We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crosswinds Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Crosswinds Inn to your Saves list
Crosswinds Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Firehole, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

enjoyed our stay. Room was roomy, people were nice, beautiful location, good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing our motel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! We wish you safe and happy travel in all your life journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    52
    54
    18
    12
See reviews for
65
64
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pine Mountain, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Not much I can say here. It did not smell good. Old and musty. After a day in the park they probably felt the same about me. There are a lot of Inns in West Yellowstone. Look around and if all are on fire, stay here. Service was not much to speak of. They were supposed to sign me up for BW rewards and give me the card the following morning. I agreed to this because they were busy at the desk. (Two People) didn't happen. I may consider the fortuitous. They also advised we go to a restaurant that would not seat us after 9:00PM, heck those folks at the restaurant would not even serve us a beer. No one knows anything. Let it slide. Dump.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We are disappointed you were not happy with your stay. The restaurants we refer people to are based on the feedback we get from other guests and also on our own personal experiences however, none of them are affiliated with our motel and we have no say in their hours or inability to serve alcohol.

We are an older motel however there has been significant investment made each year to refurbish the property and we plan on continuing that commitment to make improvements in order to meet guest satisfaction. We always encourage guests to research the options available to them in order to meet their specific needs and desires. We understand not every motel is a good fit for every guest but our goal is to ensure that we always do the very best we can to meet and exceed guest expectations. I apologize that in your case we failed to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

There are three Best Western Hotels in West Yellowstone (a town that you should avoid unless you can't get a room in the national park). The hotel reflects the town, a soul-less tourist trap.

The room was not very clean. The hotel picks up all the noise from the street that fronts it. The breakfast room is too small for the number of rooms and they were lacking the items that other Best Westerns feature.

I would not recommend this hotel. I would not recommend West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasahni, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We're disappointed to hear that you were not impressed with our community and motel.
West Yellowstone is a small Montana town located in a high mountain valley, surrounded by National Forests and Yellowstone National Park. It is also the best gateway to Yellowstone Park and its features.

Yellowstone's west entrance is located right in West Yellowstone, 4 blocks from our motel and is the closest and easiest route to Old Faithful and Yellowstone's geyser areas. The national forests outside Yellowstone and surrounding West Yellowstone are also teeming with wildlife and birding sightings each spring.

This is a small, safe, outdoor oriented community and being next to a national park makes it difficult to compare hotels in this wilderness area to modern hotels in major cities.

Though we are certainly not new, we do invest every year to upgrade and improve our amenities to keep our guests coming back. As we continue to strive to improve the comfort and convenience of our guests, we value and appreciate review comments such as yours that help guide us towards new projects to hopefully be considered better than average.

We encourage all new visitors to Yellowstone to visit the web sites of all the available hotels in West Yellowstone or to call around and ask questions before making their lodging choices so that they can compare and make the most informed decision possible. We certainly hope that you will have an opportunity to return to West Yellowstone in the future and will stop in to see our latest improvements, even if you should choose to try out one of our competitors on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel experience was very pleasant. Everything was as it should be - comfortable beds, decent lighting (there's a novel concept), quiet rooms, desirable amenities (like coffee in the room, iron, blow dryer). And a nice, roomy shower.
Oh, and I didn't use them, but hot tubs and pools were available.
Even the continental breakfast was a little better than average - not a doughnut in sight, but plenty of variety of comparatively healthy breakfast foods.
I know it was a little off-season, but the price was quite reasonable for all this. I felt like I had definitely made a good choice for the night.
I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasahni, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing the Best Western Crosswinds! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Nice rooms with fridges and microwaves, decent continental breakfast, hot portion was scrambled eggs with cheese ready to go at 6am. Good showers, with good shower head height. Right next door to our snowmobile rental. Close to Yellowstone entrance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasahni, General Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel! We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the West Yellowstone area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My friends and I were extremely happy with the accommodations at the Best Western in west Yellowstone, MT. From right when we checked in until the minute we checked out a week later everything was perfect. All the associates that worked at the Best Western were very helpful in taking care of all our special needs, being our first time there ridding snowmobiles the front desk crew helped us with trail maps, directions and morning weather reports. The free breakfast each morning was excellent along with the fresh cookies each day. For the daily room rates and the quality of the rooms a great place to stay. Thank you to everyone at Best Western Cross Winds for taking care of us.
Jim Iacovacci

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasahni, Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
I just wanted to take a minute to thank you again for staying with us! We are glad you and your group had a great time snowmobiling in West Yellowstone. I hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

we both really had great time at west Yellowstone! Most important was the location. The entrance to Yellowstone is right at the door,rather 3 minutes away from the hotel.What a convinience! The hotel staff was corteous and helpful.All inclusive breakfast was satisfying.Beds were comfortable after a long day of sight seeing and hotel itself was competitive with area hotels and motels.

Room Tip: we stayed in room # 106 shich was very close to the swimming pool, hot tub and sauna. Please visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasahni, Manager at Crosswinds Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing our property! We appreciate your business and hope that if you are ever in the area again you will choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crosswinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Inn

Address: 201 Firehole, PO Box 1490, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crosswinds Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone National Park is the first National Park in the world and for very good reason has been a top tourist destination since its opening in 1872. It's a WONDERLAND and the Crosswinds Inn is located right next to it. We are just 3 blocks from the West entrance which is the most popular way to enter the Park. This makes us the perfect base for you to see the parks many amazing geysers, grizzly bears, wolves, bison, elk and of course, Old Faithful, the most popular geyser on Earth! The Crosswinds Inn has 70 rooms that have ALL been completely renovated. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and we offer free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We also allow pets in our designated pet rooms. All pets must be registered at time of check-in and we do charge a $20 one time pet cleaning fee. After a day spent amid natural wonders, relax in our heated indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Crosswinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cross-Winds Motor Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosswinds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.