We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back to the Alpine is like coming back home again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Motel
Save
You added Alpine Motel to your Saves list
120 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59798   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Coming back to the Alpine is like coming back home again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here last year and were oh-so-happy to visit yet again while en route to the Yellowstone interior. Brian and Patty are the nicest people, and their rooms, while a little on the small side, are cozy, sparkling clean, and welcoming. Our room this year had a smaller bathroom and firmer beds. Extremely large folk could have trouble fitting on the toilet, but the compact rooms contain everything one could expect and more for the modest price they charge. The Alpine offers in-room refrigerators, flat screen TV’s (HD TV too?), air conditioners, free WiFi and the most generous array of product samples I have ever experienced in any hotel/motel.

Brian escorted us to our room and and provided a much-appreciated crash course in the operation of the television remote and room heating & cooling systems. The Alpine is in what seems to be “downtown” West Yellowstone, but our rooms were very quiet at night during both of our stays here. Most businesses and eateries are within easy walking distance.

Complimentary, coffee and other hot beverages are available in the office starting at 7 a.m.
Last year I left behind a favorite article of clothing. Brian and Patty still had it when I contacted them to inquire about it (a week or more after we’d checked out), and they mailed it to my home. Of course I reimbursed their shipping costs, but they didn’t ask for money in advance, and it’s that type of trust and thoughtfulness in a world full of greedy people that really snags me. A lot of places would have just thrown a forgotten item out.

These folks are the genuine article – honest, kind, hard-working human beings who seem to love what they do and have a real dedication to providing the most enjoyable visit possible for their guests. When Brian recognized us from before and remembered things about our prior stay, he made us feel like family! I just can’t say enough good things about these people & their little motel. Are they for real? For sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    79
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
133
249
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were there in September. Small motel in a busy street, a couple of blocks to the entrance to Yellowstone National Park. It is owned by a delightful couple, that go out of the way to make you feel comfortable. The room is small, very, very clean and warm, with beautiful quilted bedcovers, a very nice comfortable and artsy chair. It is a very short walk to restaurants, stores. In the office, he keeps goodies like granola bars, hot chocolate, etc for you to take.
And it was probably the cheapest hotel in town during the high season!

Room Tip: The office is right on the street, but the rooms are not. Any room would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Have tried for reservations based on TA reviews ( thank you fellow travelers, you were right!) and finally succeeded...

Clean, quiet, comfortable, welcoming. What we would pick if we could design a hotel. Try it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We got a room for $83 for the night (shoulder season). It was clean, neat, and fresh. It was loaded with sample toiletry products. The rooms are a bit quirky with the shower and toilet in one little room and the sink and vanity in another on the other side of the room. The owners Brian and Patty meet you like you're kin folk. They show you to your room and explain the "workings", when's the last time you got that from a "McHotel"? I would definitely recommend this motel to friends and would certainly book again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent a night in West Yellowstone (enjoyable tourist town). Found the motel based on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. Lots of little amenities and thoughtful additions by Brian and Patti, the proprietors. They are so friendly and helpful that we feel as if we left behind some friends when we checked out. The beautiful quilt and comfortable bed were real plusses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Thanks to TA, we found this great place to stay. It was so nice to come in after a long 2 days in the car. The room was quaint, clean and warm.
Brian is so kind, considerate and helpful.He gave a great dinner recommendation.
We are once again very grateful for those that take the time to review and rate hotels and keep places like the Alpine at the top of the list!!!

Another great trip thanks to Brian and TA.

Room Tip: If you can avoid the 0 cabin, it is right on the street. A necessary evil, but made a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I Have 3 small kids (5,3,1). We booked the kitchen suite for the space and from previous reviews. We couldnt have been more comfortable! There is enough room for a crib, crawling around space, and all our "gear". Pictures on website are very accurate. Super kid friendly and huge kitchen made a week in yellowstone feel justoice like home. Better then home... Theres a dishwasher! We booked to come back in 9 months before we even left our first stay. I'm a neat freak and had no issues with the kids rolling on the floor. Nobody below the upstairs room to worry about with the kids playing on the floor either. Something I worry about with every lodging choice. Also lots of window for fresh air and light. Nice picnic area with bbg.

Room Tip: Kitchen unit, lots of Windows to open, good light, nice deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Address: 120 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59798
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel West Yellowstone
Alpine Motel West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.