We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Desert Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 North Canyon Street, US 20, 191 & 287, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ogden, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was cheaper than the others in West Yellowstone by far so I was worried about what our room was going to be. You get what you pay for right?! Well this hotel was very suprising. I think it must have been recently remodeled. It was very clean and new on the inside. The room was great!! The pool was fun. Like every hotel. The contenential breakfast was good but crowded. You gotta get there early to get any food and a place to sit. But then everyone else is squishing around you. Better off eating in your room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    147
    77
    19
    11
See reviews for
134
122
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
whitefish
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in perfectly located in the middle of town so you can stroll to restaurants, etc. The staff are great. The room was large and properly cleaned. Breakfast is served in a tiny area that is is crowded under good circumstances. Breakfast fare is dreary with too many items that seem synthetic in nature if you are brave enough to sample.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location! Room was fairly large & clean. The beds were comfortable and the linens were lovely. Very nice & quiet, breakfast included. Good indoor pool, and lots of parking. All shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Would not hesitate to stay again and recommend to others. Not a prolific review but to the point.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Recently returned from a visit to Yellowstone. Decided to enter the park from the West Gate. West Yellowstone is quaint but definitely makes their money off of tourists while it can. This BW was just down the street from the gate, perfect location for visiting the park. The room was good size, clean, and other than a light bulb going out, in working order. (My hubby thought the pillows were too puffy, but that is a preference thing.)The breakfast provided was typical, nothing spectacular but good enough to start your day. We found the restaurants in the area are on the high side so having the free breakfast helps compensate for dinner later. I would definitely stay there again in the future. HOWEVER - BE PREPARED, this hotel as well as most of them in the area, host BUS LOADS of tourists, so try to hit breakfast before or after buses are loading.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We decided to enter the park through West Yellowstone as it suited best our road trip plan. The little town is a nice tourist place but it has not much to offer. We booked the Best Western Desert Inn as it was the only one available for our dates and, even if we were not overall disappointed, the price we paid (almost 200 dollars for one night) is definitevely too steep for what the place really offers. it is definitively overpriced. I would also like to point out that even if they say they offer free wifi, that's not the case as it is basically impossible to connect at all.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We made our reservation from the car, and were pleasantly surprised at what we got. Our room was clean, and adequately appointed. Even the bed was comfortable! Location was convenient to great local resteraunts, almost directly across the street. Breakfast was better than we expected, and enjoyable. We returned 5 days later, and were happy with our choice.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Right on the main drag of West Yellowstone within very easy walking distance of restaurants, bars and shops. Typical Best Western - clean, large rooms, cable TV, coffeemaker, small fridge. Stayed only one night with efficient check in and out in spite of lots of guests. Breakfast is great - hot eggs, meat, biscuits and all the cold stuff. Our room was quiet and faced the back parking lot. Good alternative if you can't get lodging in the park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Desert Inn

Address: 133 North Canyon Street, US 20, 191 & 287, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel built on the site of original hotel, located within 2 blocks of west entrance to Yellowstone Nat'l Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desert Hotel West Yellowstone
Best Western West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.