We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rules, rules, and more rules. Having fun is NOT allowed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Arm Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madison Arm Resort
Save
You added Madison Arm Resort to your Saves list
5475 Madison Arm Road, P.O. Box 1410, West Yellowstone, MT 59758   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Rules, rules, and more rules. Having fun is NOT allowed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

First let me start out with the postive of this resort. The only one is its location. Tent camp sites are right on the lake.

However, upon check in we were given a list of over 15 rules. Yes, this is bear country and some rules are needed. However, they have a rule for everything! You are not allwoeed to pull your kayak on the shore, walk your dog along the lake (even on a leash with a doggy bag in hand), even skipping rocks into the water is against the rules! I kid you not. My child's grandpa was teaching my son the art of skipping rocks and we were told we would be kicked out if we didn't stop. Mind you no one was going to get hurt. We were 200 yards from the swimming area. Which is another rule. Only can swim in the designated beach area. My son broke a rule by wading in the lake in front of our tent site. Did they forget that families come here to have fun. Yes, because the owner came over to tell us to keep it down (at 2:00 in the afternoon). We were having to much fun. She wasn't kidding! What were we doing you might ask?, Yup, you guest it. Making crafts at the picnic tables with our children!

The other negative is the shower/bathrooms. The ladies have only two shower stalls that were not very clean. The two toilets have a sign to "Please hold down to flush for 20 seconds." Not once was the toilet flushed upon entering. You can imagine the smell.Since there were only two showers we had to shower at odd times of the day in order to shower at all. You think they would have a rule about cleaning the bathrooms!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a small resort about a 20 minute drive from West Yellowstone. We stayed in Cabin 2 and chose the resort due to the location on the edge of the lake with the opportunity to walk, canoe, fish and cycle at the resort itself. We were not disappointed and the site has fantastic views of the lake and surrounding mountains. There are enjoyable walks around the resort and we also canoed which was great fun.
Our cabin was well equipped and we had a gas barbeque, picnic bench and a fire pit outside which was great. It is a traditional log cabin and if you want everything brand new, stay in a hotel in town. We loved the location as it provided a far more natural and relaxing environment for our vacation. We spent most of our time in Yellowstone Park and whilst being out of town added a 20 minute journey to the park entrance we felt it was well worth it. We saw our first Bald Eagle on our way back home one evening along the road to the resort!
The staff were really helpful and overall we had a wonderful holiday and would thoroughly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is our 3rd year coming to the resort and it, again, has been an awesome experience. The staff has gone out of their way to find us another RV space since our month reservation is up and we wanted to stay longer. The park is very well kept, including the docks, bathrooms, laundry room, store and camp sites. Everyone here is exceptionally friendly. This resort has the ambiance of a quaint old fishing camp while providing wonderfully modern RV/tent facilities. The fishing has been fantastic and everyone shares their secrets so that even a novice can catch fish. A big thanks to the owners and their staff for making our summer vacation the best we have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Pros- We stayed in Cabin #2 at Madison Arm Resort. It was a quaint little cabin, with a refrigerator and a cute loft for the kids to stay. The cabin faced beautiful Hebegen Lake that was very beautiful. Good place for RV's and people who like to fish and relax next to some beautiful scenery. If you like isolation and away from the crowds this would be for you. The owners were nice and we had no complaint there. Also, I could get phone service for my iphone and could text photos back to relatives back home. This was nice because many areas did not have service.
Cons- Our bathroom in Cabin #2 had a floor that looked like it needed to be replaced badly. Primarily because the shower curtain wasn't wide enough and when we took a shower the water went everywhere! This should be an easy fix - get a wider shower curtain. We had to put towels down to absorb all the water. The lighting in the bathroom was pretty bad and also just a small shelf to put my make up on. I had to put my make up on in the bedroom. Also I could fine a plug for my hairdryer in the bathroom either. The road to get to the resort is 5 miles long on a very gravel type road. After driving all day in Yellowstone my husband hated this long drive.
Bottom Line: If you have an RV and don't mind a gravel rd. this place looks like it might be right for you. If you like your bathrooms lighted and not soaked stay in a hotel in town. (This is what we wish we would have done). Also the drive is a bummer after driing in Yellowstone all day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We are just finishing up on 5 wonderful weeks here at Madison Arm Resort. We love the place, we have been coming here every summer since 2000. We will be back in August and then again in September, we love it so much. From the owners to the help, they make it a wonderful destination and experience. They keep it so clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for our trip to yellowstone. The campground is small, quiet and clean. The staff were helpful and pleasant with the few interactions we had with them. There are many trees throughout the campground and the lake is very close. Our kids enjoyed spending time at the lake, my son fished and my daughter swam in the swimming area. It cost $25.00 for my 15 year old to fish for 2 days and he didn't catch anything but he still had fun trying. There are very limited areas for fishing, only two spots. The camp spots are very close and if you have a larger camper it is a bit tricky trying to get into and out of your spot. The bathrooms are clean, but small with only two showers, two toilets and one sink. They have firewood available, 2 pieces for $1.00. We liked the campground but it was just too far out of the way. You do a lot of driving in yellowstone and when you add the extra driving of 25 minutes each way to and from camp it just makes more sense to stay somewhere in the park. Unless you are going to be just staying in the campground and going out on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We rented a cabin here to visit Yellowstone National Park in June 2011. The location is about as convenient as you can possibly be without staying in the park itself. To get there you drive down a relatively long dirt road which overall is in very good shape (go over 20mph to avoid shaking to death!). Once there, the owner is very friendly and helpful. She stayed in the office late because she knew that we were going to be coming in late. The cabin is rustic, but quaint. There is a very small kitchen with a gas stove, fridge, coffee maker (they supply coffee), and pots/pans. It's about all you need for two people, but cooking for larger groups may be a bit tight in the 1 bedroom cabin. The bathroom had new fixtures, but was pretty basic overall. The lake is beautiful and very peaceful. I would highly recommend staying here if you are okay with a rustic feel (it's Yellowstone afterall).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Arm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Arm Resort

Address: 5475 Madison Arm Road, P.O. Box 1410, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Specialty Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the lake, in the pines, we offer great RV camping, Tent camping, fishing. we have fishing boat rentals as well as paddle boats, kayaks, and canoes. A complete marina with a fuel dock and charging outlets for trolling batteries.We also offer fine cabin and cottage accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madison Arm Hotel West Yellowstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Arm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.