We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off season trip to Yellowstone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yellowstone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Yellowstone Lodge
251 South Electric Street, PO Box 607, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Off season trip to Yellowstone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Took a late fall trip to Yellowstone with my wife and mother-in-law who'd never been there.( They are from Maui and hadn't toured the mainland). Our room was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and the continental breakfast was great. The price was much more reasonable than I'm sure it is during the summer. Overall it was a nice experience. Thank you.

Room Tip: call ahead, that's how we got the room we wanted
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    46
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
48
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Decatur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were lucky to find a room at this hotel when the city was almost booked on September 23rd. Front desk personnel were very friendly and efficient . The continental breakfast was also good with plenty of food. Lodge is located with in walking distance from the center of town.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Situated on the Yellowstone Lake this hotel has aged, but not so gracefully. On the day we arrived the elevator was not working so our baggage was manhandled to the second floor by very busy and tired looking hotel staff. Our room was supposed to have lake view, however the window was rather small and the view was somewhat obstructed by large columns). We discovered that our best view was from the bathroom which had very large window (with no shade or drapes) and the lake view was magnificent.
Queen size bed was fine, it was relatively quiet, and having coffee in the bathroom with the view was fun.
Electricity was off and on quite a few times. There was no refrigerator (and who needs TV) and there was a fan (and who needs AC). The hotel restaurant was quite busy and although we had reservations we had to wait in line for about 20 minutes before we were seated for dinner. The wait staff was very knowledgeable but seemed in a hurry. Breakfast was more relaxed and the buffet was very nice and offered quite interesting selections.
We got up very early in order to take a drive up the lake, and encountered numerous wide life including a trotting bison on the side of the road carefully adhering to the walk in the direction of cars rule.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Room is very comfortable. We had a room with two queen beds. Everything was clean. The continetal breakfast was average. Nothing special. Juice, pancakes, waffles, apple sauce, hard boiled eggs, cereal, milk and coffee. You had to use the toaster to heat up the pancakes and waffles so they weren’t the kind where you pour in the batter. Coffee was hot but not very strong. Over all, 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The price was high - about 150 for a 2 queen room in August but the hotel was very nice. Although this is not a deluxe hotel, it is well cared for and clean. The indoor pool and tub but nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable, the dual sinks were great and everthing including the fridge and stove were clean and newer. The breakfast was very good with waffles (frozen) and hard boilled eggs. The tables were busy but promptly cleaned. There was 24 hour coffee and juice. We were very satisfied. Parking was a little far away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We looked high and low for a place that would suit our needs and trying to book a place on line and when we made this decision, it was based on what info the hotel provided us plus input from people who have stayed there. In our room, which was plenty large, was clean but all furnishings were dated, and I mean dated. The bed was absolutely terrible, pillows were harder than concrete blocks, carpets was torn, old style round TV, not a flat screen, sofa cushions would not cover the sofa like it should of, as you could see the pull out, had te breakfeasto use 2 cushions to sit on and still very uncomfortable. In the so called Deluxe breakfast was a complete joke. No fruit, no yogart, but the lady who served it was great!!! In fact all the staff was great, I suspect this is a Hotel being owned by an absentee owner who does not really care, but does just enought to get by. Would I stay there again?? Absolutely not!!!!

Room Tip: I do not think there is a good room to chose, suggest finding another place!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Yellowstone Lodge is a nice place to stay. West Yellowstone is a nice town and I wish I would have had more time to spend there. The hotel was clean and modern and teh breakfast was good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yellowstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Lodge

Also Known As:
Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Yellowstone Hotel West
Yellowstone Hotel
Yellowstone Lodge West Yellowstone
Yellowstone West
West Yellowstone Lodge
Address: 251 South Electric Street, PO Box 607, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone Lodge is conveniently located just three blocks from the West Entrance of Yellowstone National Park. We are also just one block away from favorite attractions such as the Grizzly & Wolf Discovery Center and IMAX Theatre. All area restaurants, shops, and other attractions are within walking distance as well!Yellowstone Lodge offers three floors with 80 spacious guest rooms, all with microwave and refrigerator. On site amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and guest laundry facilities, as well as an indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Yellowstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.