We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, Super Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Horse Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
One Horse Motel
Save
You added One Horse Motel to your Saves list
216 Dunraven St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient location, Super Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed at One Horse for two evenings and spent most of the days in Yellowstone. Warm Montana hospitality from the owners when we checked. The motel is very small so recognize that the rooms are equally small and have been there seemingly for a very long time; however, the rooms are incredibly clean, well maintained, and you can tell cared for. Bed was sufficient (king), the rooms are strictly non-smoking, and the shower head is plenty high. The room has been retrofitted with A/C. If you have rowdy kids, you may feel as if you're being a bit loud as the walls are somewhat thin bit didn't seem to bother us as it was an older adult crowd (few retired bikers and wives, mostly families). No breakfast, so I'd recommend heading to the woodside bakery (amazing) or Ernie's deli (okay, good egg sandwiches). Everything in town is within few blocks walking distance and you're less than 5 minutes drive to Yellowstone's west gate.

Room Tip: No one seems better than the next
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    94
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
51
87
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Spent one night in the One Horse Motel. Clean, neat, but very small. All we needed was a quiet place to sleep and to shower and clean up. They provided it. No problems whatsoever.

Room Tip: Nothing really to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimock, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice small motel with the basics. YOu won't need much at Yellow sTone as you will be touring a lot. The motel was small and very clean with walls of different colors. It was very queit as well.
A good price as well.

Room Tip: Just park your car quickly as it is hard to park by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The folks at One Horse are nice. It's a small motel with just the basics. The room was spotless. The towels were thick and nice. Didn't get a chance to try the coffee and donuts.

Skip the Madison Crossing restaurant (unrelated to the One Horse, but everyone recommends it for some reason.)

Room Tip: For more space, get the room with 3 beds. One person even gets some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Have been staying at the One Horse motel for the last 15 years or so, and so when I called to make my reservations again, was concerned that the owners that I had come to know over that time had sold and there were new ones. But right away I felt good. After learning we had been there before, was very well received. Had room and rates similar to what we have had before. though a bit pricey, for West Yellowstone, a good deal. The staff were great, the rooms were very clean and the place was very well kept up, as I had come to expect under the previous owner.
Rooms are a bit small, but were adequate for our needs, and the beds are very comfortable. Location is superb for access to the park and to reach places in town as well. Will stay here again and look forward to returning, hopefully next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this motel and we were pleased with the friendly staff and very clean rooms. The lolcation is fabulous directly across the street from a beautifull park where we had a nice picnic. The rates we low and the value was great. I reccomend this to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good location from which to explore Yellowstone. The accommodation is clean and well maintained. I found Nick’s recommendations of what to see and do in Yellowstone very useful. He even lent me some raingear when he heard that I was ill prepared. Becky went out of her way to assist me with the delivery of some internet purchases.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Horse Motel

Address: 216 Dunraven St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our clean, quiet and refurbished rooms you’ll find air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV and movie channels, fluffy pillows, fridge for your cold stuff and a microwave to heat things that need to be heated. Complimentary WIFI for your computer, tubs and showers, laundry facility on site and an ice machine that actually invites you to take an extra scoop or two for your cooler. All rooms are non-smoking and no pets to ensure that rooms are always clean and fresh. Come stay with us and enjoy your Yellowstone vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
One Horse Hotel West Yellowstone
1 Horse Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Horse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.