We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Yellowstone Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Coach Inn to your Saves list
Stage Coach Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
West Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Unique Yellowstone Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is worth coming to Yellowstone for in itself. Even if most of the park is closed! Definitely not a chain hotel. Very eclectic. Lobby is decked out in stuffed animals. Western motif exudes the place. Room we stayed in very large. Bed very comfortable. Mary extremely nice and knowledgeable about her town and surrounding area. If you want the true old west Yellowstone experience this should be your only choice. We will definitely be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Decor, Lobby, Room, and the Beds. I am especially pleased by your positive comments about Mary, our Front Desk Manager. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    107
    62
    43
    44
See reviews for
89
146
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very interesting place nice rooms and continential breakfast was nice. Very helpful staff lots of animals stuffed in the lobby. This is a nice little town however expensive as there is no where else to go. We ate at a local hot spot resturant wow food was excellent and you were not hungry after leaving. Awoke to frost on the vehicle in the morning.

Room Tip: try and book last minute as you might get a good deal.No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Nice Rooms and the Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stage Coach inn, West Yellowstone

Good location just off the main street not far from Yellowstone park, WIFI works fine

Our room was a little on the small side for two beds, we had problem with one of the beds the base collapsing and with the help of the staff we fixed it. we could not move to another room as the hotel was full.
The bath room was small and the hot water was slow to come on, the first night i had a lukewarm shower...

the manager was friendly and always seamed to to be in conversation with other locals....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location, proximity to the Yellowstone National Park Entrance, and the Hotel WiFi. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Hotel number 5 (of 9) for us on a driving holiday. It was ok. A hotel with a captive audience and high prices. Probably doesn't need to try too hard to stay full and it shows. Room was fine and clean. Comfortable enough though basic. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It all needs a good update and renovation though. No bar or restaurant on site. Very expensive for what it is. West Yellowstone is poor for food having gone to the two 'best' spots in town. Left the town after 3 days deeply unimpressed. Thankfully Yellowstone is only 5 minutes up the road so you don't have to stay in the town for long at all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Room and the Cleanliness, as well as the Friendly and Helpful Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Driving in to Yellowstone each morning was a breeze - and I actually looked forward to returning to West Yellowstone and the Stage Coach Inn each night. This is a quaint Inn in an old fashioned little town.
We stayed 4 nights here and could not have been more pleased. My expectations were low after reading trip advisor reviews. Agreed, this isn't the "four seasons" but it isn't Jackson Hole either. This is a wonderful little town in its own right and I actually enjoyed my stay here more then our stay in Jackson Hole at the four seasons!!
The rooms were Big, beds were comfortable, staff was friendly. Kind of felt like Mayberry and coming home comfort. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel, the rooms, the beds, and the charm of the small town charm of West Yellowstone. We especially appreciate your comments about the Friendly Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Made a last minute reservation and had a great room. Bed was really comfortable. Breakfast is pretty standard - breads, hard boiled eggs, make your own waffles. Whole place has a cozy atmosphere. I would stay here again. Kids will like seeing the animals on display in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInn1948, Director of Sales at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about your room, comfort, and convenience of our Hotel. We were also very pleased with your comment about the cozy unique design and decor of the Hotel which is truly something special in today's age of cookie-cutter Branded Hotels. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I chose here as a base for a five day Yellowstone trip. It's only a mile from the west gate of the park. The staff were very friendly and the lobby full of animals is lovely. My room, well home for five days was large enough to unpack everything and relax in. There was a fridge and microwave for snacks. Unfortunately the bar in the hotel was closed. I asked about that and there had been an issue with whoever had the lease for the bar, and a subsequent falling out. It wasn't a huge deal as West Yellowstone is a very small town and has plenty of bars and restaurants within a five to ten minute walk. There is free wi-fi in the hotel, but it was intermittent and unreliable in the rooms. This did mean that everyone gathered in the lobby, drank free coffee and uploaded their photos together after their day in the park. So it turned into a little social event every evening! I'll be returning to Yellowstone in a couple of years and would be more than happy to base myself here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInn1948, Director of Sales at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location and the Decor. I'm also happy to let you also know that we have recently upgraded our internet. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes, and has acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.