We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cinderblock Suite/ No cabin” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepy Hollow Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sleepy Hollow Lodge to your Saves list
Sleepy Hollow Lodge
124 N. Electric st., West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
asheville
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cinderblock Suite/ No cabin”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

Accomodation was advertised as a cabin, and most of their accomdations are cabins, but we were given a duplex made of cinderblock. Quite a disappointment. No overhead lights, and some of the lamps did not work. Shag carpeting and none of the log cabin decor that is shown on the website. Remote to TV was also broken. Room was otherwise furnished okay and was exceptionally clean, probably the cleanest accomodation we have ever stayed in. Continental breakfast is at the back door....no one told us where to find it until we asked. If you stay there, insist that you are assigned to one of the real cabins.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — not what was advertised
  • Tips/Secrets — insist on the real cabins
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    3
    6
    21
See reviews for
28
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2005

We stayed at Sleepy Hollow Lodge for 5 nights, using it as a base to visit much of Yellowstone (for which it was very handy). It was a very friendly place with a lovely communal breakfast where you got to genuinely meet and chat to other guests and the rooms, although the decor was a little tired, were spacious and pretty well-equipped. It was good value for money and would be ideal for people on a budget who like a bit of freedom to cook for themselves.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerogery West, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2004

The Sleepy Hollow Lodge is very quaint and the breakfast dining experience is like nothing we have had elsewhere. The cabins were clean, warm and fully equipped. We were especially happy with our value for money. On one morning at least we did get to hear some stories of the old days in West Yellowstone and fishing in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2004

We stayed at Sleepy Hollow three nights on our vacation through West Yellowstone. I was a little disappointed when I opened the door - everything in the cabin looked like it was from 1970 - including orange carpet. Above all of that, the cabin was clean, warm and provided us a place to stay. Not sure if it was too late in the season, but we didn't get the cinnamon rolls, nor did we hear stories. The owners, however, were great people and able to help at all times. For the area, the place was pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2003

I've been staying at Sleepy Hollow since 1980. It is the real Yellowstone experience, great owners on site and the guests return year after year. The "rooms" are small log cabins with rustic, hand made log funiture, small kitchens and bath, very very clean and nice. They have coffee, cinnimon rolls and lots of great fishing advice and stories every morning on the main porch. I will continue to stay at Sleepy Hollow as long as they will let me. Skip Bradley

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2003

I have stayed at the Sleepy Hollow Lodge several times. It is our FAVORITE place to stay in West Yellowstone. The cabins are very clean and comfortable and the kitchens are stocked with all the cooking and eating utensils you need. The old fashioned beds are comfortable (and quite high). The owners are very nice. We have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves each time we stay there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepy Hollow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Lodge

Address: 124 N. Electric st., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepy Hollow is a small pleasant lodging retreat, offering lots of personal attention. We offer rustic but modern log cabins with full kitchens, ideal for extended stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Hotel West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepy Hollow Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.