We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK motel with decent free breakfast on main street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn
201 Firehole, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #20 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
TN
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“OK motel with decent free breakfast on main street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Not sure if I have the right Best Western, but it was not the Weston. Don't remember any other name. Not much to really comment on. It was as billed. Room was the normal double size; room was clean; wifi worked well and was included in price as was breakfast with some extras...boiled eggs, belgian waffles and some fruit in addition to the normal fare. Stayed 2 nights -- it was ok for short term place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds. We are glad you had a good stay and hope that if you are ever in the area again you will consider staying with us. We have some wonderful improvements planned for the property and we are excited for repeat guests to see them when they are completed. We wish you safe travels everywhere you go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    43
    50
    17
    12
See reviews for
58
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The room was typical Best Western layout of the motor lodge category. There were no surprises; a nice clean room was offered. We stayed for four nights. The beds we had were on the firm side and there were four pillows for each bed. Our room had a microwave, a flat screen, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker and a refrigerator. The property is not new but is well maintained. Inside our room was an eclectic mix of furnishings. My only complaint here was the non adjustable desk chair (office depot special executive chair) that required my computer on my lap to type out other reviews. The facility does have an indoor pool area but we were simply too beat exploring the park to use it.

The staff were courteous and professional. Room staff were thorough in their cleaning each morning. The continental breakfast area was small and BW provided trays to take your food to your room just for this reason. Items were typical fare: hard boiled eggs, canned sausage gravy, heat-n-serve biscuits, two cereal selections, breads, french toast, and danish. This was complimented with apple juice, orange juice, milk, and two fruit selections. The coffee was not brewed but from the machine, however I could get my brewed cup within my room. There are also plenty of espresso shops in the area if the need for a really good cup of java were necessary.

Overall, our experience here was positive although I did not sleep well on our firm mattress. It was however, exactly as we expected. This was the most expensive Best Western I can recall staying in thanks to the area and the three separate taxing entities that added to the cost of the room. Our nightly rate of $168 came with an $18.20 discount but add the taxes in and our nightly total was $181.17.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds! We are glad you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! We are planning some great improvements to the property and hope that you will stop by and see them if you are ever in our area again. We wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier National Park, Montana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

the rooms are very noise you can hear everything. the staff was very rude and when i called about our microwave being broke she was even ruder. the breakfast area is very small and the food was cold and not much varity. the house keepers leave evolpes asking for tips!!!!!!!!!!! the beds were not very comfy and its not what i expected for $150 a night! i honestly probaly wouldnt stay here again....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I apologize you were not satisfied with your stay here. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all our guests and it is disappointing to us that we failed to provide that to you.

As I have mentioned in many of my responses, we do have plans to expand our breakfast area and hope that project is completed by the end of this year. We have also purchased all new WiFi equipment and we are having that installed this week.

I will speak to the staff person on duty when you called regarding the microwave, we never want anyone to feel that our staff is not helpful.

Thank you for reviewing our motel. I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will give us another chance to improve your perception of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Thin walls is what I remember. And lots of noisy children running outside on the corridor.

Sleep was fine, though. And they had a hairdryer, refridgerator and coffee maker. It was fine. I didn't have the breakfast as I tried a local place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds! We appreciate your business!

I apologize for the noise that you were able to hear from children in the hallway. Many times children who are staying with us have been riding in cars for hours and hours, when they finally get out of the car and in to the motel they get excited about our pool and can be a little over exuberant. We do want to make sure everyone enjoys the experience here so if at any time there is an excessive amount of noise we welcome guests to contact our front desk and they will politely and professionally take care of the situation.

Again, thank you for staying with us! I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will consider choosing us. Even if you should choose one of our competitors please stop by and see the improvements we continue to make each year.

I wish you safe travels wherever life may lead you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This motel goes above and beyond most with 6 plump pillows per bed, and hot chocolate chip cookies when you arrive! Very clean and comfortable accommodations. This was also a great motel for anyone traveling with pets. We had a door opening outside directly next to a park to walk your dog, and benches and tables to sit at. Very close to all the tourist shopping and food places with a 1-3 block easy to walk to area. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We are so glad you had a wonderful stay!

We know that many people (including ourselves) love to travel with their 4 legged family members and we want to make that possible by providing a welcoming and convenient way to do that.

We are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience and we appreciate all opportunities to hear from those who stay with us on what we can do to make the stay more pleasant. I hope that if you are ever in our area again you will choose to stay with us. We make improvements each year and we are looking forward to hearing from our return guests as to how well we did with those improvements.

I wish you and yours safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, IA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Good place to stay. Parking was pretty scarce, but we always managed. Breakfast choices were good, but the area provided was REALLY tiny and over-crowded. Wife & son went to the pool, it was OK, nothing major pro or con, but crowded! All in all, for a resort destination, this isn't a bad choice. Reasonable prices, decent room. Above average

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds. We are glad you had a great stay!

We understand the need for a larger breakfast space and we have submitted plans for expanding the area. We hope that they will be approved and that by the end of the year we will have that project completed.

I hope that you will be a returning guest if you are ever in the area again, we would love to have you stay with us again.

I wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our room was decent, fairly roomy with two queens, a microwave and refrigerator. As others have said, Internet is slow but they are awaiting some new piece of hardware that will fix that problem. Breakfast area very crowded but lots of selections from 4 types of juices, hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, pastries and other bread and toppings. Hard to find a seat but there is seating outside, though it was very dusty and we didn't realize until our pants were covered with dust. Should be an easy remedy as there were two employees sitting at the front desk doing not much of anything most of the morning. They should be doing more to help out at breakfast areas and elsewhere, like cleaning off tables outside and inside as guests leave. They also lacked in customer service as it is so simple to just smile and be pleasant but they didn't seem interested in guest communication.

Parking is very tight and the lot fills up. There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi.

Like I said, I am sure you could do worse. We weren't really in the room much and it is a Best Western so our expectations weren't that high.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business!

I apologize that our wi-fi was not working well during your stay. As I have mentioned in other reviews (and as you noted in your review) I have posted on our front desk and all public areas throughout the hotel, we have experienced a failure with our Wi-Fi equipment and have ordered an entirely new system that we hope to have installed soon. West Yellowstone is a very remote area next to Yellowstone National Park and because of this we do not have the service providers or opportunity to purchase equipment locally, it all must be ordered.

We have also submitted plans to expand our breakfast area, hopefully those will be approved and we will be able to begin construction this November. We love repeat guests and we certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements.

Every summer in West Yellowstone we experience an extreme amount of pollen from the lodgepole pines that encompass our vast forests. The male cones produce huge quantities of yellow pollen in June and July. This yellow pollen is often seen in pools of rainwater around the park or at the edges of lakes and ponds and on our outdoor breakfast tables and guests vehicles :) I will mention to my staff that they should be extra diligent about cleaning those outdoor tables during this time.

Again, thank you for staying with us! We hope you return again to see our latest improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn

Address: 201 Firehole, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cross-Winds Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.