We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely updated hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowstone Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Yellowstone Park Hotel to your Saves list
Yellowstone Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Grizzly Avenue, PO Box 930, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely updated hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel has been recently remodeled and it was a very nice place to stay. Breakfast was good and you can't beat the location so close to Yellowstone Park. My only criticism is that the shower head was situated too low for tall members of my family and it's too bad those weren't adjusted during the remodel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    126
    44
    21
    8
See reviews for
93
126
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are very nice, room smells amazing, everything is neat and tidy. My daughter had lost her stuffed animal here and they took the effort to find it. Even though it never turned out they offered that if they found it they would ship it to our address.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here during our visit to Yellowstone. It's really rather good. Clean rooms with fold down sofa bed so very family friendly. Breakfast ok & avoided free evening meal to eat out both nights. It's so close to the park entrance that it's an ideal location to stay. Could not fault it & let's face it you are here for the bears not the rooms. The bear & wolf attraction near the hotel is a must if you want to see a Grizzly bear up close. Having seen one, I never want to see another up close. They are huge!

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room near the ice machine it's very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June 2012
The location is great, a very short drive from the Yellowstone Park entrance.
It is just down the road from the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Centre.
There is a gas station just down the road, and a McDonalds very close.

There is plenty of free parking available at the hotel.

The Hotel itself is a nice modern building, and our room was very nice, very clean with good quality fixtures and fittings.

Reception staff were friendly.

The complimentary breakfast was excellent. The only problem was that the breakfast room was FAR too small, and if you arrived at the wrong time you could not get a seat. The hotel reception area seating also filled up with people eating their breakfast, and still there were people who could not get a seat anywhere! I think the hotel need to sacrifice one of their rooms and knock don a wall or two to make the breakfast room and adequate size for the number of guests!

Having said that, I would definitely stay here again! We had a look around West Yellowstone and some of the other hotels looked a bit shabby, whereas the Yellowstone Park is very smart and clean!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Found the hotel great, everywhere very clean and tidy. Bedroom was large and spacious. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast room was a tad small for the bedroom count of this hotel, however we always managed to find an empty clean table and the continental breakfast was fine. Enabled a great start to exploring Yellowstone National Park, whose west entrance is approx 1/2 mile away.

For eating out we used the three bears restaurant, which can be reached by walking around the side of the hotel into the next block. First class meals with reasonable costs, can highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

AAA had this hotel rated as a 3 star and it was clean, basically quiet, convenient, had good beds, and all the plumbing worked fine. Our problem was that every day we came back from the Park our keys wouldn't work and the silly desk clerk would always say that we must have put them in the same pocket as our cell phones...not! In addition, our AC was shut down both days when we returned from the Park. The maintenance man had to reset it both times and he informed me that the Hotel was poorly wired and he has AC units all over the building shut down constantly. Heard enough? Well get this, at 1:15 A.M. one morning our smoke alarm began to chirp (Low battery alarm). I took it down and was shocked that it was equiped with a 9 volt battery for back-up. Something that is totally illegal for motels in most States. When I reported the problem the next morning to the silly desk clerk, she promised to have it fixed prior to our return from the Park....not! It was still chirping when we returned! I took the entire smoke alarm to the front desk and laid it down (Yes, it was chirpping away in front of everyone). My silly friend took it away and again promised that it would be fixed. I did get the satisfaction of voicing my concerns in front of additional guests. My friend the maintenacne man came again and put the smoke alarm back up with a fresh new 9V battery. He confessed that having 9V batteries in every room was a major headache. On top of all this I might add that we had two burned out light bulbs, one was replaced by the maid, the other one never was. This hotel has major electrical systems problems that need to be addressed! I think it is a sad commentary anytime a guest is relieved to check out, we sure were! By the way, the Wi-Fi signal is very weak.

Room Tip: DO NOT CHOOSE ROOM 314!!!!!!!!!!! After all the horrors we went through the hotel staff never even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma S, Manager at Yellowstone Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for being our guest. There is no excuse for the maintenance issue that you experienced or the subpar level of service from our staff. We take great pride in the maintenance of the hotel and our staff's quality service but we let you down on many levels and I sincerely apologize. I am using your comments as a training tool to improve our maintenance plan and service training. Thank you for taking the time to comment and we hope the rest of your Yellowstone vacation was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem,NC
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A very nice place...no real issues, except that the breakfast was limited and a bit crowded when a busload of "tourists" arrived ;-D

Nice room..super-comfy robes...decent TV-selection...excellent location, within a 5-minute walk of everything ..walls a bit thin but we slept very well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellowstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Park Hotel

Address: 201 Grizzly Avenue, PO Box 930, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#8 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique-style hotel proudly features amenities such as an indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna, limited continental breakfast and free WiFi. Our 66 well-appointed guest rooms and suites feature upgraded linens, bathrobes, mini-refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and 36-inch flat-screen TVs. Open in the warm season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Yellowstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellowstone Park
Yellowstone Park West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowstone Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.