We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Coach Inn to your Saves list
Stage Coach Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Butte, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We booked our room through the hotel's web site and paid $105 after a 10% online discount.

The room was very small, very dusty (especially the walls), and overall appeared worn down and dirty. The bathroom was small, smelled funky, but appeared clean.

Scariest of all was the amount of extension cords. There must have been ten different things plugged into one outlet behind our bed. The nest of extension cords hadn't been moved to vacuum for who knows how long, and the dust and debris build up was plain disgusting. The extension cord mess was duplicated next to the television as well. It was difficult, and probably dangerous, to plug in something as simple as a cell phone charger.

The front desk was not very courteous. They told us the easiest way to our room was up the main stairs and did not mention an elevator. Parking was very limited. Those two factors, combined with hauling a ton of overnight gear for two adults and one infant, I have to say I got my exercise for the week.

They locked the room for the vending machines at 10pm which was inconvenient. No ice, no pop/water and no snacks until morning. The snack machine was out of order anyways.

The heater/AC unit in the room did not work properly. It was either blowing very hot or very cold no matter what setting we tried.

I would rather stay in my truck in the parking lot, if a space were available, than stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was small and very dirty
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    107
    62
    43
    44
See reviews for
89
146
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

New Section is Great -- We contacted the hotel directly and the clerk informed us about the new vs the old section. The new section was spacious and clean. We never took a look at the old section above the bar. We had to pay more for the newer section.

  • Liked — beuatiful lobby
  • Disliked — elevator doesn't go to parking garage
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

The room was very large but not clean. We found peanuts on the carpeting...obviously not carefully cleaned when we first arrived. The shower was very old and the caulk was all black with mildew. The breakfast was not watched by any staff so most of the food was not replaced as it was used up. The windows, doors etc were very dirty. I actually cleaned a table myself so we could sit down and eat. For the price this hotel is definetly not worth it...go somewhere else. Also the desk staff was unfriendly and uninterested in the guests.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

This hotel was horrible. Room directly over restaurant and bar - reeked of smoke and cooking grease. Mice in lobby. Front desk staff dressed like they live in a cardboard box. Front desk person even used the F word when describing his morning. Told staff that mice were in the lobby and our response was "yeah, we know".

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

We traveled the Yellowstone and Tetons and found this hotel to be very friendly, clean and nice location. Our room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was clean and the food was great, not overpriced for the area. We had a great continental breakfast with make your own waffles and all the fixings.

  • Liked — They let us park our motorcycle in the garage
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

Having committed to staying in this hotel before we read the reviews we were a little concerned about what to expect. The rooms are gloomy with tired furnishings, the aircon is noisy, the communal bar/casino area is exceptionally smokey which pervades most of the hotel and cleanliness is not the best. However, compared to most other motels/chains the breakfast is good and the hotel is different! It may not have much 'warmth' or character and may try to be something it shouldn't but it was a welcome change to the functionality/sterility of Super 8, Days Inn etc etc.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We recently stayed at the StageCoach Inn and left after only one night. The room was cramped and old. The closet was so dark you couldn't see your clothing hanging in there but the worse of all was...our non-smoking room was directly above the smoking bar which was hazy with cigarette smoke by 11 pm. A jukebox was also directly below us and was blasting from 11pm until 2 am and the hotel staff couldn't have cared less and told us directly it would be playing until 2 am. We barely slept all night not to mention the headaches caused from being in a room full of cigarette smoke. The breakfast was poor. No coffee was put out. Many people had to ask for it before it was provided. Needless to say we packed our bags and left. We will also be complaining to the AAA/CAA as they should not be recommending this place.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — non smoking room over a smoking bar and jukebox playing directly under us for hours
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes, and has acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.