We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but plain; good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Yellowstone Park Hotel to your Saves list
Yellowstone Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Grizzly Avenue, PO Box 930, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable but plain; good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights during a family trip to YNP. The rooms are plenty large and pretty comforable. They were also clean. The front desk staff were polite and helpful, but didn't go above and beyond. For instance, they would not cash my traveler's cheque. The "deluxe" continental breakfast was disappointing -- only cereal & pastries, and they ran our of coffee -- no fruit or yogurt. On our 2nd morning we decided to go out for breakfast (Running Bear Pancake House). Nonetheless, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    127
    44
    21
    8
See reviews for
93
128
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

2 years ago while in W. Yellowstone, I saw this hotel being built. I knew this summer while planning vacation, I wanted to stay in this hotel. We arrived way earlier than expected, the clerk let us have a room. It was nice. The bathroom was huge. On the 3rd floor, great view. The pool looked nice, but never used it. Chose it too for laundry, but the machines were broken. Breakfast was good and plenty of spacious room. We slept peacefully on nice clean and comfortable beds. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Great Hotel in West Yellowstone.
We arrived in the small town of West Yellowstone and were rather concerned at the large number of very old and small hotels in town. But then we drove over to the South side of the town where the Yellowstone Park Hotel was located and were happy to see much newer buildings. The Yellowstone Park is brand new and is very clean inside. We were greeted at the front desk by a nice woman who gave us directions and helpful advice about what to do in the area and how to go about seeing Yellowstone. We had a fantastic time and would recommend this hotel to anyone as the best place in town. The only negative experience we had is that my husband has to have a banana each morning and there was none available at breakfast. Otherwise, the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

This was a simply average hotel. Given the price, I was expecting quite a bit more. It is obvious that you are paying for location. The rooms were plain, but adequate. The pool looked really popular and fun, if the frolicking kids can be any indication. We didn't try it though. The wireless doesn't work above the first floor, but one of our nights, the network went down completely. The gal at the desk was very helpful though, as my son needed access to complete an online college course assignment. She called over to a sister hotel, and he was allowed to use their wireless in their lobby. She went the extra mile for us. The hotel is close enough to the restaurants so that you don't need to drive, and it is just across the street from the IMAX theater. We had to do wash, and it did seem a bit unusual for a hotel this size to only have one washer and one dryer.

From what I've read, you have to lower your expectations in West Yellowstone, and expect to pay more for what you do get. If you go in understanding this, you can live with what you get.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

This is your average 2-3 star hotel. It is one of the newer hotels in the area, and it offers all the typical amenities. The finishing touches on our room were a tad bit lacking though. Either the construction of the hotel was sloppy, or the repairs are infrequent. Loose tiles in the bathroom, sloppy caulk job on the sink, etc. It was very clean though, which is all that really matters. The location is excellent. It is a short walk to downtown West Yellowstone, and right around the corner from the entrance to Yellowstone Park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

This is pretty much a typical hotel. Nice, up-to-date, clean. Nice indoor pool area. Stayed in a king suite. Very large! One king bed and pull out queen bed in separate room. Had living room area which was also large. Small kitchen area with sink, frig, coffee maker, etc. Very adequate. Bathroom has large sink area. I'd say about 2 1/2 - 3 feet on each side of sink. Bathroom was average size. Not too small. Not huge. Good size. The suite also had a fireplace. Was not impressed with the fireplace. It came on depending on the temperature setting. It acted like a thermostat. Once the room reached the set temperature it cut off automatically. This took all of a few minutes so I couldn't enjoy looking at the fire. Guess that's just the nature of a fireplace in a hotel room. There was also a jacuzzi. Actually it was in separate room. The jacuzzi room was enormous! 2-1/2 jacuzzis could have fit in there. This was completely separate from the bathroom. Continental breakfast had muffins, bagels, good waffles, variety of cereal, bread with toaster, variety of oatmeal, juices, very cold milk (like mine cold), coffee. Did not have any fruit. Kitchen area was very clean. Hotel had one computer for guest use. Better bring your laptop because there was always someone on it. Wi-Fi worked in my room on the second floor even though I was told it only worked on the first floor. They have wire connections in upper two floors. You can wash clothes but there is only one washer and dryer for the entire hotel on the first floor. This hotel is in walking distance to restaurants but is far enough away you may want to drive and park your car closer. This is a very small town so it just depends on how much walking you want to do. Restaurants are several blocks away. A light by the bed was out when we arrived and after reporting it to the desk it was fixed the next day. Staff was friendly. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. We have stayed at three or four other hotels in West Yellowstone also. We typically stay about 12 nights.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca., U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed here 3 nights while touring Yellowstone Park, and were very happy with the hotel. The place is modern & clean; the staff was friendly and helpful; the continental breakfast was more than adequate (you could make good waffles!); there is an indoor pool (didn't get a chance to use it); and it is just a few minutes from the west entrance to Yellowstone Park; and the price was comparable to the local competition. What's not to like? Tip...if you are an AARP member, ask for a discount and you will get it, but you need to ask!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellowstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Park Hotel

Address: 201 Grizzly Avenue, PO Box 930, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#13 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique-style hotel proudly features amenities such as an indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna, limited continental breakfast and free WiFi. Our 66 well-appointed guest rooms and suites feature upgraded linens, bathrobes, mini-refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and 36-inch flat-screen TVs. Open in the warm season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Yellowstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellowstone Park
Yellowstone Park West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.