We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sisters passing through town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn West Yellowstone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Days Inn West Yellowstone to your Saves list
Days Inn West Yellowstone
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Madison Avenue, PO Box 1110, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sisters passing through town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My sister and I were passing through town on a cross country drive. This hotel served its purpose - clean and quiet. The cost was rather high, but given that the town is immediately outside Yellowstone - I'd consider it acceptable. And by the way, it's only like five minutes from the park entrance - pretty awesome. We did not eat breakfast since we wanted to get on the road nor did we try out the pool but we could see some kids having a blast.

Room Tip: Request to be on a floor other than the first floor (quieter). Also request to be in the newer secti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    89
    98
    63
    45
See reviews for
171
88
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switz City, Indiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was more reasonally priced than any other hotel in town. The entire place is way over priced because it is closest to the park. We did manage to get a room in the new part, good size area, two queens. Large bath with sink in main area. Pool and 2 hot tubs were great and clean, you have to go to office for towels. Plenty of parking. The restaurant for breakfast was good if you got there early they were pretty fast. I think its crazy to charge for drinks though. I think if we are ever in Yellowstone maybe the hotels in the park make more sense. The hotel is good but nothing fancy.

Room Tip: get into the new part, rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 9/9/12 through 9/11/12. Booked it online. If you decide to stay here make sure you get in the new section. Those rooms looked much better. Unfortunately we got an old section room that originally had outdoor access. They had a makeshift closed in cover but it was pretty tacky. The room was outdated. Very old TV. There was a queen and single bed in the room. The air conditioner/heater unit was right next to the queen bed and blew directly over you. Not the best situation. We were on the first floor and you could hear every step the people above us made. They got up around 6am each moring and woke us up. I tried to get a room change but they wanted another $60 bucks a night for a king unit. I decided it wasn't worth it and to just make do. The free breakfast at Trappers was very nice but I thought it was strange they made you pay for beverages. Be aware a lot of bus trips stay here and the resturant is often crowded. The personnel I encountered were friendly. They also had a decent indoor pool with a water slide. West Yellowstone is a nice jumping off point for daily vists into Yellowstone national park.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc2trvl
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

So I arrived in West Yellowstone on Labor day weekend, with no advance bookings, and was happy to secure a room at this property for two nights. The rates were reasonable for a holiday weekend and were cheaper than those being offered in surrounding property. I would consider myself a value based traveller and the rates being offered that weekend, in my mind, were good value. Holiday weekend, last minute, close to Yellowstone, walk to amenities in town. You get the picture.
The rooms are basic, clean and have everything you need. Breakfast (of sorts) was included in the rates but I did not partake as I was not overly impressed with the look of the place and I know there is a much better place across the street.

I also got a ground floor room on the side which allowed for easy parking outside (like a motel) which I also appreciated.

Overall a fine place, good clean accommodation close to one of the most stunning national parks in the USA.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms on the side which allowed for easy parking - most road trippers would appreciate t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nice location, a little off the main drag of town. Stayed over labor day. Very over prices for what was offered. Just your basic hotel room for $175.Beds were so uncomfortable we actually bounced back and forth between the 2 queens trying to find a comfy spot. Bathroom was very small and dated. Restaurant was very slow to seat patrons. 20 + minutes. Once seated service was very good and the food was ok. Hate to write a bad review but hate getting ripped off even more!! Spent the next night in Cody at a great hotel for less than half the price. Its just not nice to take advantage of tourists. Also not sure about the sales tax every where in West Yellowstone in a state that has no sales tax. Was told it was a tourist tax but I dont recall one in Glacier.

Room Tip: Book in advance to check on price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our group of five stayed at this property for three nights in mid-August. The location was ideal - close to the park entrance and within walking distance of everything in town. We had a two room suite in the "old" part of the hotel and it was perfect for us. There was a queen bed and sofa bed in the main room, and a queen bed plus full-sized bed in the separate bedroom. We also had two televisions. In addition, there was a refrigerator, a microwave, and an extra sink in the main room. Our group received six restaurant "coupons," which basically enabled two of us to have a free breakfast entree each day. Drinks were not included. The food was quite good. The employees at the front desk and in the restaurant were all very friendly and helpful. The pool area looked great and featured hot tubs & a water slide, but we never found time to use any of those amenities. Overall, this hotel served our needs well. If you expect a five-star resort, you will be disappointed. If you understand that this is a two or three-star property, you will be very happy there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I will first tell you the location is excellent, as it is only about 5 minutes to the Front entrance of Yellowstone National Park. The Visitor Centre is only a few minutes away from the Front entrance, and the service in their is excellent and very helpful. We actually used the free phone in their to book our Upper Loop day trip. The Hotel is very nice and clean looking on the outside, I took the suggestions of past travellers on this site and requested the newer section of the hotel before we arrived. Once we saw the old section we were really glad we did. The room itself was kept clean but their was an odour in it that set off our allergies. We think it was probably the carpet, it may have had mould, not sure but we tried to not stay in the room much except at sleep time and took Claritan. When we were out of the room we were not sick at all. We are not giving this hotel a low rating because overall I do think it was clean, and NO bugs at all, and nice people running it. They need to remove carpeting possibley and stick to vinyl. As for the restaurant the Trapper's it was a clean restaurant and an excellent breakfast. My daughter and I had a Free breakfast card for each day of our stay. They had few choices for the FREE breakast but we looked forward to it everyday, as it was really good and cut down our meal costs greatly. The best deal a person can get for this hotel is booking one year in advance, and you do not need to pay a year in advance either just secure it with a major credit card, we did this and only paid $100.00 a night rather than $ 150 to 250.00 some others were paying and complaining. We got points for staying at this hotel with a FREE Wyndham Rewards membership we ordered months before the trip. This room had a fridge and microwave. Previouse travellers said their was no fridge, but their was!

Another thing we did is went to the Wal-Mart in Bozeman, it was easy to find we asked a local. We bought alot of snacks, case of water( water is more expensive in Yellowstone) and if you look in the veggie section they had little snack trays with veggies, cheese and dip. We bought a few of those and a big bag of peaches(they were inexpensive and good). It saved us alot of money and we took only a few things back with us that we ate on the travel day back. My daughter and I froze some of the waters overnight in the freezer in our room everyday and put it in our little cooler bag we brought from home. It kept our food and drinks fresh and cold for the day. If you are on a tight budget the thing that saved the most money was bringing the small cooler bag and buying food and water at the Wal-Mart. We also didn't pay baggage fee's at the airport and brought less clothes and spent 1 hour washing what we had one night. The laundrymat was a couple of minutes away in West Yellowstone. When we ran out of food we bought things at the grocery store down the street from the hotel, it was healthier and less expensive than buying at the restaurants. Although we did buy subs from Subway because it was a healthy choice. You may contact with any questions.

Dawn & Lindsey Martin

Room Tip: Always tell them at booking they want to be in the "New" section only. The old section is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 301 Madison Avenue, PO Box 1110, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn West Yellowstone 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of West Yellowstone, the Days Inn West Yellowstone offers you the best in resort accommodations. Our spacious and well-appointed rooms include many amenities to make every guest feel at home. Our Trapper's Restaurant offers one of the best breakfasts in town. No matter what season you choose to visit we have a package to suit you. From summer van tours to snowmobiles or snowcoach in the winter we have it all! One call does it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn West Yellowstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.