We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all depends on what you're looking for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Arm Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madison Arm Resort
5475 Madison Arm Road, P.O. Box 1410, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cody, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“It all depends on what you're looking for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Well, as I said in my title, whether you stay here or not depends on what your agenda is. I stayed here 4 nights in a cabin with 2 family members and it was not our cup of tea. We spent most of our day in Yellowstone. Here are a few things you should know:
1.Our cabin did not have AC
2.The water was brown and stunk (iron)
3. The cabin was TINY! and walking up the ladder to the loft was not fun, especially if you have to use the bathroom in the middle of the night
4. You have to drive about 5 miles down a windy, dirt road from the main road. Our car was filthy
5. Our shower has the WORST shower curtain EVER! It wound all the way around the tub and literally touched every inch of your body as you showered. There's no getting around that unless you take a bath.
We paid $200 a night, which was pricey, considering we had no intention of using the lake.
The staff was VERY friendly
If you plan to use
the lake, this is the perfect place for you, but if you're not an "outdoorsy" person, you probably want to get a hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
47
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

First to get to the campground you drive down a washboard dirt road for six miles through burnt out forest, which was not a great first impression. We made a last minute reservation with the campground. $42 for 4 people in a tent, (no electric or water) a night. Plus a launch and moorage fee for our boat which we only used one time, due to the thunderstorms every day we were there. We enjoyed the lake very much, but we will look at other places if we ever return to the area. The site we had was right on the water. We were so close to other campers, it was uncomfortable, we felt obligated to socialize with everyone, which is not ' a camping out' experience if you are looking to get away. The staff was friendly, and constantly cleaning all the dirt and bugs out of the bathrooms. The bathrooms need remodeled, the stalls are made for small people for sure. We felt bad for a few people near us they were setting up their tent right behind people sitting around their fire ring which was right outside their camper door, they were separated by a log. :-/. The family they were with was right behind our site; there was barely any room to park, and live out of your vehicle. Which is another thing, the owners will go through the camp around 11-11:30 pm and look and go thru anything you have out, because of the bears, so plan on leaving Everything ( coolers, water containers, dishes, toiletries, stoves) in your car, at all times, it was definitely not a relaxing camping experience. There is a designated dish wash area, again right in front of a camp site, where they sit out and are forced to say hi. Overall it was a nice place, but expensive for the drive, and very dirty crowded camp.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A very interesting "campground." As a local to the area, I was very disappointed with a very inauthentic experience. If you're looking for a parking lot to put your RV within 6 feet of another RV then I'm sure it's great. Tent sites were less than 10 feet between fire rings, and your only privacy between tents (equally close) is a scattering of mature pines that offer as much sound blocking as a telephone pole. We felt like we had to speak in hushed tones the entire day for risk of eavesdropping from surrounding campers (and our immediately adjacent campsites were even empty!). Bathrooms were two stalls for the entire campground, which is probably less than 10 acres with what must have been around 60 'campsites'. I honestly think campgrounds in the park would be less crowded. The staff were nice enough I guess-they wouldn't let us set up our tent until they had 'cleaned our campsite' (swept up the pine needles???)
The one plus was the beautiful location: on a very quiet, secluded arm of Hebgen. The water is a nice luke-warm cold from the nearby Firehole River flowing in (I think), and the little bay there is nice for swimming with kids. They have a little beach-ish area with buoys set up for that. Bring a hack-saw and you can grab some slash out of the burn scar on the way in to the resort for firewood. But in any event, you're better off paying less for 3X more bathrooms and 10X more space at nearby forest service campgrounds (sorry, no shower. but come on- you're camping!) Recreation.gov is a great site to reserve those.
All in all, I can't believe we paid so much to sleep on the ground in this weird parking lot campground...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. I had messed up on our reservation and only reserved 3. The campground is so good, we moved our 5th wheel over one space to stay the 4th night, because the one we were in was reserved that 4th night. The management was accommodating, friendly, and took very good care of us., We rented a boat to take the grandkids out on the lake and they heard wolves off in the forest - an experience they will never forget. We have reservations to go back next year.

Room Tip: our campsite had a view of the lake and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Luckly we only stayed the day! We had to pay $10 for a canoe and $10 for a rowboat!! Members of our party got yelled out for being in a closed dock! No signage what so ever!! And it was closed due to dangerous exposed electrical wiring!! The restrooms where ok except if you have a member using wheelchair or a walker...you simple wouldn't fit! Over all a complete waste of money!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaxspc, General Manager at Madison Arm Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I am very sorry you had an unfavorable experience. The season was just beginning and we were working tirelessly to finish our projects. I spoke with our employee and reminded him of our commitment to customer service and can assure you it will not happen again. Please feel free to contact me with any concerns and we hope you give us another try in the future.
All the best,
Jim
MAR Manager (406.646.9328)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We only camped one night, but really appreciated the kindness of the owner/operator. We misjudged how cold it would be at night ( it was summer!) and didnt bring warm enough sleeping bags. They gave us extra blankets to use without any charge or hassle. On top of this we left one of our cell phones and they mailed it back to us at their own cost. We had our phone back in two days!

The location is very convenient to the west entrance of Yellowstone and the facilities are nice.

Highly recommended!

日本語可

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a campground that is well worth the effort. If the road is too bumpy, you have to drive faster! 35mph in our RV was like driving on the freeway. Upon arrival our family of 7 was welcome with a warm heart and a high quality of service and commitment. Upon meeting the proprietor you understand why the campground is so clean and well kept. Its very clearly maintained to a high quality with preservation and comfort harmoniously executed. When you drive through, other campers are very welcoming and wave. You actually TALK to your neighbor here. This place is a well kept secret! My family didn't even want to go back to Yellowstone. Instead they wanted to ride their bicycles around, swim in the lake, and have a campfire going. Its just that kind of place where you CAN unwind. There was not one Airplane to hear, no freeway or road near by that you an hear all night, no loud people, no dirt bikes, no loud boats on the lake, no annoyances. The showers are clean, the bathrooms are clean. Its just a great place. If the road traveled is too much for you, then that's good because for the people that make it here, love it here. Follow the rules for your sake as well and more importantly for natures sake. You ARE in bear country and at night, you might just here them grunting around. You are also in Wolf country. You will hear them howl at night. Your in the wilderness, not the Montage. Happy travels~

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madison Arm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Arm Resort

Address: 5475 Madison Arm Road, P.O. Box 1410, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Specialty lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the lake, in the pines, we offer great RV camping, Tent camping, fishing. we have fishing boat rentals as well as paddle boats, kayaks, and canoes. A complete marina with a fuel dock and charging outlets for trolling batteries.We also offer fine cabin and cottage accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madison Arm Hotel West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Arm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Madison Arm Resort to your Saves list