We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Coach Inn to your Saves list
Stage Coach Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Crystal City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family stayed here 15 years ago and had a great time. We were a little concerned that it might not live up to our memories but those fears disappeared soon after our arrival. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful during our 8 day stay. They had great suggestions for dining, shopping and touring. We stayed in a deluxe room which was clean and spacious with all of the expected ammenities. It has a very convenient location and a charming interior and exterior. The included breakfast was nice with plenty of seating. This is not a generic "big box" hotel but if you want something with personality we would recommend staying here. We hope to return here sometime when we can bring our grandchildren to Yellowstone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We apprecaite your comments about the Friendly and Helpful Staff, the Cleanliness of the Room, and the Location. We were especially pleased with your comments about the Uniqueness of the Hotel and the Personality. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    107
    62
    43
    44
See reviews for
89
146
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in a spacious room for 3 nights in July, Its a rustic, pine-centric decor. The hotel passed all the critical elements of my instant satisfaction score...viz., clean, good bed, hot water, all normal amenities. The lobby was large and comfortable. They had nice shampoo's and conditioners! Yes, it is a bit pricey for the age of this motel, but, hey, it has a great location.

The negatives include a poor free breakfast, plastic glasses in the room (a $250/night room...how cheap), the housekeeper skipped us one of the days (but the Mgr called them back to work), and on the lobby TV was the Republican propaganda station. The old part of the building was not built to some of the currant fire codes (wooden doors, for instance).

All in all, it was average and we had no deal breaking problems.

Room Tip: We were in room 233
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Cleanliness, Condition, Amenities, and the Decor. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is clean, pleasant and ideally located for a visit to Yellowstone National Park. Staff is courteous and helpful. But $229 a night for a standard-issue room with two queen beds seems a bit on the high side. The room we stayed in on the first floor is in need of new paint and minor repairs. Comfortable beds in plenty of space, however, were greatly appreciated.

The continental breakfast is utterly unimpressive, but is served with top-notch professionalism by a very dedicated gentleman who manages the breakfast room and restocks everything himself. The hotel doesn't misrepresent it; it is, after all, only meant to be something to tide you over. But by the third morning, the repetitive selection of plain bagels, hard-boiled eggs, dry cereal, bananas, pastries and even make-your-own waffles was really disappointing. On busy mornings, don't expect to find any of the yogurts still available; you probably won't see the bananas, either. My suggestion to the hotel: offer more yogurts but fewer pastries and a bigger selection of bagel varieties. Add fresh fruit cups.And a second toaster or a toaster oven. That would really, really help.

Rooms on the first floor are very quiet and nice. The handsome staircase does seem a bit impractical for luggage-carrying guests, but plenty of visitors apparently don't mind climbing up the stairs. There is a small elevator if you need it. But don't shy away from a first-floor room.

All in all, a decent experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Cleanliness, the Location, and the Expanded Contintental Breakfast Attendant. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Two blocks from the main street, within walking distant to everything. The room was on the small side, and the king bed was comfortable, but took up most of the room and made it awkward to get around. And for some reason there were five pillows on the bed, and they were half size??? The room was continually hot despite the fact the heat wasn’t on. The temperature plummeted to 30 degrees and it was so warm in our room we actually opened the window at night and I slept in a t-shirt. The breakfast was standard fare, with mix juices and even powdered milk, but they had a nice gentleman who made sure the waffle station was filled with batter and such and everything was clean. But there was no cream for the coffee, which I thought a little weird.

They are having some shortages in staff, and it took almost 10 minutes at the front desk for them to find out if our room was ready yet, and it was past 4 o’clock when we arrived. Cody, at the front desk was not so great. First he told me I couldn’t use my AAA card for a discount if we were using my husband’s credit card. The place that I had stayed two days before didn’t have a problem with it. Then I gave him my card to get the discount, and he assured me that he was taking my husband’s credit card off the reservation right then. When we checked out, he once again told me I had the AAA rate and things were all set. There was a hold on my credit card for the room, but guess which card got charged??? Yep, my husband’s, and it took three days for the hold to be taken off my credit card.

The other thing that was slightly off was that the restaurant that had been in the hotel was not open. Instead of just letting the room sit, they had to cover all the windows with tarps and plastic, which really didn’t do much for ambience. They also left the information in the rooms that there was a restaurant on site. Really, it’s not a bad place to stay but really over priced for what you actually get.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel and will keep working to meet the expectations of all of our guests. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVANSTON
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very convenient to the West entrance of Yellowstone. We stayed for two nights and were able to really enjoy time in Yellowstone Park. The room was clean and spacious. We were in an end room and it was a long walk from the elevator. For the price there should have been help to the room with the luggage. They did have luggage carts.
The lobby was great!! The stuffed animal are amazing!

Room Tip: If any in the party have trouble walking, be sure to ask for a room near the elevator, even if on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. We appreciate your comments about the Location, the Cleanliness and Size of the Room, and the Decor of the Hotel. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the stagecoach Inn on July 27th 2013. We were quoted one price when we made our reservation and when we checked in they billed us almost double the original quote. We planned on staying two nights but the general manager Mark Rogers was so rude and unprofessional that we left. I will never stay at or recommend this hotel ever! Even the rooms in this hotel were very unimpressive. I have to say that GM Mark Rogers ruined the whole Yellowstone experience for me and my family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. It is a shame that you were so unhappy with your stay. I wish I could say that I am surprised at your submission, but after our conversation, it is no surprise at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This review is for Stage Coach Inn in Dubois, WY. It is not listed on the website. It was very nice, clean and comfortable. The new beds were wonderful. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Thank you for providing a fan for the room. We set it in the window and it cooled our room very nicely. We had a great experience and are looking forward to our stay there again next summer.

Room Tip: We did not use the swimming pool, but it did look inviting and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review posting - unfortunately, we cannot take the credit for your stay in Dubois Wyoming, but I am sure that they appreciate that you took the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes, and has acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.