We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Coach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Coach Inn to your Saves list
Stage Coach Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
EVANSTON
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very convenient to the West entrance of Yellowstone. We stayed for two nights and were able to really enjoy time in Yellowstone Park. The room was clean and spacious. We were in an end room and it was a long walk from the elevator. For the price there should have been help to the room with the luggage. They did have luggage carts.
The lobby was great!! The stuffed animal are amazing!

Room Tip: If any in the party have trouble walking, be sure to ask for a room near the elevator, even if on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. We appreciate your comments about the Location, the Cleanliness and Size of the Room, and the Decor of the Hotel. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    107
    62
    43
    44
See reviews for
89
145
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the stagecoach Inn on July 27th 2013. We were quoted one price when we made our reservation and when we checked in they billed us almost double the original quote. We planned on staying two nights but the general manager Mark Rogers was so rude and unprofessional that we left. I will never stay at or recommend this hotel ever! Even the rooms in this hotel were very unimpressive. I have to say that GM Mark Rogers ruined the whole Yellowstone experience for me and my family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. It is a shame that you were so unhappy with your stay. I wish I could say that I am surprised at your submission, but after our conversation, it is no surprise at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This review is for Stage Coach Inn in Dubois, WY. It is not listed on the website. It was very nice, clean and comfortable. The new beds were wonderful. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Thank you for providing a fan for the room. We set it in the window and it cooled our room very nicely. We had a great experience and are looking forward to our stay there again next summer.

Room Tip: We did not use the swimming pool, but it did look inviting and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review posting - unfortunately, we cannot take the credit for your stay in Dubois Wyoming, but I am sure that they appreciate that you took the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff was helpful but the best part of the hotel was the lobby with its wide wooden staircase and the stuffed wildlife situated around it.
The only thing to complain about was the dishwater tasting coffee at the breakfast buffet

Room Tip: I have no tip to give, Our room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Cleanliness and Comfort of the Rooms, the Helpfulness of the Staff, and especially the Lobby and the Decor. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soleil2jours
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The room was comfortable for two adults and two tween children. That alone is saying a lot. With packing lunches to take to picnic in Yellowstone, the mini fridge was so helpful and we enjoyed the microwave for popcorn. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the usual continental but with decent variety. Just don't sleep in too late or there may not be as much selection (the chocolate-chocolate chip muffins went fast!). Housekeeping was good through our 3 night stay. WiFi as mentioned in other reviews is hit or miss which wasn't huge since we weren't there too often. Our youngest daughter loved the various wild animals preserved in the lobby. Parking was good. When we couldn't get a spot on the street, there were plenty of spots to park in back. A very pleasant stay with no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Friendly and Helpful Staff, the variety of the Expanded Contintental Breakfast, the Cleanliness of the Room, the Decor of the Hotel, and the availability of Parking spaces. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked this hotel because the hotels in Yellowstone were all booked. I'm kind of glad that it worked out the way it did. First of all I saved a bundle and I'm glad we stayed in this quaint western town instead of being stuck in the park. We had a very pleasant stay at the Inn. Everything was wonderful. Our room was top of the line Everything was fresh and clean. The breakfast was good. We spent 17 days out west and we only found one hotel that offered a continental breakfast with meat and scrambled eggs. There was always 2 to 3 people at the desk. Unusual. I will definitely stay here again if I make it back.

Room Tip: I can only speak for room 262 but it was very roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about Cleanliness and Comfort of the Room and the Friendliness and Responsiveness of the Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and could not find any faults( well maybe just 1 the wifi was hit and miss ) but that was a minor issue. The room size was great with a fridge and microwave. Bathroom had plenty of towels, the whole room was clean. Bed and pillows good. Continental breakfast was more than adequate with good variety. The staff very friendly and helpful. Heaps of parking. Our room faced the main street and we didn't hear any traffic noise. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Size of the Room, Cleanliness of the Room, the Variety of the Expanded Contintental Breakfast, and the Friendliness of the Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes, and has acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Coach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.