We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brandin' Iron Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brandin' Iron Inn to your Saves list
Brandin' Iron Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   201 Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 star customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I deal with a lot of business travel and it's not often I am "wowed" by staff and ownership in dealing with unusual circumstances and requests. Requests that put the customer experience at the forefront! I couldn't have been treated better or had a more lasting impression from the folks at Brandin' Iron....Thank You!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    95
    59
    16
    4
See reviews for
72
107
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Being right outside Yellowstone, made this hotel very convenient. It is within walking distance of West Yellowstone shops and restaurants. The hotel is clean and sufficient as a Yellowstone base camp. Free breakfast was available in the morning. The pricing was better than most hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

No exterior lighting working both dangerous and making finding room lock difficult. Reported to staff who said had a fire lights are out but seemed little concerned and anyway why not tell us with an apology on arrival?
Wifi not working again no one told us we had to ask front lobby coffee machine not working either.
Be prepared for a long hike for ice although rooms have fridges.
Rooms comfortable clean only the washbasin is part of room rather than bathroom which itself is cramped. If they could get on top of maintainance and customer service by letting you know when there is a problem I could recommend it as a a place to stay to tour Yellowstone park. Complimentary breakfast good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days in July 2012. I wish the prices were a little more reasonable, but the hotel is very clean, the rooms are well taken care of and everything is kept in good working order. The free breakfast is good, with a lot to choose from. The staff is friendly and efficient, and went above and beyond to be helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

W Yellowstone can be an expensive place to look for accommodations on high season, and perusing sites likes hotelcom and expedia shows that simple chain motels will charge rates close to $200 a night. I looked at several options through the TA website and found few options that would provide some extra ammenities (a hot tub is important) and, at the same time, offer rates that would keep us within budget. After doing a good amount of research, we settled with the Brandin Iron Inn. In their website, we found a 2Q room with full kitchen, hot tube, and full breakfast for about $150 with AAA discount. These ammenities in itself with this rate makes this property a terrific value that would already warrant a 4-star rating.

First, the room with the rate that we got is located in the basement but I should say that it is almost a non issue, unless you are a bit claustophobic and badly need natural light. There is actually some natural light hitting the room (it has a window) but obviously it is limited. However, we felt that the room was quite private and cozy, with zero noise from our upstairs neighbors.

The room itself is spacious, like a small studio. It has full kitchen with a dining area (a dinette set with four chairs), two queen size beds, and a small tv viewing area with a sofa. They are faily clean. Bathrooms are clean and functional, typical motel size. We did not use the kitchen so we don't remember if it had all the cooking utensils, but we used the fridge to chill and store our beverage. Nothing fancy, but nothing broken/falling apart either. Rooms were fairly clean, although I should mention that the kitchen floor felt a bit sticky, probably due to the chemicals used to clean it. No must smell or greasy walls - everything looks decent.

The hotel has a small area with two indoor hot tubs. One of them was under maintenance when we were there, so only one was functional. We used for 15 minutes, right after another family left, leaving it all to ourselves, but right before the closing time of the facility. There is some candid photo of the tub that I saw when researching this property and I thought it was pretty accurate representation of the real thing.

Another thing to mention is the full breakfast. It has a good selection and the hot items were an omelete with cheese that you can top with some jarred salsa, and some gravy to pour on your biscuit. All bread/pastries were of the packed variety, as you would expect from a hotel of this category. Also note that in general eggs in a steamer tends to become rubberish and gravy tends to become thicker and starcher if they sit there for a long time. This is not to say or quibble about the breakfast, which I consider to be ok, but it may help to set the right expectation when you read the word "full breakfast."

The location is great, and you can walk to most of the restaurants and shops in the heart of W Yellowstone.

The place is not fancy, is a bit dated, and won't get much points on decor. But it is functional, it provides all you need (and more) and charge reasonable rates to keep you within budget. If this is what you are looking for, I will fully recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at the Brandin' Iron for 5 nights. We were delighted by the great complimentary breakfast each morning that had a 4 hour window to eat. That was good, so that there was less crowding after the tour buses left early in the morning. It was quiet, even though our room was right next to the lobby. The hotel was able to accomodate all 7 in our family with 2 rooms, one with a full kitchen. That was great for meal preparation for our picnics and nightly dinners. The lobby could have been a bit cleaner (dusting was needed), but the rooms were great. All the staff was helpful and contributed to a great time in West Yellowstone. We would consider returning for the winter to see the park in a different time of year.

Room Tip: There was no pool, just hot tubs. If you want to do your own cooking, ask for room 100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaconda, Montana, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After going to 2 other hotels in town and having a hard time getting good customer service, it was refreshing to finally come to the Brandin Iron and get great customer service! Rooms were clean and have a refrigerator. And excellent location to get to Yellowstone Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brandin' Iron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandin' Iron Inn

Address: 201 Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandin' Iron Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One stop shopping for all your vacation needs. Updated, clean rooms with free hot breakfast bar, hot tubs, WIFI, business center and the best home town staff! We have Snowcoach, Snowmobile, and Bus Tours into Yellowstone or we can rent you a car. See you year round, we'll be here for all your vacation fun ~ P.S. don't leave your furry friend at home, bring em' along! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brandin' Iron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandin` Iron Hotel West Yellowstone
Brandin Iron Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandin' Iron Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.