We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Yellowstone base. Nice room. Nice staff. Bar was closed :-(” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Save Saved
You added Stage Coach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stage Coach Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Yellowstone base. Nice room. Nice staff. Bar was closed :-(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I chose here as a base for a five day Yellowstone trip. It's only a mile from the west gate of the park. The staff were very friendly and the lobby full of animals is lovely. My room, well home for five days was large enough to unpack everything and relax in. There was a fridge and microwave for snacks. Unfortunately the bar in the hotel was closed. I asked about that and there had been an issue with whoever had the lease for the bar, and a subsequent falling out. It wasn't a huge deal as West Yellowstone is a very small town and has plenty of bars and restaurants within a five to ten minute walk. There is free wi-fi in the hotel, but it was intermittent and unreliable in the rooms. This did mean that everyone gathered in the lobby, drank free coffee and uploaded their photos together after their day in the park. So it turned into a little social event every evening! I'll be returning to Yellowstone in a couple of years and would be more than happy to base myself here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInn1948, Director of Sales at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location and the Decor. I'm also happy to let you also know that we have recently upgraded our internet. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    94
    48
    42
    35
See reviews for
65
132
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Great beds and restful sleep. Recommend to stay in the new section vs. the historic, its worth it. Front desk is extremely helpful a friendly. Big lobby with a tv and couches, which makes it easy to chill out. Continental breakfast that is ok and have 2 great hot tubs. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Beds, the Friendly and Helpful Staff, the Lobby, and the Expanded Contintental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudenville, Michigan, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Yellowstone. Very close to entrance of NP which is the reason we chose it. Older hotel with a unique history if you read their motel information book in your room. Needs a little updating on carpet, etc but the stuffed animals in lobby are pretty cool. Staff was very friendly and helpful even giving us phone # to check for road closings because of forest fires in area. Room we had was large enough for desk and small round table & couple of chairs. It was our most expensive room of our trip but all the hotels seemed priced high in West Yellowstone. Breakfast was included and quite adequate. Lots of restaurants, shopping within walking distance - even a grocery store right across the street.

Room Tip: our room was directly across from the laundry (available for guest) & vending but we were never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the History, the Friendly and Helpful Staff, the Decor of the Lobby, and the Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We took our family, including five grandsons, ages 10 to 19, to introduce them to Yellowstone National Park. The staff at Stage Coach Inn was able to meet ALL our requests. Mark kept the breakfast dining room well supplied, clean and was a happy, helpful and fun person to start the day with. We needed five rooms and they were able to provide two sets of adjoining bedrooms and a fifth room all in a cluster which made it very convenient for us to easily be together. The Inn is very well located. We can't think of anything we would change. We had a great time in the park and came "home" at the end of each day knowing we had a great place to stay the night. Highly recommend the Stage Coach Inn as a home away from home.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Staff, and especially Mark - the Breakfast Attendant - as well as the convenience of the Connecting Rooms and the Location. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here a couple nights while visiting Yellowstone. Convenient to the West Entrance of Yellowstone. Probably less than a mile to the Park Entrance. Looks like this was the place to stay 30 years ago. Didn't look like they have done much to update it since except keep it clean. The rooms were small along with the bathroom. But the place was clean. The Lobby was probably the nicest place in the hotel. We stayed in a regular king room. It definitely satisfied our requirements. Nothing special, just a place to stay near the park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments abou the Location, the Cleanliness, and the Decor. Thank you for choosing teh Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Checked in evening, hotel staff was AMAZING could answer any question/concern you had. Lots of options within walking distance of grocery store, restaurants, shops. Rooms were clean and nice new amenities. Breakfast was included. Hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Staff, the Location, the Cleanliness, and the Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was an interesting hotel during our vacation out west; pricey, probably the oldest, yes, out of date, but the front desk were friendly,and were very helpful which is more than I can say for a Thermopilis hotel. The desk clerks were right there for every question. The continental breakfast wasn't much, but got us thru with our snacks til lunch. We stayed here for 3 nites and was over 600.00 w/taxes. But you are also a few blocks away from the West entrance of Yellowstone Park, which you should get to by 9am to avoid traffic jams. It is also only a few blocks from the Grizzly and Wolf Dixcovery Center which was awesome to visit. I grew up not too far from Wi Dells, WI & this reminded me of a minature Dells. One of the restaurants 2 blocks away had the most delicious huckleberry IC ever! The housekeeping of the hotel should have a wall and corner vaccum; all the animals in the lobby were OK. I think they have been there a long time. All in all, friendly, convenient but very pricy, taking advantage of the tourists. However, while we were there, we did discover the other hotels were worse in cleanliness so maybe all of them should step it up a bit.Someitmes if you know the tourists have no other place to go, you can charge anything but in the end that may backfire.The beds, well, none of us really slept great, and I am a light sleeper anyway and we were facing the street. We paid so we could drive Yesslowstone and we saw alot of the beautiful park so it is a horse a piece.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location and the Friendly and Knowledgeable Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes, and has acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.