would absolutely be worth paying more for than at other local hotels. In a snowstorm, it was wonderful to know that we wouldn't have to clear off our SUV to go anywhere.

The only negative was the "deluxe" breakfast at the hotel. There were 3 kinds of cereal, some muffins, a few bagels, and oatmeal mixes. There was a waffle-maker. However, it had not been cleaned and had crusty remnants all over it, so it was not suitable for use on the three days we were there. After having stayed at lesser properties with better breakfasts, the breakfast here was a disappointment. Particularly in winter, a few hot choices would be appropriate considering the level of the hotel and its reputation. Also, just as a suggestion, putting banana muffins in an enclosed small case with all the other pastries makes them all taste like banana. This is not a problem unless, of course, you don't care for your chocolate muffin or cheese danish tasting like bananas!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

I clean hotel and a reasonable price. Underground parking is a real plus for the winter visitor. It is whereyou get picked up to go into the park via snow cat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Positives

- Clean, functional rooms with fridge, microwave, comfortable bed and lots of space.
- Close to the West Entrance of the park.
- Directly across the street from interesting Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center.
- Decent internet access in the lobby.
- Passable, included buffet breakfast. Try the nifty automatic pancake maker!
- Friendly, helpful staff.
- Good proximity to restaurants, groceries, etc. in town.

Negatives

- Seems almost guaranteed that you will encounter large tour bus groups at certain times of the morning, often taking over the entire space and making for a very uncomfortable breakfast.
- Might be a one-off issue: Our room's door was very difficult to work; very odd.
- Bland/ugly decor.
- Not many good warm options for breakfast (such as no eggs).
- Prices are generally high for this area for what you get. Ask for deals.
- Reservation was captured incorrectly, but staff corrected it when I caught the error (which would have resulted in extra charges).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geordieland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Handy for easy access to main streets. Fine for just a stop-over or for self catering, microwaves and fridge in rooms. Staff helpful. Breakfast adequate, but nothing startling. No evening meals.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.