We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional, unkept” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepy Hollow Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sleepy Hollow Lodge to your Saves list
Sleepy Hollow Lodge
124 N. Electric st., West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
san diego, california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unprofessional, unkept”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

We booked our reservation via the website, and did get the cabin we requested, however at check-in, the young man who checked me in appeared very disoriented, and i could tell he was tipsy. This was at 3;00 in the afternoon. there was another young man standing outside smoking right in the path of the entryway to get to the office. I had to walk around him to get to the office, it wasent untill he walked in the office,past me and went in the other room that i realized he worked there. I was annoyed by now and asked if the owner was in, and he said he would be the owner soon enough and laughed. This lodge was reccomended to me by a old friend, I have to say i wont be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    3
    6
    21
See reviews for
28
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We arrived to the cabins after a two flights and a long drive from Salt Lake City. The cabins are tucked away behind a Days Inn, so it took us a while to find them. The guys at the front desk were very informative and helpful. The cabins were basic with a bed, kitchenette and bathroom with shower cubicle. If you like everything done for you in a plush hotel environment this isn't the place for you! We used the cabin as a base for bed and sometimes breakfast, the West Entrance to the park was only a few minutes away and was very convenient. On the 2nd or 3rd day the guy from reception checked on us and our towels hadn't been changed but within 5 minutes of telling him he was back with clean towels and they were replaced everyday after that without fail. West Yellowstone as a town is lovely, lots of little restaurants and everywhere is walking distance. You would need a car to get around the National Park if you do want to do your own thing. The price for the cabin was really good for our 4 night stay, if you can rough it a bit without the perfect sheets and decor, i say this is a lovely little place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Like the previous reviewer said, what we got was NOT a cabin, but instead a cinderblock with 2 units attached to each other, with a very thin wall between the 2 units. If you notice on their website, they only have pictures of their stand-alone cabins, and have no warnings or descriptions of their cinderblock accomodations. Not only that, but the person who took our reservation said nothing about it being a cinderblock, which I find to be a deceptive on their part. I mean, they are called "Sleepy Hollow CABINS", aren't they?

To say the least, we were very disappointed when we got to our cinderblock and realized that this was our accomadation for the next several days. When we saw our cinderblock, we actually thought we were on a different property. If we had known this, we definitely would have gone somewhere else.

To make matters worse, our cinderblock was not even a stand-alone unit. The owners had actually squeezed 2 units into one cinderblock. Our neighbors were not particularly noisy, but you can literally hear everything they were saying, even during normal conversations due to the paper-thin wall between the 2 units. Not exactly the kind of privacy we wanted when we booked our so-called "cabin".

The actual inside of the cinderblock was ok... nothing bad, but nothing great either. Very average.

I am giving this place 1 star only, because we completely did not get what we were expecting when we booked. Not sure why the owners weren't a little more descriptive and forthcoming on their website. Or even just given us a simple "by the way, your unit is not an actual cabin...", when we made our reservations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was NOT a cabin !
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

Accomodation was advertised as a cabin, and most of their accomdations are cabins, but we were given a duplex made of cinderblock. Quite a disappointment. No overhead lights, and some of the lamps did not work. Shag carpeting and none of the log cabin decor that is shown on the website. Remote to TV was also broken. Room was otherwise furnished okay and was exceptionally clean, probably the cleanest accomodation we have ever stayed in. Continental breakfast is at the back door....no one told us where to find it until we asked. If you stay there, insist that you are assigned to one of the real cabins.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — not what was advertised
  • Tips/Secrets — insist on the real cabins
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2005

We stayed at Sleepy Hollow Lodge for 5 nights, using it as a base to visit much of Yellowstone (for which it was very handy). It was a very friendly place with a lovely communal breakfast where you got to genuinely meet and chat to other guests and the rooms, although the decor was a little tired, were spacious and pretty well-equipped. It was good value for money and would be ideal for people on a budget who like a bit of freedom to cook for themselves.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerogery West, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2004

The Sleepy Hollow Lodge is very quaint and the breakfast dining experience is like nothing we have had elsewhere. The cabins were clean, warm and fully equipped. We were especially happy with our value for money. On one morning at least we did get to hear some stories of the old days in West Yellowstone and fishing in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2004

We stayed at Sleepy Hollow three nights on our vacation through West Yellowstone. I was a little disappointed when I opened the door - everything in the cabin looked like it was from 1970 - including orange carpet. Above all of that, the cabin was clean, warm and provided us a place to stay. Not sure if it was too late in the season, but we didn't get the cinnamon rolls, nor did we hear stories. The owners, however, were great people and able to help at all times. For the area, the place was pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepy Hollow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Lodge

Address: 124 N. Electric st., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepy Hollow is a small pleasant lodging retreat, offering lots of personal attention. We offer rustic but modern log cabins with full kitchens, ideal for extended stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Hotel West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepy Hollow Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.