We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy, comfy Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Alpine Motel
Save Saved
You added Alpine Motel to your Saves list
120 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59798   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
New Zealand
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very handy, comfy Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

As others have said, Brian and Patty are very welcoming, and helpful. Alpine Motel is in a handy location too. Parking right outside your door is a plus. Very clean, bathroom was a little small, but not a problem for us. Have not seen as many generous product samples before! Easy walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    70
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
123
224
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here last year and were oh-so-happy to visit yet again while en route to the Yellowstone interior. Brian and Patty are the nicest people, and their rooms, while a little on the small side, are cozy, sparkling clean, and welcoming. Our room this year had a smaller bathroom and firmer beds. Extremely large folk could have trouble fitting on the toilet, but the compact rooms contain everything one could expect and more for the modest price they charge. The Alpine offers in-room refrigerators, flat screen TV’s (HD TV too?), air conditioners, free WiFi and the most generous array of product samples I have ever experienced in any hotel/motel.

Brian escorted us to our room and and provided a much-appreciated crash course in the operation of the television remote and room heating & cooling systems. The Alpine is in what seems to be “downtown” West Yellowstone, but our rooms were very quiet at night during both of our stays here. Most businesses and eateries are within easy walking distance.

Complimentary, coffee and other hot beverages are available in the office starting at 7 a.m.
Last year I left behind a favorite article of clothing. Brian and Patty still had it when I contacted them to inquire about it (a week or more after we’d checked out), and they mailed it to my home. Of course I reimbursed their shipping costs, but they didn’t ask for money in advance, and it’s that type of trust and thoughtfulness in a world full of greedy people that really snags me. A lot of places would have just thrown a forgotten item out.

These folks are the genuine article – honest, kind, hard-working human beings who seem to love what they do and have a real dedication to providing the most enjoyable visit possible for their guests. When Brian recognized us from before and remembered things about our prior stay, he made us feel like family! I just can’t say enough good things about these people & their little motel. Are they for real? For sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were there in September. Small motel in a busy street, a couple of blocks to the entrance to Yellowstone National Park. It is owned by a delightful couple, that go out of the way to make you feel comfortable. The room is small, very, very clean and warm, with beautiful quilted bedcovers, a very nice comfortable and artsy chair. It is a very short walk to restaurants, stores. In the office, he keeps goodies like granola bars, hot chocolate, etc for you to take.
And it was probably the cheapest hotel in town during the high season!

Room Tip: The office is right on the street, but the rooms are not. Any room would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Have tried for reservations based on TA reviews ( thank you fellow travelers, you were right!) and finally succeeded...

Clean, quiet, comfortable, welcoming. What we would pick if we could design a hotel. Try it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We got a room for $83 for the night (shoulder season). It was clean, neat, and fresh. It was loaded with sample toiletry products. The rooms are a bit quirky with the shower and toilet in one little room and the sink and vanity in another on the other side of the room. The owners Brian and Patty meet you like you're kin folk. They show you to your room and explain the "workings", when's the last time you got that from a "McHotel"? I would definitely recommend this motel to friends and would certainly book again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent a night in West Yellowstone (enjoyable tourist town). Found the motel based on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. Lots of little amenities and thoughtful additions by Brian and Patti, the proprietors. They are so friendly and helpful that we feel as if we left behind some friends when we checked out. The beautiful quilt and comfortable bed were real plusses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Thanks to TA, we found this great place to stay. It was so nice to come in after a long 2 days in the car. The room was quaint, clean and warm.
Brian is so kind, considerate and helpful.He gave a great dinner recommendation.
We are once again very grateful for those that take the time to review and rate hotels and keep places like the Alpine at the top of the list!!!

Another great trip thanks to Brian and TA.

Room Tip: If you can avoid the 0 cabin, it is right on the street. A necessary evil, but made a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Address: 120 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59798
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel West Yellowstone
Alpine Motel West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;